We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Surprise!!!!”
Review of Hotel Dei Consoli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Dei Consoli
Ranked #498 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 27 April 2017

This a Great little hotel. 4 star and a 2 minute walk from the Vatican. Surprisingly larger than you would imagine, clean, helpful staff, and a Great breakfast!!! Great value for money!!!!

We were very pleased!!

Room Tip: Our view was of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gilda442u2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-dei-Consoli, General Manager at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Gilda,
thank you so much for your genuine review.
I am so satisfied you had a great stay with us; it is a pleasure to receive recognition for our effords to make our clients' stay enjoyable.
I do look forward to having you again with us in the future.
With the kindest regards,
Luigi Pirrò

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (808)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 808 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2017

Excellent hotel, located 10 minute walk from Vatican City. Staff were all brilliant and knowledgeable. No onsite restaurant, but they recommended a restaurant 5 minutes from the hotel which offered very good reasonable food.

Very quiet on an evening. Rooftop bar would be good in summer, however was a little cold on an April Evening,.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-dei-Consoli, General Manager at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Greg,
thank you for your review and recommendation of Hotel dei Consoli to other travelers.
it is a pleasure to read you had an excellent stay and enjoyed location, staff and rooftop.
Hope you will be able to visit again in summertime to fully enjoy our terrace at night.
It would be my pleasure to have a drink with you.
With the kindest regards,
Luigi pirrò

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

We visited Rome for our friends 70th birthday. We chose this hotel as it was within walking distance from the Vatican. On arrival the guy on reception was polite and pleasant.
As previous reviews the rooms were rather small, double bed, wardrobe, chest of draws with the tele on. There was really no room to be able to put the suitcase down or put ur toiletries/make-up.
The bathroom was clean and tidy, the shower could do with updating but ok.
The dining room was on the terrace which I'm sure would be beautiful in the sun. The floors were very uneven, would be difficult if u had a walking stick or unsteady on ur feet. The coffee and orange juice were nice but that was it. The breakfast was less than adequate in my opinion.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Heskey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-dei-Consoli, General Manager at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Heskey,
thank you for your review of Hotel dei Consoli.
I am happy you are quite satisfied with your stay because of hotel position, staff politeness and the terrace. Considering your kind consideration, we have improved the breakfast since your stay on April 2017.
Kind regards,
luigi pirrò

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

On arrival last night for a room booked in December we were sent to another room four blocks away. I booked a hotel with a roof terrace and now I am staying in a hotel with nothing. As described but other writers the man on reception is rude and unhelpful - the receptionist at where we have ended up was at least helpful. The bathroom is awful with a shower so tiny that when you shut the door your nose presses on the wall. There is mould on the tiles and ceiling. This is substandard to what was advertised. Can't wait to go home.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mandy_Main
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-dei-Consoli, General Manager at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Mandy,
I am sorry you have been unsatisfied about your stay.
Regarding the fact you say "you were sent to another room four blocks away" I want to make clear that in our website the Dependance is well described as a indipendent location from main building. I am sorry if you booked the dependance while thinking of booking the main hotel. As you have been told during your stay, each client at Dependance is however very welcome to hotel rooftop for breakfast, for a drink or just to sit and read or just relax.
With kind regards,
Luigi Pirrò

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

A very pleasant hotel. Well situated and welcoming. Comfortable beds in cosy rooms. Highlight was breakfast on the terrace. Good choice and pleasant surroundings. I would recommend to anyone wanting to stay in the vicinity of the Vatican.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Conqueror17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-dei-Consoli, General Manager at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Sir,
thank you for your review and recommendation of Hotel dei Consoli to other travellers.
I am satisfied you had a pleasant stay at our "lovely little hotel" and I look forward to having you again with us in the future.
Kind regards,
Luigi Pirrò

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Orange Hotel
Orange Hotel
#662 of 1,273 in Rome
525 reviews
Prati
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
#288 of 1,273 in Rome
606 reviews
Prati
Atlante Garden Hotel
Atlante Garden Hotel
#411 of 1,273 in Rome
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Prati
Hotel Prati
#513 of 1,273 in Rome
237 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#42 of 1,273 in Rome
778 reviews
Prati
Tango Hotel
Tango Hotel
#73 of 1,273 in Rome
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dei Consoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Consoli

Address: Via Varrone 2D | Angolo Via Cola di Rienzo, 00193 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#257 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#303 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: €50 - €185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dei Consoli 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk from the Vatican and the Sistine Chapel, Hotel dei Consoli opened in 2000 is a luxury hotel in rome, and offers guests excellent hospitality in an atmosphere of elegance and imperial splendor.Hotel dei Consoli is located in via Varrone, near the Vatican with its majestic piazza and church, in a sumptuous building fully refurbished in the Empire style. The interior stucco work is by the Neopolitan master craftsmen who were responsible for the decoration of the famous Reggia di Caserta near Naples. The Hotel occupies three storeys, respectively designated the storeys of the Mappamondi (maps of the world), Fiori (flowers) and Battaglie (battles). On the roof garden and terrace you can enjoy breakfast while admiring the famous dome of St Peter's. The peaceful atmosphere is especially welcomed by single guests looking for rest and comfort in total seclusion. Furnishings in warm colours and careful soundproofing make the hotel an oasis of refinement and peace right in the heart of the Eternal City. With its elegant atmosphere, fully-qualified staff and all the very latest technology, Hotel dei Consoli is sure to make your visit to Rome an unforgettable experience."Since 2006 the Hotel dei Consoli has the best customer reviews on Trip Advisor: friendliest and best staff, great location, very clean, home away from home" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Dei Consoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Consoli Rome
Dei Consoli Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing