We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Well Located” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Milani Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Milani Hotel
Ranked #395 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Well Located”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

The room was very basic but if you are only using it to literally lay your head somewhere in between site seeing then this is ideal but if your are seeking something a bit more luxurious i would not reccomend this. Bed was quite hard also.

The breakfast was good and staff seemed friendly and happy to help on reception and had no problem with us checking in quite early.

The location of the milani is very good, a two minute walk from Termini station where most coaches from either airport go to....and only a 10-15 minute walk from a lot of the sites.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    300
    143
    45
    31
See reviews for
140
258
49
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

My wife and I stayed in room 210.. LHS of reception-- it was just like in the photos . loved the room , would have been nice to have more English channels on the tv.. Had my own WiFi , as you can not always expect to get good wifi for free. there are a couple of cheap WiFi ,around the corner. Great location , near the Termi station. Staff were always friendy and courteous, especially the barman , had plenty of drinks at the bar , before we would go out to dinner--- Breakfast was ok . If we wanted a bigger breakfast there were plenty of other places nearby. Great Dinner restaurants , the Regina around the corner ... best homemade lasagne. Wife loved it

What we found the most of the staff and manager Mr Marrella, was their extreme honesty ..as i left my wallet in my bathroom on the day of departure with over $1600 Australian dollars in value .When i rang the hotel from the otherside of customs at the airport, the hotel staff alerted me to finding it in my room . The manager Mr Marrella did jump thru hoops and spent a lot of his time to help me organise an electronic transfer back to Melbourne Australia . I got my money and he posted my wallets back to me ..It is such a pleasure to recommend this hotel ..and the staff for their efforts.. would stay there again .

Room Tip: All the Rooms on the left hand side of receptionon the 2nd floor are great .the rooms on the RHS of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Rooms are bare, not as they appear in the photos. You had to pay for wireless internet - but the internet was so slow it was a joke. Using the internet in the lobby was equally slow.

Breakfast was decent.

The only good thing about this hotel is its location near to Termini.

I definitely would not stay in this hotel again, I'm very sure you could find better hotels for the same price.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brandoncwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

The rooms don't look like what they do on the photos.. I wasn't happy at all. Too many hidden costs. The buffet breakfast was tasteless and terrible. This is more like a cheap and nasty MOTEL not hotel. We were hit with a massive bill at the end. We were that disappointed we stayed somewhere else for a few nights... Avoid this place. The only thing going for it, it is 1 street from train station

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikeybods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

We booked our stay at the Milani for 4 nights at the start of our stay, then 2 more at the end. The biggest attraction was that it was literally right around the corner from the Termini, which was great for catching cabs or the Metro and made it easy to jump the train back to the airport. The breakfast included in our stay was good and had a lot to offer. The room we had was very basic and served our purposes. We were able to walk to the tourist sites (Colosseum, Forum, Pantheon, Trevi Fountain). The Colosseum was the furthest away and took about 20 minutes to get to on foot.

As for the bad. The staff wasn't terribly welcoming, and when we asked for information (a good money exchange place, for example), we got blank stares and then a "how should I know?" type of response. On arrival, they asked to see our passports, which is normal. They then told us that they'd be "ready in a half an hour." When they still weren't ready 30 minutes later, my husband put his foot down and told them we'd be more than happy to wait right there until they were finished with them. We didn't necessarily think there was anything questionable going on, but having our most important form of ID anywhere besides in our possession was a little daunting. And after traveling for almost 20 hours, we just wanted to get some sleep.

The other oddity was that we were told on day 3 that we were supposed to be turning our key in to the front desk each time we left so housecleaning could get into our room, and they were quite annoyed with us that we hadn't been. The woman at the desk told us it was explained very clearly in our room, but we looked everywhere and were't able to find any such information. We found it a bit strange that there was only one key per room, but seeing as we were leaving the next day, we weren't too bothered by it.

When we returned to the Milani for the last two nights of our stay, we were put in Hotel Georgi across the street, which is owned by the same people. It was much nicer than the Milani, and we had a balcony attached to our room, which was nice after being out all day. The front desk staff was much more welcoming. If we return to Rome, we'd certainly stay there again, as long as we could ensure we wouldn't be shipped over the the Milani.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nims22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Windrose Hotel
Windrose Hotel
#340 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Corot
Hotel Corot
#564 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Esquilino
Yes Hotel
Yes Hotel
#152 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Rimini
Hotel Rimini
#384 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giorgi
Hotel Giorgi
#1,005 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Madison
Hotel Madison
#753 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milani Hotel

Property: Milani Hotel
Address: Via Magenta 12, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#146 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Milani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Milani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Milani Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing