We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,044)
Filter reviews
1,044 results
Traveller rating
664
319
41
15
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
664
319
41
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aventine hill circo massimo circus maximus santa sabina wrap around balcony a quiet residential area seven hills minute walk delightful hotel sister hotel pastries within walking distance nice breakfast perfect stay boiled eggs metro stop beautiful room
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 1,044 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2015

This is a nice hotel in the largely residential Aventino area of Rome, just round the corner from the Colosseum. Our room was comfortable, though not large, with antique style furnishings, very efficient aircon but only intermittent wifi,

There is a small lounge by reception with a PC for residents' use and breakfast is served in a dedicated room or outside on the terraces.

The hotel is within about 10 minutes walking distance of the metro at Circo Massimo where there is a selection of bars and restaurants. There is a once every 20 minute route 715 bus service to the centre about 5 minutes away from the hotel.

In fact it is easy to walk all the way into the heart of Rome's attractions in about 30 minutes, the closest being Circo Massimo itself, the Forum and the Colosseum.

We arrived by car and although parking spaces cannot be reserved, we got into one of the three spaces without trouble. In fact during our three days in Rome, there were never more than two cars there.

For a peaceful hotel so close to the centre, with free car parking, we thought €88 a night was a bargain.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ian_and_Denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Aventino, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such wonderful reviews! The staff and I are very pleased to know that the service received during your stay meet your expectation. This encourage us to do always the best for our clients, anticipated their needs and desires to make their experience in Hotel Aventino a memorable stay!
You are right The Aventino hill is a perfect location for a relaxed and sophisticated city break, so close to the major tourist attractions!

We hope to see you again for another roman experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2015 via mobile

My sister and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. It was a quick visit to Rome. Very friendly staff and helpful. Upon a late arrival we were warmly greeted by Pasquel who noted no restaurants would be open at that time. He was kind enough to make me a sandwich and a bowl of fruit and brought it up to our room. The breakfast was similar to a continental breakfast - hard boiled egg, yogurt, meats, cheese, coffee, bread, fruit, granola, and juice. Simple but good and free :) The hotel is located in a quiet residential area but it is about a 20 walk to the colosseum and maybe a 10 minute walk to the Metro. Would love to come back and stay at this hotel.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank SORAYACLEARY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Aventino, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2015

Dear Guest,

thank you for your nice review on Tripadvisor and for having shared!

We are delighted that your stay at our hotel Aventino was good and have enjoyed the service and the courtesy of our staff!
I'm glad you enjoyed our delicious breakfast in our conservatory, where is fantastic to start the day in a peaceful and relaxed ambience!

We hope to have you back soon for another trip as a welcome guest in the Eternal City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed there with my wife and 3 year old for 3 nights.

This is a 3 star little hotel and I guess you get what you pay for. Rooms are the tiniest we've ever seen anywhere, you carry your own luggage up, breakfast is below average and there is no atmosphere and no service or experience worth mentioning.

The neighbourhood is 100% residential so really quiet and nothing in the immediate vicinity. Lacked energy and was sort of depressing! Restaurants in the area were mostly disappointing.

If are on a EUR 200 ish budget and just want somewhere quiet and clean to sleep then it's fine.

I would personally pay more and stay somewhere with more atmosphere and higher quality and better location.

Won't return!

Date of stay: July 2015
3  Thank HotelPro123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Aventino, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.
Sorry that you have not been able to fully appreciate the quality of our facility and your advice are very valuable for us!

I really hope that in the future will give us the opportunity to host you in a superior room so you can enjoy the special atmosphere and charm of our hotel Aventino!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015

We stayed two nights in the apartments. They are close to the hotel. Nice to sit outside and to drink a beer. Everything was clean and the personal was nice. Breakfast was really big and a lot of different things to eat. For two nights was it ok. The bed was clean and comftable. But if were there in March or April you need a second blanket. Normal standard.

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kathrin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Aventino, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2015

Dear Guest,

thank you for your nice review on Tripadvisor and for having shared!

Sorry that you have not been able to fully appreciate the quality of our facility and your advice are very valuable for us !
I really hope that in the future will give us the opportunity to host you again in a superior room so you can enjoy the special atmosphere and charm of our hotel Aventino .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2015 via mobile

Hotel Aventino is a comfortable hotel atop quiet Aventino hill in Rome. The rooms are small but comfortable and the hotel serves an excellent breakfast. The only small problem was that the air conditioning went out from time to time, which was a problem due to the heat wave in Rome at that time. But anyone wishing to stay in a primarily residential area with good access to Testaccio and Trastevere should consider this hotel.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Darryl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Aventino, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2015

Dear Guest,

we are happy you had a comfortable stay with us and we really appreciate you shared your satisfaction with the Tripadvisor community

As you said, the Aventine Hill is one of the historic districts of Rome, famous for its elegance, for the peace and to be near all the major attractions of the city

We hope to see you again in the near future and we suggest you to check our official website for special offers and promotional rates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews