We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Kept Secret in Rome!”
Review of Hotel San Carlo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel San Carlo
Ranked #174 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I just got back from Rome where I checked out of the Marriott to move into The San Carlo for a week altogether. On our first night in Rome we went walking around the Spanish Steps area and found the San Carlo. I went inside and asked the front desk lady if they could show me a room. I went up and found the CLEANEST most charming room with a great view to Via delle Carrozze, and immediately switched to The San Carlo. The rate includes free WiFi and breakfast on the charming 4th floor terrace, surrounded by pink, white, and red perennials around the terrace. The breakfast includes fresh fruits, assorted breads, cheeses, ham, fresh juices, all served by a great staff who made me every morning the best double expresso cappuccino! Alberto, Rossana and Victoria made our stay special with their great recommendations to nearby restaurants and bars. This will be my hotel in Rome from now on.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HighHeelsTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (811)
There are newer reviews for Hotel San Carlo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

273 - 277 of 811 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2012

This is a very central, clean hotel, smack bang in the middle of Rome's best shopping area, but on a quiet side street where there is little traffic or noise after 7pm. I was travelling with my parents (aged 69/70) and we took a triple room, which was infact, two seperate rooms and a shared bathroom. We were in room number 10 on the first floor looking into the internal couryard. We found the rooms to be warm and cosy for May (they may well be hot in July/August).

This was my parents first trip to Rome and the location and hotel could not have been more perfect. It was right near the Spanish steps and less than ten minutes up the hill to the Borghese Gardens. We walked up there early one morning for the most spectacular view over Rome.

We did not realise just how small Rome actual is, and walked everywhere from the hotel within 30min. It is certainly not the cheapest place to eat, so I suggest you explore other areas for dining and take a taxi back. At 11pm one evening it took only 6min to get from the Trastevere area back to the hotel by taxi. Cost Eur 8.50.

One evening we decided to buy a bottle of wine and some anitpasta and Rosa at the front desk was kind enough to turn on the lights on the breakfast terrace for us to use for a couple of hours.

We used the hotel recommended car transfer to and from the airport. At Euro 52 it is more expensive than a taxi, but we knew it was safe and reliable...and Giani the driver is most amusing.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone whose budget is in the mid-range, and who are not looking for a 5-star hotel, but a very, very comfortable three-star that is clean, comfortable and well maintained.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simone W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Whenever we travel to Rome we stay at the Hotel San Carlo. It is quiet, clean, friendly, affordable and, most importantly, right in the heart of where one wants to be when in Rome - within easy walking distance of sites, museums and restaurants. We love Rome and we love it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giulietta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

San carlo Hotel in Rome was great. i spent few nights there and i really like it. Easy to access the taxi can drop infront of the hotel, lovely staff, super clean, and the best location ever. Is located in the heart of rome near all the fashion stores and resturant. room as nice and pepole really good. i had a great time. For sure I will go back there

Room Tip: all rooms are super confortable and nice
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veronica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

You can't drive up to the front of the hotel, so be prepared to drag your bags a block or more down the cobblestone roads. Rooms are small, which was expected, but are poorly painted and badly marked up. The bathroom has definite odor and is so small and cluttered that it is hard to move in. The hotel's close proximity to the Spanish steps and Piazza del Popolo are it's only redeeming features.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AutumnWonders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
#60 of 1,267 in Rome
396 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#117 of 1,267 in Rome
858 reviews
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#291 of 1,267 in Rome
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#105 of 1,267 in Rome
1,207 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Carlo

Address: Via delle Carrozze 92-93, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#101 Family Hotel in Rome
#125 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#208 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: €114 - €257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel San Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Carlo Hotel
San Carlo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing