We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I adore this place! Perfect for singles, couples, and groups.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Santa Maria alle Fornaci
Ranked #625 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Davenport, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I adore this place! Perfect for singles, couples, and groups.”
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Very inexpensive (around $80 a night for singes or $100 a night for doubles, etc.) and very safe feeling. I traveled there with a group from my university, but I would absolutely feel comfortable coming back here to stay by myself. The staff is so friendly here! The breakfast set-up was so great too (I'm still searching for a cup of coffee in the States that can compare to how good theirs was!) I loved how close I was to the Vatican and transportation. It's such a good home base and you can walk to Trastevere for dinner or there are some good little places to eat up the street too. Close to a couple little shops to buy necessities and things too. Really quiet on this street, which was especially good on New Years Eve. You feel far enough away from the craziness, but close enough to get to it all too. I really didn't care about the small bathrooms...considering it's Europe and my room had an actual shower with doors, I thought it was better than most. It was super neat and clean, so I was perfectly happy. I shall return!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank EMajeski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    81
    32
    8
    7
See reviews for
32
54
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Inexpensive hotel; satisfying breakfasts; smaller yet adequate rooms; great service; awesome location

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

If you want to be close the the Vatican, this is the place. It is very plain since it is run by the Trinitarians, so don't expect any luxuries but it is very comfortable and clean. The room had a good size.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second floor or above. Our room was located on the first floor which kept u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MEVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

I was the leader of a group of 25 Canadians in July 2011 and again I booked the Casa for our 8 day stay. Again, I was so impressed with the guesthouse and its staff. It is also so close to St Peter's and close to several restaurants and shops. The prices are ever so reasonable even with the exchange rate. The breakfast is included and it is not just a "continental" breakfast. There is fruit, several cereals, pastries, meats and cheese. The place remains spotlessly clean. The rooms are simple but comfortable. My group thought the Casa was excellent. Carmine and his staff are very friendly and understand English. They are incredibly helpful. As a tour leader I am impressed and will stay again with the Trinitiarian priests who operate the facility. So, group leaders contact the Casa and individuals or families...this place is best value.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The Trinitarian Guesthouse is located just a few minutes walk from St. Peter's Square, a short walk from Trastevere and conveniently located to all major transportation. The Guesthouse is always clean, as it provides daily maid service. The staff is truly amazing, with their helpful attitude and never ending smiles. Carlo, Carmeni, Michele and others are an absolute plus for which money would not be sufficient to match their value. If you're going to room with a group, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ProfessorAMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Emmaus
#527 of 1,257 in Rome
338 reviews
Prati
Domus Carmelitana
Domus Carmelitana
#451 of 1,257 in Rome
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Paolo II
#941 of 1,257 in Rome
12 reviews
Fragrance Hotel St.Peter
#122 of 1,257 in Rome
462 reviews
Hotel San Pietro
#860 of 1,257 in Rome
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Santa Maria alle Fornaci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Santa Maria alle Fornaci

Property: Casa Santa Maria alle Fornaci
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Alle Fornaci 27, 00165 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #625 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Santa Maria alle Fornaci 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building is at 300 meters from Vatican with rooms all equipped of ensuite hygienic services, conditioned air and internet wi-fi, and receive those who, singularly or in groups, want to stay "in the shadow of the big dome". Approximately 10.000 hosts coming from all over the world, every year, demonstrate to appreciate the total absence of architectural feature that provides access to handicapped, the breakfast-room, the tv-room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Santa Maria alle Fornaci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Santa Maria Alle Fornaci Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing