We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Place to Stay in Rome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sonya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Sonya
Ranked #243 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to Stay in Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We spent 12 nights here, prior to boarding a transatlantic cruise. We were a bit anxious due to some of the reviews we read. It's hard to imagine the reviewers stayed at the same hotel. The staff could not have been friendlier nor more accommodating. Rana, the night desk clerk, greeted us warmly upon arrival and reminded us he was behind the e-mails we exchanged during the reservation process. Ivan, the day desk manager, went to great lengths to help us get our Papal Audience appointment (requires an outgoing and return fax), and took care of a fax we needed to send to the States, all at no charge! The room was comfortable (and normal sized for Europe, small by US standards), and the comfortable and spacious bathroom was recently refurbished in modern European style. The breakfast was superb with great service from the wait staff. Unlimited cappuccinos are included! The complimentary WiFi service worked well, although it was annoying to have to get a new sign-on from the front desk every six hours. Ask for a 24 hour sign-on; one clerk was able to do that for us.

This was an honest three star hotel in a great location (across the street from the opera house). It is not luxurious, but it's comfortable and a great value. We will definitely stay here again when next in Rome.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RenoRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSonya, Owner at Hotel Sonya, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear RenoRuss
Thank You for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Hotel Sonya and for your recommendation.
We are very glad to hear such a nice words about locations and room, .
It will be a real pleasure for us to host you in our hotel again.
With kind regards,

Basilio Nicoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    568
    182
    50
    37
See reviews for
338
625
63
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

stayed for 3 days, hotel spotless and very central to get to everything. staff are outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antobelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSonya, Owner at Hotel Sonya, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Antobelli -

Just tell you thank you very much for your comments so positive about our location and Staff. The customer satisfaction is our success.

Thanks again and we are glad that you spent a great stay with us.

Hope to see you soon.

Best regards.

Basilio Nicoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed end of January and again in February. What a great hotel. The breakfast was exceptional. You save at least 15 euro a day by eating at the hotel. The distance to the Metro is close and the termini is close as well. If the weather is good just walk to the hotel and save some money. Rooms were nice and comfortable.

Room Tip: I would ask to be on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank binniesweets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSonya, Owner at Hotel Sonya, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Binniesweets -

The compliments about the Hotel Sonya are greatly appreciated. I am very happy you had a nice stay with us.

We work diligently to offer the best service and a great stay for each guest. It is nice to know when this succeeded.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking time to write a wonderful review. We look forward to your return.

Kind regards,

Basilio Nicoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

The Hotel Sonya is really excellent. The room was of a good size and clean. The bed comfortable and the shower great. The staff were very helpful. Breakfast was excellent.

Only a 10 minute walk from Termini station and the metro.

We will be staying here next time we're in Rome.

Overall an excellent hotel for an amazing price.

Only negative was the lack of a full length mirror in the room - not a major issue but would have been nice.

As this is the only negative it shows how great the hotel is!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSonya, Owner at Hotel Sonya, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Gareth B

Your compliments of the Hotel Sonya are greatly appreciated.

We work diligently to offer the best service and a great stay for each guest. It is nice to know when this succeeded.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking time to write a wonderful review. We look forward to your return

Best regards

Basilio Nicoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

I had a single room overlooking the plaza and Opera House for my three days in Rome. The location was very good since I had arrived via the nearby train station. It is also quite easy to get to the main attractions from the hotel and I found the staff very helpful. It is worth mentioning that the same group operates the Sonya Suites nearby and due to a mix-up I spent my first night there. I must admit that the Suites are a step-up from the Sonya but I was pleased with my accomodations during my stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrktwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSonya, Owner at Hotel Sonya, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Mrktwise -

We appreciated very much again for taking the time to inform your valuable thoughts and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again at the Hotel Sonya.

Faithfully yours,

Basilio Nicoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#199 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#129 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Opera Roma
Hotel Opera Roma
#426 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#126 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#183 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonya

Property: Hotel Sonya
Address: Via del Viminale 58, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#169 Family Hotel in Rome
#273 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonya 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sonya is in a quiet area of central Rome, in front of the Opera House and 55 yards from the Viminale Palace. Rooms offer free internet and free Sky satellite TV. Rooms at the Sonya Hotel are air-conditioned and feature a private bathroom and a tea/coffee maker. Breakfast includes a variety of breads and pastries, cold cuts, fried eggs and fresh fruit. The Sonya is a 2-minute walk from Termini Train Station. Free maps of the city are available at the front desk with ticket-booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sonya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonya Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing