We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (359)
Filter reviews
359 results
Traveller rating
215
108
24
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
215
108
24
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews metro station quadruple room stayed nights within walking distance just round the corner the location is perfect staff was very friendly and helpful quiet neighborhood laterano colloseum printer forum
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 359 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2011

My best friend and I stayed at Obelus for 3 nights and LOVED IT! It was quaint, clean and the staff was incredible. The location was perfect for us. Sal and Terese were so helpful in educating us on all the important things we needed to know for our short visit: transportation system, when (and where) to eat, must-see locations, etc. We will most definitely stay at Obelus for our next visit to Rome! Our trip wouldn’t have been the same without Obelus and their staff. Thank you Sal & Terese!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adge29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

The Obelus is not located in a tourist area but it has the great benefit of being just around the corner from the Manzoni metro stop. Although there were only two of us, we booked the triple room for three nights based on another Trip Advisor review and were very pleased that we did. We had just completed a two week cruise and needed the space to repack our stuff before setting off for 10 days in Austria. We enjoyed our stay here. The previous remarks about how clean everything is lived up to expectations. Unlike some places the air conditioner was quiet and worked perfectly. Sal and Lisa are top notch managers and who delivered everything they promised.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank CZSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We stayed at Obelus for four nights in June and it felt like staying in someone's home. The B&B is in an apartment in a block on a residential street. On the second floor with a lift, it's conveniently located about five minutes walk to the nearest Metro station and about 10 minutes walk to the Colosseum. Great eating places nearby (one round the corner) and on San Giovanni in Laterano leading to the Colosseum. The triple room we had was comfortable and the air con worked like a dream, for which we were grateful as Rome was very hot when we were there. Breakfast was lovely -- coffee/tea, croissants, toast, cereal, yogurt -- served by Teresa or Galia, who were so friendly and answered any questions we had. We were happy with our choice and we would surely stay here again. There was free Wifi, and we connected easily on our Ipod Touch.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank uvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We stayed at Obelus with two young children ages 5 and 6. Arriving at Termini we found the place pretty quickly using google map directions. The location is perfect for the families, quiet and yet fairly close to Centro Storico. We walked there by foot. We also walked to Trastevere for dinner. Obelus itself is close to Colosseum, about 15 min walking. We were very happy with our accommodations; we stayed in quadruple room that is rather spacious. All facilities in the hotel were very clean. The owners and the staff were extremely helpful. We received plenty of tips on where to go and the best way to get there, what time is the best to eat and how to pick a good restaurant. The kitchen sitting area outside of the rooms proved to be very useful to wind down and relax when the kids were in bed after long day of activities. There is a Wi-Fi and the laptop for the guest use. And the breakfast was plenty. We felt very easy and welcome at the Obelus B&B and would recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbalh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Obelus B and B is located in a typical Italian apartment block, not 'touristy' at all.
We travelled from the airport by train, and then used the Metro to get to within a few minutes walk of the apartment. Sal was very helpful explaining things, telling us where to walk, get the best gelati, etc.
The double room is small, so we were glad we hadn't brought bigger cases: kept most of our things in them. The room has a door opening onto a tiny 'balcony'; but not one you would want to sit on, as it overlooks the central service area for the apartments!
Breakfasts were typical continental, plenty to set you up for a busy day site seeing!
The location is excellent: Metro a couple of minutes away, although we walked most places. As Sal advised, wear comfortable shoes, with good soles!! Just to see ancient walls at the end of the street was great! San Giovanni in Laterano a short walk away and a 15 - 20 minute stroll to the colosseum, Forum, etc.
Would definitely recommend Obelus: clean, comfortable, convenient, good value.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viaggio2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews