We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really enjoyed Hotel Santa Maria”
Review of Hotel Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santa Maria
Ranked #11 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Rick Steves of PBS fame recommended this b&b and we really enjoyed it. In fact we are staying there again on our last day in Italy before we fly home. We were lucky that they were able to accommodate us for 1 weekend night. The rooms are spacious and the beds are very comfortable. Plenty of heat and hot water. The garden outside the rooms has lovely orange trees. Their "happy hour" is very nice with lots of delicious little noshes like foccacia with potatoes and olive oil and olives and sun dried tomatoes and meats and cheeses. We were told that the limoncello was made by one of the worker's moms. And it was quite yummy. The rooms are very secure and feel safe. It's in the very young hip neighborhood of Trastevere which is always bustling especially at night. But Santa Maria had no noise issues at all. Lots of shops and restaurants in the neighborhood and an easy 10 minute walk to The Pantheon and other historic sights. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chefamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,950)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Santa Maria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,441 - 1,445 of 2,950 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2012

We loved this hotel. It is in a nice quiet location, just across the river, a great place to explore from. We booked the largest family room and we loved it. The size was perfect. Breakfast was very good. Also, parking onsite was ideal. Now the downsides, although they are few and not so bad that we wouldn't stay again, but why I didn't give this place 5 stars. First the beds are awful, way too hard and almost like cardboard. The first night was miserable, but we got used to it after that. The serving staff in the breakfast area were inattentive. The bikes, although a great idea, are only good for teenagers and adults. It would be nice if the hotel had at least 2 kid bikes. There is a bike trail at the river's edge and we were looking forward to biking there as a family, but we couldn't due to the lack of kid bikes.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Familyof4_aaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My wife and I had stayed here several years ago in a Junior Suite and I was quite disappointed.
The room was dark and the bathroom (by American standards) tiny. When were not able to book a different hotel this trip and had to stay at the Santa Maria again I was dubious.
I was pleasantly surprised this stay. We had room number 15 and it was wonderful. The size was perfect and the bathroom was large and modern.
Whereas last stay I thought the room was overpriced this time it felt like a good value. We paid 160 Euros a night. The breakfast is diverse and satisfying.
The trees laden with oranges and lemons adds to the romantic ambiance.
I'd love to stay here when the weather would permit enjoyment of the outside spaces.

Room Tip: I'd book room number 15 again.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

we had a fabulous stay in Hotel Santa Maria in January for a 5 day escape without our kids. couldn't fault the service. Nothing was too much trouble. Great location and an easy walk across the bridge into Rome's centre. We used the bikes on 2 days and cycled to Villa Borghese and around the cobbled streets. Next time in Rome we would not hesitate to stay at Hotel Santa Maria. Also recommend the hassle free, prompt airport pickup and drop off.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amanda e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I don't know who is writing these positive reviews. The staff?

The place is terrible:

-Loud (I can hear the neighbors all night long)
-Filthy (I wouldn't let a dog sleep on the bedspread / linens -- nasty!)
-Cold (Yes, it got cold here in February and the heat is inadequate)
-Height (If you are over 5'5, you won't be able to stand up in the shower, or the 2nd floor where the bed is)
-Rude (Staff is inhospitable, at best; rude, on average)

This place is a dump and not worth the money they are charging. Do your family a favor and stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Don't book here... period.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSantaMariaRome, Owner at Hotel Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Dear Mr. Chris C (Rome, Italy ??)
Your reservation was probably provided for the assignment of one of our “Mansard rooms”, that are advertised on our website, detailed described in their particular characteristics, such as the sloping roof, and illustrated with faithful photos .. However, always trying to come meet our guests preferences, we often give the opportunity, even after arrival, to change room.
I think I remember your problem with the heating: you settled the unit mistakenly on cold air and I being personally intervened to reset the system the day after.
Maybe because you felt dissatisfied with the room allocation, you wrote that the bedspread and sheets were “filthy”.
I am sorry but this is really impossible! The sheets are changed every 2 days and bedspreads are Dry Cleaning constantly.
We have four persons taking care of our rooms and common spaces every day, with their professionalism and experience since 10 years and, has always been a source of pride for our hotel.
When you write that someone of the staff of the Reception was “ rude and inhospitable”, for me it is hard to believe that Antonio or Arianna or Orchidea or Chiara may have been rude with one of our guests…I've known them for many years and I can assure their experience and professionalism.
In any case I really apologize if their behavior, for sure occasionally, was not friendly.
An event so rare to be considered an exception !
I remind you that the many enthusiastic comments in favor of the qualities of the Hotel and the Staff , are sincere and this is visible not only on Tripadvisor but also in many other “Web Sites” and “Travel Guides”, even on our "Guest’s Book" which is at disposition for our Guests every day at the Reception: they are full of positive comments , like “Bellissimo “, “Absolute marvelous “ , “ I am sad to leave…”, “Best staff and best breakfast since we are in Italy ”…
They also call us “ Oasis of peaceful” in many of our reviews.!
I can not believe your words when you say "This place is a dump…"
Your mood had been altered by the malfunction of the heater, due to your incorrect programming of the system heat / cool, or maybe by your dissatisfaction with the room allocation.It would have been enough to ask to change room ... we would have been willing to do so
Apart from the many enthusiastic comments we receive constantly I remind you that since 2003 the Hotel Santa Maria was always among the first in the ranking of Tripadvisor... there must be a reason?
Sinceraly
Paolo Vetere – Hotel Santa Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,806 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,267 in Rome
3,598 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#14 of 1,267 in Rome
618 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,267 in Rome
2,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Maria

Address: Vicolo del Piede 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rome
#4 Business Hotel in Rome
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: €115 - €360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santa Maria is an Hotel de Charme located in a 16th century cloister completely renovated in the year 2000 maintaining the flavour of the original construction. It makes a very pleasant base in a romantic and relaxing ambience. The hotel is located in an historical area of central Rome in the heart of one of the most ancient and characteristic neighbourhoods of the city, Trastevere. Our guests can easily walk from the Hotel to the historical and archaeological beauties of the city. It is also possible to drive to the hotel with the parking available at the private Garage next to the Hotel. The Hotel rooms, connected by a monastic portico, face onto an ample and silent garden of orange-trees, flowers and Mediterranean plants, or onto our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines... perfect settings to enjoy your breakfast in the warm and sunny roman days , or just for relaxing after a day of sightseeing The Hotel has a number of bicycles should you wish to cycle through the alleys of ancient Rome. The Hotel is Internet connected by secured Wireless Lan. You can comfortably use your PC where you like: at the lounge Bar, in the garden or in your room. If you are travelling without your PC, a computer with free Internet connection is at your disposal in the Living Room. You can relax in the romantic atmosphere of our bar or our garden with a glass of excellent wine, chosen from the selection of refined Italian wines stocked in our Cellar (from Vermentino di Gallura to Brunello di Montalcino), before you venture out into the narrow streets of Trastevere in search of a good trattoria or restaurant. After site-seeing in the ' Eternal City ' , our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines, with lounge chairs facing the sun, awaits you for relaxation in an ambience of refined comfort. You may refer to our Staff regarding any problems, desires, or needs you may have. Tiziana, Arianna, Chiara, Paola, Malina, Pasquale and Alessandro will always be ready and available to assist you to the best of their ability. Their responses will be accompanied voluntarily by a friendly smile. Kind guest, you will be our welcome friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel
Santa Maria Rome
Hotel Santa Maria Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing