We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great hotel in a nice quiet location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Aventino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Aventino
Ranked #62 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a nice quiet location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

We loved this hotel and went when it was very hot out. The air conditioning here was great, as were the surrounding gardens. The room was clean and so was the bathroom, both were very nice. We loved the breakfast and also loved the breakfast area. Neighborhood was very nice and quiet for sleeping. Only negative is it is a far walk to the action, 15-20 mins but we did not mind. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank asmith123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Aventino, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
We are happy you had a comfortable stay with us and we really appreciate you shared your satisfaction with the tripadvisor community
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    270
    32
    11
    3
See reviews for
98
471
41
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Walkersville, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

I spent two weeks in the Aventino hotel in Rome, Italy. This hotel is one of three (the Aventino, the San Anselmo, and the San Pio) in a quiet residential area on a hill that overlooks the Circus Maximus. I was working at the FAO building, and it is a easy to do 20 minute walk from the Aventino to FAO through quiet residential streets and then past shops and restaurants.

Most of downtown Rome is within range of a walking tour with the Circus, the Forum, and the Coliseum within easy reach - and sites such as the Spanish Steps and the Pantheon and shopping on the Via del Corso certainly do-able if you want to stretch your legs.

No health club, and only the Pio has an attached restaurant - but elegant surroundings, spotless rooms, good beds, and plenty of hot water in the showers. And the shining star is the staff, who within a day will remember what kind of coffee you want at the complimentary cold breakfast offered in each of the hotels and who will know you by name not long after that. The concierge will gladly recommend a restaurant, talk about things to see, or negotiate a better price for your taxi to the airport.

The rooms are small , taken up with the(very comfortable) king sized bed and a small desk - but there is cable tv and wireless offered without extra charge in the rooms and a modern bathroom. You need to go out to eat or to see Rome - but you are a 10 minute walk from shops and restaurants. This is a great way to see Rome, and it is really nice to come back to someplace as welcoming as this.

Good for singles or couples - it could be a very romantic get-away, but not really set up for a family with children

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

The Hotel Aventino is one of the three under the same ownership set in the midst of the beautiful Aventino Hill. We have stayed at all three (the Hotel San Anselmo and the Hotel Villa San Pio being the others). We had a corner room with a wrap-around balcony - just heavenly in the morning sun smelling the jasmine flowers and listening to church bells. Our room was furnished baroque style with silver-leaf framed mirrors and bedside tables and a coffered ceiling with silver rosettes - nice!
The internet is free and the breakfasts in a room decorated with enormous paintings framed in stone were more than satisfactory. If it had been warmer we would have eaten in the garden where the camillias were already in bud, and the the maidenhair fern was flourishing along with other flowers that did not recognize that it was fall.
The neighborhood is very quiet with the umbrella pine needles softening the sound of our footsteps on the cobblestones.
There is now a restaurant in the Villa San Pio for those who do not want to walk the three or four blocks to the many nearby restaurants.

Room Tip: As for Room 348 with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank baggagecarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

Just stayed two nights here, and will be back. The hotel is in a really lovely setting, very quite neighborhood, very green and calm. The rooms are nice, not overly large or luxurious but are more than adequate with a desk, wardrobe, table, and in my case a small balcony with table and chairs.

There is no restaurant, but there are a few choices nearby, and the sister hotel is a short walk away with a nice restaurant if you want to stay in for dinner.

Trastevere is a short nice walk away, with the opportunity to stop and see Santa Sabina church and the spectacular views over Rome - if you go at sunset it is really beautiful and you get to see the swarms of starlings in the fall - really a sight not to be missed. Likewise, heading the other way you are a short walk from Circus Maximus, Palantine Hill etc etc., the metro is here as well.

Staff were to a person lovely. I needed to stay in for dinner one night and do some work and so brought take away in from the grocery store. The gentleman at the desk took me to the kitchen used for breakfast and heated up my meal, got me set up with plate, utensils etc and brought me a wine glass to the room, all with good humor and helpfulness. Others staffing the desk were equally helpful as was the woman managing the breakfast room each morning.

Free wireless in the rooms and lobby. Not a very strong signal. Also a free computer terminal in the lobby if you don't have a laptop with you. Breakfast included, very typical to what you will find in European hotels, good coffee, yogurt, fresh fruit choices, cereal, bread, pastry, cheeses, meats, juices. All you could want......

It is a bit off the beaten path and is an uphill walk home (not too bad though) or a quick taxi ride. If you want a peaceful setting combined with ease of access to the city this is a good choice. I know I will be back as have found my Rome hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atravellingiwillgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Excellent Hotel in a perfect and quiet location. I felt like I was staying in a little palazzo...it was a very special stay and the breakfast and staff were great...would definitely reccommend!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#97 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Aventine
Hotel San Anselmo
Hotel San Anselmo
#49 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Villa Pirandello
#78 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Aurelius
#48 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#75 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aventino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aventino

Property: Hotel Aventino
Address: Via San Domenico 10, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine , Ripa / Aventino
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aventino 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Aventino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing