We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Room in Rome from which to Roam.”
Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Golden
Ranked #18 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2012

I wanted to take my family to Rome for a fun and delightful break without breaking the bank. I found Hotel Golden and liked the price.
There are lots of places to stay but Hotel Golden is a rare and wonderful find. Its completely family run at a fantastically high standard. The beds were crisp and comfortable, the bathroom spacious and the continental breakfast was a delicious selection of fruit, eggs, cheeses, hams, yogurts etc etc. Lovingly served my Mamma and her daughter. A great start to iconic sightseeing.

I am really pleased I booked it. It is fantastically well positioned so that you can walk to the Trevi Fouontain in less than 8 minutes or the Spanish Steps. I would recommend it to everybody wanting a comfortable quality break

Room Tip: Your in a big busy city so expect a little noise. The Hotel is on the 1st floor and has shutters an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacqui R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,885)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,662 - 1,666 of 2,885 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Golden in Rome in Aug 2012. The hotel is small and run by Marco, Guiseppe and Alina. The atmosphere is cosy and homely. The rooms are compact. When you book ask for the large rooms as the small rooms are really tiny. The breakfast is very good and fresh. The omlettes are freshly made as and when you require to eat them and the variety of food is excellent from eggs,bacon,ham,sausage,cakes,pastry,breads,fresh fruit,tea and coffee. The location of the hotel cannot be faulted, it is at the end of Via veneto. Outside the windows is the Hadrians wall and across the Villa Borghese. You can walk to the Spanish steps and the Trevi. For the other places there are many buses and the metro available. Harrys Bar is just a few feet away.The family is very friendly and helpul guiding you to the best places to eat. There are quite a few places you can go to for a good Italian dinner at a reasonable cost.

Room Tip: ask for the larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onthemoveBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Everyone here was so friendly and helpful. Accommodation very comfortable and clean. Very close to city centre - easy to walk everywhere. Family owned and operated so everyone had a vested interest in what was going on.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nanna6215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Sorry to write this so late. My family has stayed at this hotel many times over the last seven years, with the most recent stay this past spring. Finally, I will write my review.

When we visit Rome, Hotel Golden is the only place we want to stay. We have even booked our flights around the hotel's availability because we don't want to stay anywhere but here. As many have already stated in their reviews, Hotel Golden is run by a very nice family who take great care of their guests. This is the main reason that we head back there again and again. You truly feel that the family will look after you if you need any help. In a city like Rome this can be hard to find.

Hotel Golden is like a calm little oasis after a day out around the city. The rooms are clean, some are quite spacious, the showers are nice, with lots of hot water, and the beds are comfortable. In summer, the air conditioning works well.

Breakfast is good. The breakfast room is pretty tight, as others have said, but this has never been a problem. The variety of food items is excellent.

We have two small children and the family at the hotel have treated them so well. You get the sense that kids are really welcome there. They even have a highchair in the breakfast room.

In my opinion the location of the hotel is excellent. It is only a short walk to the metro, next to the Vill Borghese, and close to many useful bus stops (especially the 116). There is also a sizeable grocery store nearby.

I really can't say enough good things about this place. We look forward to going there each time. When we arrive it feels like we are visiting old friends.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theroamingcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We recently stayed at Hotel Golden for 3 nights. We arrived before check-in and very tired mind you. They had our room ready within 45 minutes of our arrival which wasn't bad in my book. Small Euro room but did not feel cramped. We were located right across from the check-in desk, and did hear people coming and going at night, but I'm a pretty heavy sleeper so I went back to sleep quickly. Free internet is definitely a perk and received logins for more than one device. Pretty good breakfast in the morning to grab on our way out sight-seeing. Located in a quiet, less-touristy area which was nice but very walkable to everything we wanted to see. We never took public transportation while there and were not too tired walking to and from the hotel. The family was very nice on our arrival and spent a long time with us showing us a map, discussing things we needed to see, and giving insider tips on how to avoid long lines, etc. Make sure to take a shower in off-peak times or it may not be the hottest! Would absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank khobama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#21 of 1,272 in Rome
1,228 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,272 in Rome
7,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#19 of 1,272 in Rome
4,395 reviews
Parioli
Suite Oriani
Suite Oriani
#13 of 1,272 in Rome
432 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#11 of 1,272 in Rome
3,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Address: Via Marche 84 | next to the old Roman Walls, the Borghese Gardens, Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#57 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#81 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: €63 - €198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.The hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.Very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.Bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.Bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.Besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.Our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!Full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.And the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!Come and visit us.. We will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Nozio Netplan srl so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing