We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Superb Location But Currently Bing Refurbished”
Review of Anfiteatro Flavio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anfiteatro Flavio
Ranked #617 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Stayed at this hotel in mid Feb 2012 as we were in Rome for 4 nights primarily to watch Italy V England in the Rugby 6 Nations. The hotel is being refurbished and therefore the reception and breakfast dining has had to be moved to a much smaller annex so room was a bit tight for breakfast. Continental style breakfast but a reasonable choice and excellent value for money. The staff were superb, especially the catering staff supplying breakfast. Reception staff was really good and their spoken english was excellent which is very helpful to ignorant people like me who won't learn other languages.

We payed £29 per person per night including tourist tax and breakfast for a hotel very close to the Colosseum, clean rooms with ensuite bathroom but a tad on the small side is all.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, whether the price will increase when the refurb is completed I can't comment on.

We flew with Lufthansa with a short stopover in Frankfurt, flying from Heathrow - they were excellent, good legroom (I am 6 foot 2 inches tall) and plenty of seat width and the seat belt still had a good 8 inches "spare" with my 44 inch waist, superb.

The hotel also arranged for a taxi to pick us up from the Airport (Flumincio) which was 50 euros but was a 9 seater taxi so we thought it was good value, the journey is about 40 minutes and is a pain by train or bus/coach as we have done that before. The taxi was there waiting where the hotel said it would be, excellent service.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel so no view but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RObbo60_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 126 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank jeanette d
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed for four nights from 19.01.2012. The hotel was being refurbished (there was no mention of this when booking), this meant that on arrival into our room we were greeted by the souind of a pnuematic drill (oh joy !!). We requested to move rooms and were placed across the street, this room was very poorly furnished compared to the first room offered. the walls were dirty and the double bed was 2 singles pushed together, the third bed for the kid was about 2 feet from the 2 pushed together beds. In other words the room was very small. The breakfast was ok but that should be expected from a supposed 3 star hotel, but it was nothing to write home about. There are many hotels in the same area and i am sure they must be better than this place, my advice would be avoid this place as it just detracted from the joy of visiting Rome. Shop around there are definitely better hotels in very similar location........Dont be tempted you'll just be left feeling ripped off.....
The only plus was the staff, though i dont include the female owner in this, smiling may help !!!

Room Tip: Dont use this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 23Barry23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I went with my wife just this past week and needless to stay we will not be returning. Unfortunately, this hotel probably has tons of potential, but lacks what it takes to bring back customers.

The 2 positives that I will note are the location and a few extremely friendly and accommodating employees.

At first site, the room was obviously smaller than anything we had ever been in, but we were willing to look past that. However, the floor was very dirty, the comforter had stains on it, and the bathroom smelled very bad. Overall, the room was extremely small, not very clean, and in turn not very comfortable.

Those were the main things. A bunch of little things like the hair dryer only worked for a minute or so at a time.

The breakfast wasn't amazing, but not terrible. Friendly staff and some pretty basic food items. Do not attempt to be amazed by the breakfast.

Below I rated the Service as "Poor", this was due to an unfriendly and condescending front desk person.

Would not recommend for couples or families.

Room Tip: Make sure you are in the main building. They have a building across the street that they put guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJMSxr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

A part from the wonderful location we could not understand how this hotel got 3 stars: the rooms are very small, they would have nice terraces but they are very dirty, the staff is helpful if you ask but it's hard to see them smiling.

The breakfast is bad: apparently there is plenty of food but all of very poor quality (a part from the good croissants): juice, cold cuts, cheese, yogurt all coming from a discount and of just 1 type.

Even the espresso and capuccino were poor.

We choosed it because another hotel where we usually stay in Rome was full but we won't come again

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silvia1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Valle Hotel
Valle Hotel
#1,036 of 1,271 in Rome
399 reviews
Monti
Hotel Ivanhoe
Hotel Ivanhoe
#306 of 1,271 in Rome
615 reviews
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#126 of 1,271 in Rome
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
D'Este Hotel
D'Este Hotel
#694 of 1,271 in Rome
155 reviews
Monti
Hotel Terme Olimpia
Hotel Terme Olimpia
#655 of 1,271 in Rome
23 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#343 of 1,271 in Rome
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anfiteatro Flavio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anfiteatro Flavio

Address: Via Dei Serpenti 130, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #617 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: €48 - €142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anfiteatro Flavio 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cozy and comfortable accommodation is located in a 17th-century Roman mansion in the heart of Rome, a stone's throw from the Colosseum (also known as the Anfiteatro Flavio), the Imperial Forum, Via Nazionale, the Spanish Steps, Via del Tritone, Piazza Venezia, the Trevi Fountain, Piazza Barberini and the Via Veneto. The hotel has recently been refurbished and has 21 comfortable and elegant rooms, each of which is named after a Roman emperor. Every room is equipped with: Private bath, Direct telephone, Color TV, A/C and Central Heating, Fridge, Hairdryer, Safe Box ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anfiteatro Flavio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anfiteatro Flavio Rome
Anfiteatro Flavio Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing