We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location; a polite, clean and reasonable experience.”
Review of Hotel Viminale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Viminale
Ranked #885 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good location; a polite, clean and reasonable experience.”
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We stayed for four nights in two rooms with our 6 & 8 year olds. It was absolutely adequate for our needs and the location for us was perfect. We walked to most things from here, found very nice, good value restaurants for evenings out and were close to the metro and buses when we needed them. We found the hotel service polite; rooms clean and functional and breakfast good. Okay with kids but not overtly kid friendly. As my 8 year old summed it up 'not amazing but good'.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lfretters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    196
    127
    83
    61
See reviews for
84
195
38
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucuresti
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I spent 4 days in this hotel. Is a hotel well positioned.Personally all the objectives we have visited on foot, including the Vatican.

The room is small, but has all the necessary:bathroom, shower, bidet, tv, hot water.
Breakfast is varied and very good.Internet in the room is ok.

Negative :the smell of the room and bathroom is old,the atmosphere of the dining room (recommend a musical background ),staff not very friendly

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CristinaBucuresti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

My husband and I stayed 5 nights at this hotel after coming off of a Collette tour. When we first arrived we were told we had a room on the lower level of the hotel with a large private patio garden. While true there was a large private patio, the room was the worst I have ever seen in Europe. The smell of mould hit you as soon as you stepped off the elevator and got alot worse when you entered the room.

The room itself was small with only room for one bedside table as the bed was pushed up against the wall. The bath room was nasty and had black mould under the rim of the sink - yuck! They had stuck a battery operated spray air freshener to the wall to try to cover up some of the stick but the batteries had long since died. We aired out the room for 2 hours without sucess and then tried the air conditioner which only made things worse.

For the first time in history we went up and requested another room. We were told they were booked and we could not move until the next day. The front desk staff was not surpised, I suspect they get complaints about this room all the time. When booking make sure you are given a room on the first floor or higher. Do not accept a room in the "basement". Our room number was 96, if your room number starts with a "9" find a new hotel.

The next day we were moved to the second floor to a small but mould-free room without a balcony. Had I been given this room off of the start my review would be different...but I wasn't.

There is a nice public patio on both the 4th and 5th floor and the breakfast was average. You are able to eat your breakfast on the patio or indoors which was nice. On our last morning there I was unable to get any water pressure in the shower, not even a dribble. Not sure why, didn't have time to ask as we were catching a flight.

The location is good about a 10 minute walk to the colosseum and 20 minutes to the spanish steps and trevi fountain. There are in room safes and they offer a private shuttle to the airport for $45 Euro.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not get room 95 or 96.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank getoutthere_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

The Hotel was nicely located. The staff was not very friendly! The rooms very extremely small and the air conditioned only worked in 1 of the 2 rooms we booked. We ended up leaving the hotel 3 days early to find something more suitable. A disappointment.

Room Tip: This was the smallest room I have every seen in my life!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djsolomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

The location was very good, within a 10 min walk from the train station, and walking distance from colloseum.
The rooms where clean and not so big. Staff was very friendly and the breakfast was nothing special, but good enough.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ballyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Gallia
Hotel Gallia
#697 of 1,256 in Rome
369 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Torino
Hotel Torino
#1,060 of 1,256 in Rome
878 reviews
Monti
Viminale View Hotel
Viminale View Hotel
#373 of 1,256 in Rome
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi
Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi
#632 of 1,256 in Rome
426 reviews
Monti
Hotel Edera
Hotel Edera
#767 of 1,256 in Rome
389 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Eliseo
Hotel Eliseo
#624 of 1,256 in Rome
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viminale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viminale

Property: Hotel Viminale
Address: Via Cesare Balbo 31, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#331 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viminale 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Viminale is located in a central and convenient location, just 700 meters from Termini Station. It is at 10-minute walk from the Coliseum and has a roof garden with panoramic views of Rome. Housed in a historic building, Viminale's rooms have classic décor and modern amenities such as a minibar, TV and air conditioning. A continental breakfast is served every morning from 7 am to 10 am in the lounge or out in the courtyard. Thanks to the proximity to Termini Station, served by both metro lines, you can easily reach any area in Rome. Rione Monti is a great choice for travelers interested in Roman remains, food and tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Viminale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viminale Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing