We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,252)
Filter reviews
1,252 results
Traveller rating
943
240
44
15
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
943
240
44
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aventine hill circus maximus testaccio area beautiful hotel circo massimo jacuzzi bath orange trees four poster bed minute walk our honeymoon quiet area central rome pastries beautiful room cold meats around the corner roman forum
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 1,252 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2018

We celebrated our wedding anniversary during our recent trip to Italy, and could not have chosen a better hotel than Hotel San Anselmo. Situated on the peaceful Aventine Hill, the hotel is an oasis of peace and tranquility in Rome. All the staff we encountered were absolutely charming, and intent on making our stay as pleasant as possible. Our room was super comfortable, with a wonderful bath and shower, and luxurious toiletries. Breakfast was varied and plentiful, with the best scrambled eggs we've ever tasted....compliments to the kitchen! On our first evening we were surprised and delighted to be presented with complimentary Prosecco and snacks,brought to our room because the hotel had heard we were celebrating our anniversary while we were there. It is little touches like this that make Hotel San Anselmo such a special place, and one we very much look forward to returning to. Thankyou so much for a lovely and very special anniversary stay.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heathersmile24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that your stay at our hotel San Anselmo was good and have enjoyed the roman style, the service and the courtesy of our staff!

We will be glad to host you again for another pleasant trip in this romantic city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

This hotel has a WOW factor. The rooms are all decorated differently and the two we had were just stunning. The room decor is magnificent and the bathrooms are equally magnificent. The location is also very good and not that far from the centre at all. Breakfast was excellent and well varied. The quietness at night is amazing and the bed comfort was superb. I can't say enough about this Hotel it was the highlight of a long trip and was perfect. I will be staying here again next time I'm in Rome. Free WiFi!

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally good!
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Dear Guest,

thank you for your nice review on Tripadvisor and for having shared.!
Thank you for appreciating our lighting design, the room decor, the atmosphere and the position.
Hoping to have you again as our Guest in our “House”.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

Hotel San Anselmo was amazing hotel with courteous, helpful, and polite staff.The accommodations were clean and modern. We arrived early in the morning, so what sold us was when the staff let us use the lobby bathroom and shower while we waited for our room. There was also turn down service which was an unexpected surprise. We were especially impressed with the android device that came complimentary with each room. It was an android phone with free internet and calling for the duration of our stay. The breakfast was buffet style and plentiful. The location is PERFECT. If you want to go a bit further out I recommend downloading the app OBike, whenever you see a yellow bike parked, you scan the barcode and the bike is yours!

My boyfriend and I stayed here and we enjoyed every minute of it.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Dear Guest,
What a fabulous review!
Thank you so much for your beautiful and touching words and for rewarding us with your praise and extremely generous comments!

We looking forward to the next visit in the eternal city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

A picturesque hotel in a quiet area only 10 minutes walk from the Circus Maximus. This is a lovely hotel with nice rooms and bathrooms, very helpful staff and a pretty good breakfast spread for Italy. Highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank Trousers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review about our property! We are glad you enjoyed your stay in the hotel San Anselmo and that you liked the rooms, the breakfast. Our Hotel is like an "Oasis" so charming and relaxing after a busy day in the city.
We really hope you could come back to visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

1- The hotel is gorgeous. The room s at every comfortable with anything you need. Breakfast is excellent and they have sweets, pepperoni, eggs..... My room had a balcony as well which I posted the pictures. The dinning room , decoration ...everything was perfect. It is really a true gem.

2- No problem with WiFi

2- Location wise it is about 10 minutes walk from Circo Massimo metro. So you need to walk a little bit, on the other side it is really close to Circo Massimo, Botanic garden and Trastevere where you can find a good place and ambiance for having meal.

3- Service is very good.

basically if you don't mind to walk and not to be to close to the city center and pay a bit more then I definitely suggest to stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Balcony, Mine was 830
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sinclair-QL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Dear Guest,

thank you so much for choosing our San Anselmo for your roman holiday and we are so glad that you had a wonderful experiece with us.!!
We really hope to host you again for another pleasant trip in the eternal city.!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews