We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Obelus B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Obelus B&B
Ranked #930 of 3,763 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We stayed here in early February in a room for triple. It was very clean, quiet and comfortable. Every morning we started our day with a great breakfast of baked goods, meat cuts and fresh fruit juice along with coffee or tea choices.

This was a great central location near a metro station which made getting around much easier. We stayed for four nights and would recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaMR1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2016

I booked this B&B online on the basis of a misleadingly large 'discount' that was offered on the price by Booking.com. (Was led to believe it was a high class room for a bargain price ). Whilst the central location is excellent,I was put in the annexe, and simply did not feel very safe in there, with the other travellers having access to my room door. Nothing untoward happened, I hasten to add, but the sense that I was in a space with other strangers at close quarters, was unnerving. The room decor was strange, old-fashioned and uninspiring. It just wasn't a happy stay for me, unfortunately.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank deborachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016

We have stayed here for 4 nights. Our double room was in the opposite building with an external but own bathroom. Our room was very comfy and lovely. The furniture was old-fashioned, but we enjoyed it, because it was charming. The room and bathroom was very clean. Only negative thing is that they did not fill in the toilet paper, when it has finished. The breakfast was always ready on the table. It was quite simple. I am vegetarian and I got just cheese and butter every day. Only the first day I got salad and boiled egg. Otherwise we got croissant, small cakes, yogurt, pudding and fruits on the table. We did not get fruits every day, which I missed and the juice was also the same every day. The younger blond receptionist was very helpful and kind, we have spoken a lot. The other one was a bit rude and she was late, when we have picked up our luggage last day. The location is good, only 10 mins walk from the Colosseum and 5 mins walk from the tube station.

Room Tip: double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierdavide D, Manager at Obelus B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2016

Thank you for your feedback and pointing out things we should improve it. We will take you comments for further encouragement within the team
All the best and see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

We had booked a room for four people, which had one large double bed and 2 regular beds, and the room in general was quite spacious, though it didn't offer shampoos etc in the bathroom. The breakfast was good, in both quantity and quality. The apartment is in a very good place, near the Manzoni metro station, and by walking distance to the colloseum. The one thing we didn't like was, even though we had informed about our time of arrival, no one was there to open the door for us, so we had to wait for about half an hour outside until someone came.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Xris_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016

The apartment is very big with 2 bedrooms and a kitchen. It was very clean. It was close to metro station and the coliseum is in walking distance. There is a free wi fi which was working very good. Monika, who made the checked-in, helped us to find the perfect place to park our car right next to the apartment. She was very friendly and nice and explained us everything about the apartment and how to visit Rome. I can only recommend to renovate the shower because it is not a movable shower and it is not very high, so it is a little bit hard for a man who is 2 meters high to take a shower.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank hibisscus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Soggiorno Comfort
Soggiorno Comfort
#1,227 of 3,763 in Rome
89 reviews
Monti
Trevi Palace Hotel
Trevi Palace Hotel
#204 of 3,763 in Rome
194 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,273 in Rome
7,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#453 of 1,273 in Rome
300 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#105 of 1,273 in Rome
1,243 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#211 of 1,273 in Rome
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Obelus B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Obelus B&B

Address: Via Tasso 150, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #930 of 3,763 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: €47 - €123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Obelus B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It truly will feel as though you are staying at your best friend’s home when you are a guest at Obelus B&B located near His Majesty, The Colosseum. The three charming guest rooms have high ceiling and are clean and spacious and neatly furnished. All rooms have private bath rooms with shower, air conditioning, TV and safe box.You will wake up to the aroma of freshly baked croissants which are served every morning in the breakfast area located in the center of the apartment. The continental breakfast includes eggs, cheese, nutella, bread, toast, yogurt, american coffee, cappuccino, juice. So Monika and Pierdavide (the managers) make sure that Guests are given the proper startup for another dream-day in one of the most beautiful cities of the world.This B&B's located within walking distance of the Colosseum and it is the heart of the city. Consider that the Vatican is the farthest of all tourist attractions and it is only 3 kilometers away from Obelus, yet it can be reached with the underground train (the stop is around the block) and it is only 7 stops away (less than 8 minutes!!!) .People visit Rome for a multitude of reasons: the art, culture, food and wines. Relax and feel the magic in the air while walking the wonderful streets of The Eternal City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Obelus B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing