We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a nice quiet location”
Review of Hotel Aventino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Aventino
Ranked #63 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We loved this hotel and went when it was very hot out. The air conditioning here was great, as were the surrounding gardens. The room was clean and so was the bathroom, both were very nice. We loved the breakfast and also loved the breakfast area. Neighborhood was very nice and quiet for sleeping. Only negative is it is a far walk to the action, 15-20 mins but we did not mind. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank asmith123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Aventino, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

We are happy you had a comfortable stay with us and we really appreciate you shared your satisfaction with the tripadvisor community

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (971)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

431 - 435 of 971 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2011

I spent two weeks in the Aventino hotel in Rome, Italy. This hotel is one of three (the Aventino, the San Anselmo, and the San Pio) in a quiet residential area on a hill that overlooks the Circus Maximus. I was working at the FAO building, and it is a easy to do 20 minute walk from the Aventino to FAO through quiet residential streets and then past shops and restaurants.

Most of downtown Rome is within range of a walking tour with the Circus, the Forum, and the Coliseum within easy reach - and sites such as the Spanish Steps and the Pantheon and shopping on the Via del Corso certainly do-able if you want to stretch your legs.

No health club, and only the Pio has an attached restaurant - but elegant surroundings, spotless rooms, good beds, and plenty of hot water in the showers. And the shining star is the staff, who within a day will remember what kind of coffee you want at the complimentary cold breakfast offered in each of the hotels and who will know you by name not long after that. The concierge will gladly recommend a restaurant, talk about things to see, or negotiate a better price for your taxi to the airport.

The rooms are small , taken up with the(very comfortable) king sized bed and a small desk - but there is cable tv and wireless offered without extra charge in the rooms and a modern bathroom. You need to go out to eat or to see Rome - but you are a 10 minute walk from shops and restaurants. This is a great way to see Rome, and it is really nice to come back to someplace as welcoming as this.

Good for singles or couples - it could be a very romantic get-away, but not really set up for a family with children

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

The Hotel Aventino is one of the three under the same ownership set in the midst of the beautiful Aventino Hill. We have stayed at all three (the Hotel San Anselmo and the Hotel Villa San Pio being the others). We had a corner room with a wrap-around balcony - just heavenly in the morning sun smelling the jasmine flowers and listening to church bells. Our room was furnished baroque style with silver-leaf framed mirrors and bedside tables and a coffered ceiling with silver rosettes - nice!
The internet is free and the breakfasts in a room decorated with enormous paintings framed in stone were more than satisfactory. If it had been warmer we would have eaten in the garden where the camillias were already in bud, and the the maidenhair fern was flourishing along with other flowers that did not recognize that it was fall.
The neighborhood is very quiet with the umbrella pine needles softening the sound of our footsteps on the cobblestones.
There is now a restaurant in the Villa San Pio for those who do not want to walk the three or four blocks to the many nearby restaurants.

Room Tip: As for Room 348 with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank baggagecarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Just stayed two nights here, and will be back. The hotel is in a really lovely setting, very quite neighborhood, very green and calm. The rooms are nice, not overly large or luxurious but are more than adequate with a desk, wardrobe, table, and in my case a small balcony with table and chairs.

There is no restaurant, but there are a few choices nearby, and the sister hotel is a short walk away with a nice restaurant if you want to stay in for dinner.

Trastevere is a short nice walk away, with the opportunity to stop and see Santa Sabina church and the spectacular views over Rome - if you go at sunset it is really beautiful and you get to see the swarms of starlings in the fall - really a sight not to be missed. Likewise, heading the other way you are a short walk from Circus Maximus, Palantine Hill etc etc., the metro is here as well.

Staff were to a person lovely. I needed to stay in for dinner one night and do some work and so brought take away in from the grocery store. The gentleman at the desk took me to the kitchen used for breakfast and heated up my meal, got me set up with plate, utensils etc and brought me a wine glass to the room, all with good humor and helpfulness. Others staffing the desk were equally helpful as was the woman managing the breakfast room each morning.

Free wireless in the rooms and lobby. Not a very strong signal. Also a free computer terminal in the lobby if you don't have a laptop with you. Breakfast included, very typical to what you will find in European hotels, good coffee, yogurt, fresh fruit choices, cereal, bread, pastry, cheeses, meats, juices. All you could want......

It is a bit off the beaten path and is an uphill walk home (not too bad though) or a quick taxi ride. If you want a peaceful setting combined with ease of access to the city this is a good choice. I know I will be back as have found my Rome hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atravellingiwillgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Excellent Hotel in a perfect and quiet location. I felt like I was staying in a little palazzo...it was a very special stay and the breakfast and staff were great...would definitely reccommend!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#76 of 1,269 in Rome
1,420 reviews
Aventine
Hotel San Anselmo
Hotel San Anselmo
#43 of 1,269 in Rome
1,168 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#18 of 1,269 in Rome
2,768 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Adriano
Hotel Adriano
#179 of 1,269 in Rome
1,475 reviews
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aventino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aventino

Address: Via San Domenico 10, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine , Ripa / Aventino
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: €73 - €257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aventino 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Aventino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing