We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Nearby Hotels
US$482
US$456
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$313
US$270
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$211
US$205
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Ponte Sisto(Rome)
US$566
US$394
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$354
US$311
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$503
US$390
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$1,132
US$540
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$668
US$572
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$638
US$481
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$298
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveller rating
470
27
7
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
470
27
7
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden suitepublic roomspresidential palacedrawing roomfree barring a bellcomplimentary minibarcommon areastrevi fountainantique furnitureheart of romehotel experienceswalk in closetglass of proseccobeautiful hotelour honeymoonboutique hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
316 - 321 of 511 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2012

enjoyed my stay at this hotel ,it lived up to its high rating .service was good and very friendly .room service worked very good and the hotl was impecably clean.i would recommend and will return on my next visit

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bobdinesout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My family of four stayed at this opulent residence for a three night break. I booked over the phone because of the ages of my children and needed their advice on room choice. Francesca (front desk) was very helpful and offered us 2 Romantic Doubles interconnecting which suited us wonderfully. I was also able to correspond via email and a few more phone calls regarding tours and transfers for which Francesca was very happy to assist.

The journey from Fiumicino Airport to the Villa took about 45 minutes and we opted to go with our own arranged transfers which costed us 30euros less and was a brilliant service. The driver was already waiting at the airport and the drive was smooth in a luxury Mercedes Van. I highly recommend EasyAirportTaxis.com. Similarly, the pick up was efficient with the friendly and professional driver arriving 15 mins earlier.

Upon arrival, it was difficult to notice the Villa because it was surrounded by similar buildings. However, when we rang the bell and the doors open, you begin to be surprised at every turn. The high ceilings, ornate decor, beautiful furniture, grand fireplaces, old photographs and fine art were reminicent of someone's palatial residence as opposed to a hotel. We were shown to our rooms and were immediately drawn to the space and the ceiling height windows. The beds were very comfortable and we slept like a log. Minibar was complimentary with a healthy choice of drinks and snacks that was replenished everyday. The rooms were immaculate and the bathroom was marble heaven! Housekeeping should be commended!

We had the opportunity to sit in the drawing rooms for coffee, tea and biscuits (payable). It is the most relaxing way to end our day of walking and touring. There is a table in the drawing room piled with alcoholic drinks to consume to your heart's content (as it's free) but as we are non drinkers, it was a worthless effort. It is a true shame that with a Villa of this merit, could not offer coffee or tea as part of the endeavour. We also had a chance to sit in the tranquil gardens of the Villa. I must add at this point that there isn't a waiting staff in sight and the only way to call for service is through reception or a 'bell'. This could be looked upon as favourable if you prefer not to have 'waiting eyes' on you.

Breakfast (from 7 till 11) was taken in the dining room with a buffet of cold foods and eggs were made to order. Again, the 'bell' was the only way of getting service unless staff was already in the room. We did have to ask for tea/coffee cups, cutlery and little milk jugs as these weren't always complete on the table. Waiting staff was always smiling and happy to take your order. I must add here that the Villa does not offer dinner service and the room menu is limited with a 15 euro room charge. There is also a policy of no food from outside the hotel to be brought in.

Location of the hotel is second to none. It is a walkable 10 - 15 mins distance to most sites including the Vittoranio, Palazzo delle Esposizione and Colosseum. Even if you get tired, there are an abundance of bars, cafes and restaurants to rest. The location of the Villa is also perfect because its quiet and away from the hustle and bustle.

In summary, one must be clear that the Villa Spalletti Trivelli is not a conventional hotel establishment but offers a distinguished and different experience to the traveller. There isnt coffee/tea making facilities, there isnt a waiting staff in sight, there isnt a lunch/dinner restaurant but as Ive mentioned this is dissimilar and unique to other establishments and your stay will be a new encounter and mine certainly has been a treasured one.

P/S: Do research and plan your trip to Rome as much as possible. There is so much to see and do and it is worth making lists, understanding a little about Roman history, speak a little Italian and buying tickets beforehand (which you can do online). Queues can be unbearable and tours can limit you (even private tours).

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor will have the wafting smell of log fire fumes in the winter because of the fire in the drawing room.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Fussytraveller75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This hotel was a family home of a wealthy Roman family and it still has that atmosphere today. You are greeted personally at the door and you then walk into a different world. All the public rooms are beautifully appointed with antiques and paintings.There is no bar just a huge table with every drink you can think of, to help yourself. The bathroom and bedroom were immaculate and very beautiful. Amazingly this hotel is right in the middle of Rome, minutes away from the Trevi Fountain. It was simply lovely to come back to this calming enviroment after a hectic day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank myholidayhints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Only because Trip Advisor told me. From the moment you are greeted at the front door, you feel at home. It is beautiful in architecture and appointments i.e., bedrooms, bathrooms, closets, art, linens, etc, all the modern conveniences in a traditional home with12-15 foot georgeous walls, staircases, moldings and ceilings. Three large comfortable interior rooms for sitting and reading by the three fires or having the always complimentary drinks. There is no charge for any wine or liquor downstairs or from the minibar in your room. Delicious chocolates and nuts are always available.

It's February and we had a lovely luncheon out in the sunny garden. When a cloud came by, a buzzer at our chair brought assistance to turn on the outside heater.

So please, go somewhere else. Leave Villa Spalletti to us. Mille grazie.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Magpie1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Wow.Beautiful property , gorgeous furnishings , paintings, decor - lovely family villa but huge withjust 12 rooms .Superb lounges,public areas,romantic,warm ,open fires,complimentary drinks.Marvellous wellness area ,well equipped gym ,hamman, steam room etc .Bedrooms are luxurious,marble bathrooms .Unique place to sty and compared to the top end hotels ie Russie or Eden is sensibly priced .Great location as well.Small salt float pool .No large pool

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Worldtraveller1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews