We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great for a bit of luxury on inter rail!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Capannelle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Capannelle
Ranked #523 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great for a bit of luxury on inter rail!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

I stayed here for just one night in September 2011 as part of inter rail. We got the room for barely €100 for a night combined - not bad for a 4-star hotel in Rome at the end of peak season!

As I arrived before my friend, I had some time to take in the surrounding area. From the centre of Rome or from Termini, this hotel requires a metro then a bus, or a short train ride but it is situated a few hundred metres from the FS station if you decide to take the train direct from Termini. The metro/bus is probably the better option especially if you have luggage. The area is quite quiet as it is about 13km from downtown Rome. Predominantly local families who, while maybe not overly friendly, are keen to help out should you become lost (as I did, rather embarrassingly at the back of what turned out to be the hotel itself!)

The room was lavishly equipped and the bathroom equally so. Air-con worked fantastically and provided a good night's sleep - ideal as we had both been travelling the whole day! Although I feared the beds were joined together they were in fact singles which could be pushed apart. A good night's sleep therefore ensued.

Breakfast was included in the fare and was decent enough. Maybe not as good as other hotels of a similar calibre but let's not forget the price tag. The only real gripe I have with this hotel is its shuttle bus. Merely a Mercedes Sprinter with panoramic windows, it did not show at its appointed time in the morning to take us to the Metro station. Clearly running on Italian Summer time i.e do a no-show! For us this wasn't a massive issue as we had prepaid public transport tickets for the duration of our stay in Rome, but many others were left very frustrated at having to travel on (and no doubt pay for) a public bus. The main road was about 300 metres from the hotel, thankfully slightly downhill. The bus service into Rome and towards the Metro station is fast and frequent.

For the money I would definitely stay at the Capanelle again. The price resembled that of 4-star hotels a few years ago, whilst maintaining that good old fashioned charm of a well-kept privately owned hotel. I can also see it being an ideal hotel for those who come to Rome by car but who don't want to drive within Rome. If I couldn't match the price again I would search alternative hotels but at the time of booking the Capanelle, I had seen 2-and 3-star hotels nowhere near as cheap.

Bravo Hotel Capanelle, you have one very satisfied customer here! Forza Roma (e Capanelle!)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robbo1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    739
    357
    122
    129
See reviews for
325
632
52
307
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

WE were thirty three people in that hotel, VP tour was paying you for thirty three people one in your receptionist made me paying for one more person, please you need to send that credit to my account as soon is possible. and also i already file a complain before my bank .

Please let me know as soon is possible, my email oaime1@yahoo.com
and your hotel is very nice


Octavius Aime

Room Tip: Very nice hotel I will go in pigrimage again i will choose your hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Octavius A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Right this might turn into a monster review but bear with me if you are planning on staying at this hotel.
The distance from the Fiumicino airport and the hotel is quite far about 30-40 mins and will cost 55 euros in a taxi. Make sure you agree a price cause they will rip you off. And beware that they drive like nutters. Just close ya eyes.

The hotel itself is very nice. The rooms are big with all you need but the room I had the shower was a nightmare and the toilet was a bit dodgy. But all in all a nice hotel.
One thing that did annoy me is that if you get a room with a balcony you can’t open it. You have to phone reception and ask them to open it and then ring them again to ask them to close it as they won’t give you a handle. On average it took about 4 rings to get them to open and close it. Not very good at all.
Staff were friendly enough but not that helpful when it came to information about getting into town.
So the easiest way was to get the bus to the metro line.
The bus stop is out the hotel and turn left then next right and you can see the main road. Then it’s the first bus stop you see its yellow. Bus will come from the left. Get on the bus and stamp your ticket. Then you have 75 mins to get to where you want to go. Plenty of time really.
The 664 and the 663 are the buses to get. The 664 is the easiest as the 663 goes all round the houses and you have no idea when to get off the bus to get to the hotel. So I would recommend the 664 to the Arco di travertine metro stop. You can also get off at the Colli Albani which is the next stop along on the bus. The metro is really easy to use as there is only 2 lines to go on. For tickets the hotel sometimes has tickets so buy then when you can but the ticket machines at the stations are easy enough to use. These cost 1 euro for a 75 mins trip on either bus or metro so get it all in in one hit and its quite a bargin really.

There is a shuttle bus that goes from the hotel to Cinecitta but the times are not very good and I would just hop on the 664 bus and go in that way. The only problem you might have that I did was knowing which stop to get off at on the way home. The area is quite open and so when the bus goes from being surrounded by shops and houses and is built up to looking open and green. Then get off you can also see the ruins which gives you an indication where to get off the bus. The stop is just after a hotel which has a big green sign.
The food in the hotel I found not very good at all. I did eat there a few times and wasn’t really impressed.
The breakfast was very good though with a lot of choice but can get really busy at the weekends when you have to queue to get in the door. Also if your on your own like I was be careful they will clear your table away when you are up getting a glass of orange juice.
There is a happy hour between 5-7 when the drinks are half price. So a beer is 2 euros which is much better.
There are local ruins that you can go and see but its 6 euros to get in them but they are just across the road called Villa Quintilli.

There is a local supermarket just up the road. Take a left out the hotel and walk to the end of the road which is about 2 mins away. The staff are friendly and the shop itself is well stocked.
The water is much cheaper than the hotel. Hotel will charge about 90 cents for water which isn’t too bad but the shop is about 15 cents for a bottle. If you are buying wine then the staff are more than happy for you to open it there so you don’t have to worry about it back at the hotel. But I did find the hotel were happy enough to open it for you aswell. A good bottle of wine was about 2 euros. Bargin. Also I did find Limoncello for 3.60 euros. Which was too hard to resist.

The trip into Rome itself from the hotel is a bit of a trek but its easy enough and as the hotel was cheaper what do you expect. It will take about 40 min if things turn up at the right times.
I was there on business so we had a course in the hotel all week and then we did manage to get out in the evenings to have a look round. I would say the conference part was ok but they moved us after 2 days of being in a certain room and things kept going missing like pens and drawing boards and the projector was changed. Which did drive out course speaker a little mad. The rooms were not well air conditioned either. And when we had coffee breaks and lunch at the hotel they were never ready for us. Which when you are only given 30 mins for lunch and things arent ready makes lunch really rushed.

If you need help with transport I found this site really helpful
http://www.atac.roma.it/

just plug in 664 and it will give you the route and times.

BIT – biglietto integrato a tempo – bus and any metro line 1 euro
BIG – biglietto integrato giornaliero – daily ticket 4euro
BTI – biglietto turistico integrato – 3 day travel ticket

As long as you leave an hour each way to get in and out of the city its fine for public transport. But you can get the bus in and then if you want to stay out late get a taxi home. Should be about 15-20 Euros for the trip.
I hope that this has been helpful for you.
Enjoy Rome is a lovely place. So much to see and do there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank scubapaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Good service, friendly staff
Hotel needs a bit of upgrading
A mirror in the room is missing
Breakfast can be better

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Omar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Pros: Hotel is excellent. Nice room, excellent service, great breakfast, reasonable prices. The hotel in itself is 5/5 rating.

Cons: Unfortunately the location makes it very difficult to get around. While the area seemed to be safe, it is 1.5 miles to the nearest metro stop. There are two options to get there (outside of walking of course): The hotel offers a shuttle bus that runs like 6 times a day - in the morning and late afternoon. Or, the city bus runs all day. However, the city bus is extremely confusing and has long routes. The result is that we couldn't go out to the main city for dinner or evening activities and had to plan our day around the shuttle times. If the hotel would increase its shuttle runs, this might not be a problem, but as is the location is a limiting factor.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel La Genziana
#439 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piccolo Borgo
#291 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Hotel Jonico
#601 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Hotel Artis
#350 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capannelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capannelle

Property: Hotel Capannelle
Address: Via Siderno 37, 00178 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#255 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Capannelle 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
250 guest rooms. Located just 9 km from downtown, 30 km from FIUMICINO airport and 4 km from CIAMPINO Airport, Shuttle bus service available. Complimentary off site car and pullman parking, on site parking for 280 cars available with a fee, 9 conference rooms with 2000 sqm of total meeting space, outdoor swimming pool and 500 sqm roof with a breathtaking city and Castelli Romani’s view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Capannelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Roma Capannelle Rome
Domina Roma Capannelle Hotel Conference

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing