We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service, Superb Location But Currently Bing Refurbished” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anfiteatro Flavio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anfiteatro Flavio
Ranked #621 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
336 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Great Service, Superb Location But Currently Bing Refurbished”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Stayed at this hotel in mid Feb 2012 as we were in Rome for 4 nights primarily to watch Italy V England in the Rugby 6 Nations. The hotel is being refurbished and therefore the reception and breakfast dining has had to be moved to a much smaller annex so room was a bit tight for breakfast. Continental style breakfast but a reasonable choice and excellent value for money. The staff were superb, especially the catering staff supplying breakfast. Reception staff was really good and their spoken english was excellent which is very helpful to ignorant people like me who won't learn other languages.

We payed £29 per person per night including tourist tax and breakfast for a hotel very close to the Colosseum, clean rooms with ensuite bathroom but a tad on the small side is all.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, whether the price will increase when the refurb is completed I can't comment on.

We flew with Lufthansa with a short stopover in Frankfurt, flying from Heathrow - they were excellent, good legroom (I am 6 foot 2 inches tall) and plenty of seat width and the seat belt still had a good 8 inches "spare" with my 44 inch waist, superb.

The hotel also arranged for a taxi to pick us up from the Airport (Flumincio) which was 50 euros but was a 9 seater taxi so we thought it was good value, the journey is about 40 minutes and is a pain by train or bus/coach as we have done that before. The taxi was there waiting where the hotel said it would be, excellent service.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel so no view but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RObbo60_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    181
    113
    52
    47
See reviews for
103
217
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed for four nights from 19.01.2012. The hotel was being refurbished (there was no mention of this when booking), this meant that on arrival into our room we were greeted by the souind of a pnuematic drill (oh joy !!). We requested to move rooms and were placed across the street, this room was very poorly furnished compared to the first room offered. the walls were dirty and the double bed was 2 singles pushed together, the third bed for the kid was about 2 feet from the 2 pushed together beds. In other words the room was very small. The breakfast was ok but that should be expected from a supposed 3 star hotel, but it was nothing to write home about. There are many hotels in the same area and i am sure they must be better than this place, my advice would be avoid this place as it just detracted from the joy of visiting Rome. Shop around there are definitely better hotels in very similar location........Dont be tempted you'll just be left feeling ripped off.....
The only plus was the staff, though i dont include the female owner in this, smiling may help !!!

Room Tip: Dont use this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 23Barry23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Macomb Twp, Mi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

I went with my wife just this past week and needless to stay we will not be returning. Unfortunately, this hotel probably has tons of potential, but lacks what it takes to bring back customers.

The 2 positives that I will note are the location and a few extremely friendly and accommodating employees.

At first site, the room was obviously smaller than anything we had ever been in, but we were willing to look past that. However, the floor was very dirty, the comforter had stains on it, and the bathroom smelled very bad. Overall, the room was extremely small, not very clean, and in turn not very comfortable.

Those were the main things. A bunch of little things like the hair dryer only worked for a minute or so at a time.

The breakfast wasn't amazing, but not terrible. Friendly staff and some pretty basic food items. Do not attempt to be amazed by the breakfast.

Below I rated the Service as "Poor", this was due to an unfriendly and condescending front desk person.

Would not recommend for couples or families.

Room Tip: Make sure you are in the main building. They have a building across the street that they put guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJMSxr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
160 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

A part from the wonderful location we could not understand how this hotel got 3 stars: the rooms are very small, they would have nice terraces but they are very dirty, the staff is helpful if you ask but it's hard to see them smiling.

The breakfast is bad: apparently there is plenty of food but all of very poor quality (a part from the good croissants): juice, cold cuts, cheese, yogurt all coming from a discount and of just 1 type.

Even the espresso and capuccino were poor.

We choosed it because another hotel where we usually stay in Rome was full but we won't come again

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvia1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#108 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Monti
Hotel Ivanhoe
Hotel Ivanhoe
#246 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Monti
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#205 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#615 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Monti
Hotel St. Moritz
Hotel St. Moritz
#683 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Monti
Hotel Labelle
Hotel Labelle
#569 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anfiteatro Flavio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anfiteatro Flavio

Property: Anfiteatro Flavio
Address: Via Dei Serpenti 130, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #621 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Anfiteatro Flavio 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cozy and comfortable accommodation is located in a 17th-century Roman mansion in the heart of Rome, a stone's throw from the Colosseum (also known as the Anfiteatro Flavio), the Imperial Forum, Via Nazionale, the Spanish Steps, Via del Tritone, Piazza Venezia, the Trevi Fountain, Piazza Barberini and the Via Veneto. The hotel has recently been refurbished and has 21 comfortable and elegant rooms, each of which is named after a Roman emperor. Every room is equipped with: Private bath, Direct telephone, Color TV, A/C and Central Heating, Fridge, Hairdryer, Safe Box ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Anfiteatro Flavio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anfiteatro Flavio Rome
Anfiteatro Flavio Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing