We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,070)
Filter reviews
3,070 results
Traveller rating
2,390
591
60
22
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,390
591
60
22
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loria family via veneto family run hotel mamma teresa family suite villa borghese spanish steps walking routes home away from home every morning recommend hotel trip to rome borghese gallery trevi fountain first floor small hotel breakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
1,830 - 1,835 of 3,070 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Golden in Rome in Aug 2012. The hotel is small and run by Marco, Guiseppe and Alina. The atmosphere is cosy and homely. The rooms are compact. When you book ask for the large rooms as the small rooms are really tiny. The breakfast is very good and fresh. The omlettes are freshly made as and when you require to eat them and the variety of food is excellent from eggs,bacon,ham,sausage,cakes,pastry,breads,fresh fruit,tea and coffee. The location of the hotel cannot be faulted, it is at the end of Via veneto. Outside the windows is the Hadrians wall and across the Villa Borghese. You can walk to the Spanish steps and the Trevi. For the other places there are many buses and the metro available. Harrys Bar is just a few feet away.The family is very friendly and helpul guiding you to the best places to eat. There are quite a few places you can go to for a good Italian dinner at a reasonable cost.

Room Tip: ask for the larger rooms
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onthemoveBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Everyone here was so friendly and helpful. Accommodation very comfortable and clean. Very close to city centre - easy to walk everywhere. Family owned and operated so everyone had a vested interest in what was going on.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nanna6215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Sorry to write this so late. My family has stayed at this hotel many times over the last seven years, with the most recent stay this past spring. Finally, I will write my review.

When we visit Rome, Hotel Golden is the only place we want to stay. We have even booked our flights around the hotel's availability because we don't want to stay anywhere but here. As many have already stated in their reviews, Hotel Golden is run by a very nice family who take great care of their guests. This is the main reason that we head back there again and again. You truly feel that the family will look after you if you need any help. In a city like Rome this can be hard to find.

Hotel Golden is like a calm little oasis after a day out around the city. The rooms are clean, some are quite spacious, the showers are nice, with lots of hot water, and the beds are comfortable. In summer, the air conditioning works well.

Breakfast is good. The breakfast room is pretty tight, as others have said, but this has never been a problem. The variety of food items is excellent.

We have two small children and the family at the hotel have treated them so well. You get the sense that kids are really welcome there. They even have a highchair in the breakfast room.

In my opinion the location of the hotel is excellent. It is only a short walk to the metro, next to the Vill Borghese, and close to many useful bus stops (especially the 116). There is also a sizeable grocery store nearby.

I really can't say enough good things about this place. We look forward to going there each time. When we arrive it feels like we are visiting old friends.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theroamingcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We recently stayed at Hotel Golden for 3 nights. We arrived before check-in and very tired mind you. They had our room ready within 45 minutes of our arrival which wasn't bad in my book. Small Euro room but did not feel cramped. We were located right across from the check-in desk, and did hear people coming and going at night, but I'm a pretty heavy sleeper so I went back to sleep quickly. Free internet is definitely a perk and received logins for more than one device. Pretty good breakfast in the morning to grab on our way out sight-seeing. Located in a quiet, less-touristy area which was nice but very walkable to everything we wanted to see. We never took public transportation while there and were not too tired walking to and from the hotel. The family was very nice on our arrival and spent a long time with us showing us a map, discussing things we needed to see, and giving insider tips on how to avoid long lines, etc. Make sure to take a shower in off-peak times or it may not be the hottest! Would absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank khobama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We have just checked out from hotel golden and I must say it has one of the best services provided anywhere in the world. Don't be deceived by its star rating because it's service is definitely 5stars and above.

The hotel was kind enough to accommodate us when we needed to stay an extra night and every taxi call is accompanied by the owners making sure we caught the right taxi etc.

For accomodation, the double room family suite is amazing as with it's breakfast. Overall money well spent and you won't regret any decision staying here.

Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews