We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for the price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Giuliana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Giuliana
Ranked #115 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“OK for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed for a week in Rome early in February before spending another couple weeks touring Italy. We returned at the end of our trip for an extra three nights to see some of the sites that were previously closed because of the snow.The price of our previous hotel, which was excellent, had increased by nearly 50% in that time, putting it out of our range.
We selected Giuliana based on trip Advisor reviews and price, but we felt that they cut a few too many corners to keep the price down. The heating in the room is off during the day and it can only be turned on by reception. They appeared to turn it off again during the night. It takes quite a while to warm the room because it is the hot water radiator type.
Our towels were not changed during our visit, which doesn't really worry us, but since the heating wasn't on and the towel drying rail didn't work, they remained damp.
On the plus side, the hotel is only about a 15 minute walk from Termini station, it is walking distance to all the sites and there are plenty of restaurants nearby. The free wifi worked well and the included breakfast of toast, croissants, cereal and coffee was adequate.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    712
    416
    85
    19
    19
See reviews for
205
558
72
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is a nice, good value hotel in a good location in Rome. I had a single room which was a decent size, comfortable and clean. It's on the first floor of a building and there's a lift or an easy walk up the steps to get there. It's a 5 to 10 minute walk from Termini Station but feels in quite a different / nice neighbourhood - just on the edge of Monti. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast is pretty basic but fine. Excellent value for Rome.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrockStrongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

This is my second time that I stayed in this Hotel. Rooms are very clean, staff very helpful. It is located few minutes away from Rome Termini. I am sure that I will go there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

We spent 9 nights with the most incredible folks imaginable. Typical small European hotel room, window overlooked the street with bells on Sunday morning. Nice food across the street, great shopping next door. Best of all, the owners are the perfect blend of help without being overbearing. We will stay there any time we are in Rome.

Room Tip: Street front rooms are noisier, but if you love Rome that is part of the good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasília, DF
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

The hotel is very well located, near the Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore, Stazione Centralle, shops. Completely family environment where guests receive full attention with the greatest readiness and education. The breakfast is simple but complete with coffee, milk, juices, fruits, breads and croissants. We recommend and will certainly return

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janes B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#92 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#75 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#73 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#129 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Chroma Pente
#160 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giuliana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giuliana

Property: Hotel Giuliana
Address: Via Agostino Depretis 70, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Rome
#61 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#107 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Giuliana 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giuliana is a charming family-run hotel in Rome. It is completely renovated and is ideally situated in the centre of Rome in a street facing the magnificent Santa Maria Maggiore Basilica which leads to the Spanish Steps - the famous fashion centre with its beautiful shops! Other renowned historial and artistic monuments and sites such as the Colosseum, Roman Forum, Piazza Venezia, Campidoglio, Trevi Fountain and the Opera House are within walking distance. The Pantheon and lovely Piazza Navona is easily reached by bus from the Via Nazionale just 2 mins. From the hotel. The Metro Republica nearby connects directly with St. Peter's Basilica and the Vatican Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Giuliana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giuliana Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing