We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable”
Review of Crosti Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crosti Hotel
Ranked #176 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2009

Notes: Internet hookups in room for small fee (they supply the cable if you need it). The challenge when staying by the station is that you're by the station: it's hard to find good food, and when you've been out all day sightseeing and you return home tired but need some dinner, you might not want to trek back into town to find a cute little trattoria. But, you also don't want the equivalent of diner/tourist food when you're in one of the food meccas of the world. So, don't eat at the restaurant across the street -- "Salvatore's" -- it's nasty and the service was dismal. Instead, go diagonally across the street on the next block to Monte Arci -- their pasta was good, the service was cheerful, and there were little touches that make a difference -- they served the bill on top of a few rose petals, with some biscotti, for instance. Or, try La Familgia -- about 3-4 blocks away, perpendicular to Castelfidardo and towards town.

As for the hotel, I agree with the other reviews: very clean, well-positioned in terms of convenience to touring around, and the staff is pleasant -- especially the breakfast staff. I would probably stay in a different neighborhood with more personality next time when I don't need to be running from the Coliseum to the Forum to Piazza di Spagna, but this hotel gives you access to all the major action. By the way, the H bus from Termini goes up Via Nazionale to Trastevere.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBugSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (897)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

495 - 499 of 897 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2009

Stayed for nine days at the Crosti Hotel and had a lovely time. I totally recommend this hotel, it was small and cosy. Bedrooms a good size with plenty wardrope space and bathrooms a very good size with bath and double shower head. Free shampoo etc. This hotel looked even better than the photos on the web site.
Every where is spotlessly clean, breakfast was plain but very nice,meat,cheere,rolls,cake,fruit,yougurt etc
It is only 5 to 8 mins from Termini station, we went on the open top bus first, then got a Roma pass from the hotel 23 euros for 3 days. This takes you to several sites for free and free transport on the buses and metro and the train to Osteria Antica which is an anciet site.
The staff were lovely and very helpfull, i will definetly be going back next year, thought i might try there apartments next time cos you can still get breakfast at hotel.he only down sof Rome is the euro so apartments might be good to maybe make lunch and just eat out at night.Do use the metro as its very easy ,just watch your purse for pick pockets,we had no trouble but we were careful.
Sorry if i have went on a bit but when i was booking i was worried about what hotel to pick. So i hope this helps,also we did loads of site s but some of our best times was doing nothing . Just get a picnic a bottle of wine and go to the park and people watch and chill.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edinburghmisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

We read all the reviews and took a chance. And we were pleasantly
surprised. It's small, but for the price, it was great! Breakfast is included and it was the best we had of the 4 others we were in on our trip.
Pietro and Stephanya were great. Very close to the termini. I'd say
approximately a mile walk. Neighborhood good because it wasn't too
close to the termini.
Not too far from many of the main places we wanted to see. If you're
a walker, you could even walk to many of them.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarlaCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

Having read mixed opinions on the Termini area, we stayed with trepidation at the Hotel Crosti.
The hotel is wonderful, spotless rooms, sound security and staff that are helpful.
The older gentleman at the front desk on Spetember 19 and 20th , welcomed us like long lost family. Being our first trip to Europe we were instantly at ease.
The young woman who ran the breakfast was friendly and made the best coffee I have ever tasted.
The breakfast was well prepared and more than adequate, and to the coffee was just fantastic !
The Termini area is safe, I did not see any unsavory people nor did I ever feel uncomfortable. You can walk anywhere in Rome from this location.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llongrider1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

The hotel lived up to its reviews on this website. The bus from the airport drops you outside the Termini Station and from there you can walk to the hotel with pullalong suitcases without a problem. The staff are friendly and make every effort to speak English. The rooms are small yet homely and the en-suite facilities first-class. The breakfast is good by continental standards and sets you up well for the day ahead. There are also restaurants in the vicinity where you can get a decent evening meal for a reasonable price. All the main attractions of the city are walkable if you are reasonably fit, though the Vatican may be a tad too far for those not used to footpower. Buses are available form outside the station if you prefer that form of transport and there's also the choice of the open-top buses. For these you can get 24 or 48 hour passes and hop on and off when you please. We managed to 'do' Rome in three days, plenty long enough if you plan your itinerary. The inside of Saint Peter's Basilcia is a must as is the Colosseum. Also have a Macdonalds at the Piazza della Repubblica - the best sited one I've ever come across. The best ice creams were across the road on the way from St Peter's to the Vatican Museum. Unlike Paris, London and many other capitals, the river is a real disappointment, not worth viewing at all.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandJCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#211 of 1,273 in Rome
1,083 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Camelia
Hotel Camelia
#142 of 1,273 in Rome
887 reviews
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel Artdeco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
XX Settembre
XX Settembre
#199 of 1,273 in Rome
738 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel California
Hotel California
#261 of 1,273 in Rome
925 reviews
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crosti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosti Hotel

Address: Via Castelfidardo, 54, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: €43 - €128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crosti Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star hotel in central Rome, a few minutes' walk from Termini Station in the heart of the capital. The CROSTI HOTEL is in an ideal position to visit Rome ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crosti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing