We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,169)
Filter reviews
1,169 results
Traveller rating
598
399
102
36
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
598
399
102
36
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews via del tritone spanish steps trevi fountain great location piazza barberini busy street the main hotel within walking distance rooms are small around the corner hotel is centrally located travel agent superior room pastries heart of rome would definitely stay here again the breakfast area
Filter
Updating list...
504 - 509 of 1,169 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Hotel Stendhal was a joy to stay at. Even after a mistake at reservations resulting in us having to stay at their sister hotel, we still received great service. Damiano made sure that we got to the sister hotel, Hotel Mascani (which I also reviewed) safely by calling us a taxi and paying for it. Once we arrived back at Stendhal the next day they got us to our room within ten minutes. They upgraded us to a Superior with a street view and sent a bottle of prosecco for our trouble. The entire hotel has a very nice feel and the cool blue colors of the rooms made us feel relaxed after long touristy days. The breakfast was good and when it rained they offered us bigger umbrellas than the tiny ones that we carried. They will arrange a trip to the outlet mall for you and help you find delicious restaurants to eat at. The only thing that I can say that bothered me was that you could hear the next room running water or flushing the toilet when they were in the bathroom. Other than that I have nothing bad to say about this lovely hotel.

Room tip: Get a Superior room! If you don't like street noise then make sure to ask for a room off of the street. It's nothing that some ear plugs can't solve, however.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Dear Customer,
we are happy that at the end your experience in the Stendhal was positive, comfortable and pleasant.
Hoping to be able to welcome you again as our guests, we thanks you from all the staff.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Located at an ideal point of the city centre.
Metro next to it, but you don t need it since everything is so close on foot.
Beautifully decorated & very clean.
Staff polite.
It matches the general renaissance atmosphere of Rome.
You will love it.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gogo p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Rome city is very very nice , in Winter cold but nice
Hotel location is close from tourists place and very clean staff is frindly
Room is very small breakfast is poor but good
i will stay in this hotel agin


Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Hossam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

I stayed at the Stendhal Hotel in Rome for two nights as part of a business trip. The hotel is very pleasant, very nicely furnished in a cosy old style. Rooms are not too big but of a good size and with all the amenities. The turn-down service is very good and attentive. Contrary to what happens in many other hotels of the same level, they even replace / add the soap-bar, something I have really appreciated. Breakfast is good and rich, with an ample selection of cereals, breads, Danish pastries and the like. Moreover, it is served on tables covered with silk tablecloth, which gives a very pleasant touch. Staff members are friendly and available. It is a few steps from Via Veneto so it is conveniently located for many Rome's amenities. Definitely worth recommending.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudiac67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

The best point of view is of those who live the Stendhal.
Dear Customer ,
Thank you very much for having gratified and honored the Stendhal, the rooms, the service and the staff.
We await for you of next holidays.
Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

The hotel was a small boutique hotel with lovely decorating details in both the public and private areas, not a speck of dirt or scratched paint anywhere, our room (superior) was very comfortable, and the staff was pleasant, very helpful, and always smiling. The breakfast area/evening lounge was particularly nice. It was very tastefully decorated, spacious - extending into a small library - absolutely charming. Breakfast pastries were delicious; fruit choices were either whole fruit, canned fruit, or orange juice upon request. The ONLY problem was that the street side rooms have outer shutters (louvered), heavy windows, interior shutters, and a thick drape - but all of that could not drown out the street noise (buses, late night partiers, etc). Ear plugs did the trick but you must come prepared or request a room on the back side (I have no knowledge of those rooms). The location is very near a metro and well situated for easy access to many of Rome's best sights and shopping.

Room tip: Rooms on the back may be quieter - or higher floors. Or bring earplugs.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank APM48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Dear Customer,
we are glad to received your good review about the Stendhal, the rooms, the services and the staff. Unfortunately, one of our strengths could be a problem for some customers.
The Stendhal is in the center and Via del Tritone is one of the mains street in the heart of the city.
On request, our rooms on the back side are very quiet.
We will be happy to welcome you the next visit offering our best room on the back of the Hotel.
Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews