We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!”
Review of Hotel Stendhal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Stendhal
Ranked #96 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2013

This was my third visit to Rome and to Hotel Stendhal and the hotel is always such a pleasure to return to! The hotel is small but beautifully appointed and very clean! We absolutely love the staff who have always been very helpful, considerate, polite and accommodating! The location of Hotel Stendhal is ideally situated for touring Rome ... everything that is absolutely a must to see is within a 15 to 20 minute easy walk. My husband and I will never stay anywhere but Hotel Stendhal when travelling to Rome! Thank you Hotel Stendhal for another fabulous stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (993)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

384 - 388 of 993 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2013

Hotel Stendhal was a joy to stay at. Even after a mistake at reservations resulting in us having to stay at their sister hotel, we still received great service. Damiano made sure that we got to the sister hotel, Hotel Mascani (which I also reviewed) safely by calling us a taxi and paying for it. Once we arrived back at Stendhal the next day they got us to our room within ten minutes. They upgraded us to a Superior with a street view and sent a bottle of prosecco for our trouble. The entire hotel has a very nice feel and the cool blue colors of the rooms made us feel relaxed after long touristy days. The breakfast was good and when it rained they offered us bigger umbrellas than the tiny ones that we carried. They will arrange a trip to the outlet mall for you and help you find delicious restaurants to eat at. The only thing that I can say that bothered me was that you could hear the next room running water or flushing the toilet when they were in the bathroom. Other than that I have nothing bad to say about this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Get a Superior room! If you don't like street noise then make sure to ask for a room off of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Dear Customer,
we are happy that at the end your experience in the Stendhal was positive, comfortable and pleasant.
Hoping to be able to welcome you again as our guests, we thanks you from all the staff.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Located at an ideal point of the city centre.
Metro next to it, but you don t need it since everything is so close on foot.
Beautifully decorated & very clean.
Staff polite.
It matches the general renaissance atmosphere of Rome.
You will love it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gogo p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Rome city is very very nice , in Winter cold but nice
Hotel location is close from tourists place and very clean staff is frindly
Room is very small breakfast is poor but good
i will stay in this hotel agin


  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Hossam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

I stayed at the Stendhal Hotel in Rome for two nights as part of a business trip. The hotel is very pleasant, very nicely furnished in a cosy old style. Rooms are not too big but of a good size and with all the amenities. The turn-down service is very good and attentive. Contrary to what happens in many other hotels of the same level, they even replace / add the soap-bar, something I have really appreciated. Breakfast is good and rich, with an ample selection of cereals, breads, Danish pastries and the like. Moreover, it is served on tables covered with silk tablecloth, which gives a very pleasant touch. Staff members are friendly and available. It is a few steps from Via Veneto so it is conveniently located for many Rome's amenities. Definitely worth recommending.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudiac67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

The best point of view is of those who live the Stendhal.
Dear Customer ,
Thank you very much for having gratified and honored the Stendhal, the rooms, the service and the staff.
We await for you of next holidays.
Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Stendhal Dependance Luxury Suites
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,272 in Rome
3,067 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Degli Artisti
Hotel Degli Artisti
#32 of 1,272 in Rome
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Relais Trevi 95 Boutique Hotel
Colonna
Albergo Ottocento
Albergo Ottocento
#251 of 1,272 in Rome
643 reviews
Trevi
White Hotel
White Hotel
#137 of 1,272 in Rome
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stendhal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stendhal

Address: Via del Tritone 113, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#196 Business Hotel in Rome
#217 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: €90 - €278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stendhal 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel was opened several years ago and has maintained its reputation as one of Rome's hippest and trendiest hotels. The location in the city centre within a short few minutes walk from Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, The Pantheon and ALL of Rome's most important monuments. Our rooms are maintained regularly and a rich buffet breakfast is included in the room rate.Finally, FREE WI FI internet throughout the hotel's public areas and rooms complete the services on offer at the Boutique Hotel Stendhal in Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Stendhal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stendhal Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing