We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Main Train Station - Friendly Hotel”
Review of Astoria Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Astoria Garden
Ranked #384 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 8 May 2017

I stayed here once 9 years ago and it was the same positive experience. The room was very small (standard for Europe) and maybe not the most comfortable, but after walking 12 miles around Rome... I still slept like the dead.

Friendly staff and good wifi. This was about a 10 minute walk about 6 blocks from the main train station. The hotel is on a nice quiet side street and close to some nice restaurants. The complimentary breakfast was just meh, but they had an espresso machine so that makes up for it.

Room Tip: quieter if you face the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WyndMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 687 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

When visiting Rome with family while on vacation, we stayed at the Astoria Gardens hotel.
When we entered, we found that the lobby area was cute and quaint. After receiving our room keys we proceeded upstairs to our rooms. The rooms are small and appeared as if they had not been updated since 1965. The walls in one of the rooms appeared to have water stains all over the wallpaper and the carpet was in desperate need of a change out. The bed was about 2 feet off the floor and hard as a rock and the room had no A.C.
We initially had problems with the Television working properly, and it took the staff 2 days after notifying them, for them to send someone up. The front desk staff at night was rude and questioned me like I didn't know how to work television.
There was a nice balcony door which opened up to a nice courtyard below.
The complementary breakfast was hardly edible with cold cuts, and cheese, scrambled eggs with bits of eggs that were burnt in it. The coffee and juice was so watered down, it hardly had any flavor.
The only real this received 2 stars is for the cleanliness of the room and the bathroom.
Do yourself a huge favor and stay elsewhere!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank philco214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

Stayed here 4 days last June. Place was extremely clean. Staff was very polite and helpful. Explained to us how and which public transportation was best for what we needed and when. Termini, Colosseum, city center, shops and most anything else is all within walking distance. We took a bus from termini to the Vatican and spent the day walking our way back. At the end of our long day, we took our drinks from the bar out to the patio. The very nice older gentleman that was the barkeep didn't speak any English, but that didn't stop us from discussing a few things from our day with him. He was also very attentive and polite. One of our favorite people. Rooms were clean, large, comfortable, and quiet. I will recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jodirose4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

I had a room with a view to an amazing garden with oranges dropping from the trees
a little touch of heaven in a very busy City. Breakfast was great no complains had a very good choice my self and my family always had a good breakfast followed by coffee in the garden to plan are day. Rooms very good size for Rome bed a little hard but got used to it.
Staff friendly, warm, always smiling and very helpful could not fault this hotel. next time in Rome would defo book this hotel.

Room Tip: Chose a room with view to the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Just returned from our 5 day stay at this hotel.
Reception staff very friendly and helpful hotel is spotlessly clean. Room was ok but the bed was like sleeping on concrete very hard and ucomfortable. Breakfast was a bit basic same thing everyday. The General manager/ owner is a very pompous man didn't care about guests comfort just got the hump because I moved one of the garden chairs silly little man.overall a good base for visiting Rome but it's place to stay for 2_3 days not 5

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 362Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Select Garden
Hotel Select Garden
#528 of 1,271 in Rome
317 reviews
Esquilino
XX Settembre
XX Settembre
#200 of 1,271 in Rome
734 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Andreotti
Hotel Andreotti
#288 of 1,271 in Rome
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Crosti Hotel
Crosti Hotel
#181 of 1,271 in Rome
884 reviews
Esquilino
Piemonte Hotel
Piemonte Hotel
#428 of 1,271 in Rome
820 reviews
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#219 of 1,271 in Rome
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Garden

Address: Via Vittorio Bachelet 8-10, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#201 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: €51 - €141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Astoria Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old England style house with modern comforts and amenities, breakfast room and bar; situated near Piazza Repubblica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Expedia, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astoria Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Garden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing