We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful in every way!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Al Colonnato di San Pietro Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 3,620 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful in every way!”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Upon arrival around 8.30pm (an hour late due to waiting for baggage!) Rosa Maria greeted us with the warmest welcome anyone could wish for. We had booked a driver to pick us up & drop us off at the airport which we would highly recommend.
She showed us to our room, brought us a drink and proceeded to tell us about the property, where is good to go for dinner (we wanted somewhere close by since we were quite late & tired from travelling for most of the day), told us about transport in the city, asked us our breakfast preferences and suggested some activites during our stay. The fact that she wasn't bothered that we were late or was rushing to get home made us feel truly welcomed, something you almost never get in a regular hotel or most B&B's we've stayed in.
The breakfast, brought to us by Rosa Maria's assistant, was beautiful, we didn't have particularly high expectations, but it certainly got our days off to a wonderful start and kept us going! The selection was excellent and varied slightly daily. She always had a smile and greeted us like long lost friends! Rosa was there on our first morning & advised us on where to go (with the help of our massive map!) and where wasn't a particular tourist spot.
We could not fault our stay in any way. Our room was spotless, had just the right amount of storage, a reasonable view from the window, extremely comfy bed & perfectly equipped bathroom - they even said that the next time we visit they will provide us with a cot in the same room. Just to highlight how close it is to The Vatican & St. Peters Square, the day we left we had walked through the square, had a look around the castle & back to collect our belongings, when we left with Rosa Maria to meet our driver, we could not only see, but hear the Pope from his window!
We will most definitely be back in the future & have already recommended it to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitty81cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonnato, Proprietario at Al Colonnato di San Pietro Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for leaving your review of Al Colonnato di San Pietro. It was great to meet you on your recent visit and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are constantly striving to provide a quality B&B and I am happy that you appreciated our breakfast. Hope to see you again soon.
Kindest regards,
Rosa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    15
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
94
332
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Five of us spent 5 nights here in January - we were therefore the sole occupants of the B&B. Rosa Maria had prior to our arrival emailed the various options regarding getting from the airport to the B&B and we decided to use Rosa Maria's driver. Our luggage took an unusually long time to arrive at Fiumicino and we were a bit concerned that the driver might not be there, but our fears were groundless - he was still waiting and before we knew it, we were at the B&B. We can definitely recommend using this form of transport, much easier with luggage than trains or buses and when we left Rome, we again used the same driver who arrived at the B&B extremely punctually.

Rosa Maria met us on arrival (at lunchtime on a Sunday) and made us all tea and drinks, while giving us recommendations for restaurants and places to visit, as well as bus information. She also arranged a booking for the Villa Borghese. We were asked what time we would like breakfast and also what we would like for breakfast. At 8am the next morning, Meldi was at our door with the most delicious and plentiful breakfast - fruit juice, tea, coffee, yoghurt, beautiful fresh fruitsalad, croissants, warm bread rolls, jams, cheese, biscuits etc.

Meldi was also a great source of information with a delightful sunny personality - she was a breath of fresh air each morning. On our last morning we had an earlier breakfast due to our flight leaving early and that was not a problem for Meldi. She also left us a flask with hot water, some tea bags and biscuits so that we could have a cup of tea when we returned to the B&B after sightseeing each day.

The location was ideal, in 5 minutes we were in St Peter's Square after walking under the overpass. There are 2 bus stops very close to the B&B and we caught buses to the Borghese Gardens, the Colosseum and also on occasions to the other side of the river. Rosa Maria recommended buying the Rome Pass (from just around the corner) and this proved a good move as it covers the cost of the first 2 museums (she suggested we use it for the Colosseum, which includes the Forum, and the Villa Borghese) you visit, saves standing in lines to buy tickets and also gives you 3 days travel on buses.

When we returned to the B&B on day two, we found 2 bottles of sparkling wine in our fridge along with 5 glasses, which was a lovely touch.

The rooms were very comfortable and quiet. Meldi changed the sheets and towels every 2 days and kept everything spotlessly clean. The 2 restaurants Rosa Maria recommended just around the corner were both very good - good food, quick service and very convenient. Another plus was the laundromat (also around the corner) where we could hand in our washing and pick it up at the end of the day - great to have, especially at the end of a month's travelling.

We would definitely recommend this B&B wholeheartedly and would stay here on our next visit to Rome.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SociableWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonnato, Proprietario at Al Colonnato di San Pietro Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Deat Guests,
Many thanks for your kind review on Trip Advisor.
I am glad to hear that you had a pleasant experience during your visit and I am also happy that you found our staff attentive.
Your positive comments are particularly encouraging as we work so hard to ensure a perfect stay for all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back one day.
All the best,
Rosa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Our 2nd visit to this outstanding b&b. Service is the best from rosa and meldi. I mean what other hotel or b&b gives you champagne for your birthday and chocolates when you leave. Well i can truly say you will not have a better stay anywhere else in rome. Rosa extends the warmest of welcomes with all the advise you will need for your stay and the location is so close to the vatican city and basilica that you get extra time in bed as you dont need to travel. We cant thank them enough for making our stay a comfortable and memorable trip. We will be back again many thanks

Room Tip: The green room very quite with en suite just lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m270869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonnato, Proprietario at Al Colonnato di San Pietro Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear Guests,
Many thanks for the flattering comments.
It is really a pleasure for me to know that guests are happy and satisfied. When a guest has his/her birthday, the least I can do is to celebrate with them offering a good bottle of bubbles.
Hope to see you for the third time.
Thanks again,
Rosa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracebridge, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

My wife and I spent four days at Al Colonnato di San Pietro B & B and we both would highly recommended it.

Our plane arrived an hour late and Rosa Maria's driver was waiting just as she had arranged for us in advance (do use this service it is especiailly appreciated it after a long flight). Rosa Maria was awaiting us when we arrived at the B & B. She welcomed us and got us quickly oriented and settled in our room. She then proceeded to get us a cappucino and then provided us with a map and suggestions for touring Roma.

Rosa Maria is enthusiastic,full of energy and hospitality and absolutely brimming with info on how to best enjoy Roma. Our visit was during the New Year holiday and with her advice we were able to get into the sites and museums without enduring the long lineups. Her suggestions on restaurants, including a fantastic New Years Eve dinner, were excellent as well. Rosa Maria and her housekeeper, Maldi, even put a bottle of champagne and a cake in our room as a special touch for New Years!

Oh yes, Maldi. No review of this B & B would be complete without a comment on this wonderful gem of a lady! Her attention to detail in the room, the beautiful and scrumptous breakfast she brought to our room each morning along with her bright personality and smile really added to our enjoyment each day!

Overall, the rooms are well equipped and exceptionally clean. They reminded me of staying with my aunt when I have visited her in another part of Europe. Allora, the only regret I would have was that we only stayed such a short time at this wonderful spot!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pleasureseeker2235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonnato, Proprietario at Al Colonnato di San Pietro Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for your recent visit and this review, especially mentioning our committed staff.
I am glad to hear that you had a pleasant experience during your visit.
Your positive comments are particularly encouraging as we work so hard to ensure a perfect stay for all guests.
All the best,
Rosa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

The prior glowing reviews are spot-on in my opinion. Service here is outstanding, the rooms are comfortable and immaculate, and it's also quite a reasonable deal financially. I would absolutely recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: Avoid the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonnato, Proprietario at Al Colonnato di San Pietro Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Dear Guests,
Thanks for your very kind comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
I hope to see you again.
Regards,
Rosa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,550 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#6 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campanella3
#8 of 3,620 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Prati
QuodLibet
QuodLibet
#5 of 3,620 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Prati
Rome Armony Suites
Rome Armony Suites
#7 of 3,620 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Colonnato di San Pietro Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Colonnato di San Pietro Bed and Breakfast

Property: Al Colonnato di San Pietro Bed and Breakfast
Address: Viale delle Mura Aurelie 19, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 3,620 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Al Colonnato di San Pietro Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B&B is located 100 metres away from Saint Peter's Cathedral.The flat which has been recently refurbished was designed by an excellent architect. The windows equipped with air gap glassess, the solid wooden furniture, the beds equipped with wired bed frames and orthopaedic mattresses, the anallergic fabrics, the safe, the minibar and the foldway tables, they make the really comforting B&B. Our rooms are no-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Al Colonnato di San Pietro Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Colonnato Di San Pietro b&b
Al Colonnato Di San Pietro Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing