We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE...HORRID”
Review of Lirico Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lirico Hotel
Ranked #221 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE...HORRID”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

This has to be the WORST hotel I have ever stayed in. First you have to climb very steep stairs with your luggage to even get into the hotel. Then, you have to step down to get in the room, step up to go to the bathroom. The room was very dark and like a dungeon.The room has no dressers, nor drawers. You need to insert your keycard to turn on the lights. If your partner goes outside, with the card, you sit in the dark until they reinsert the card. There are no washcloths nor kleenex. There is one little shelf in the bathroom to put toiletries, the rest you have to put on the floor. When I asked how to operate the safe, I was told there was a charge of 1.5 euros a day for the safe. When I asked for some ice, I was given a baggie with 12 individually encased ice cubes which I had to cut out with scissors. The rest laid on the glass top table to melt since I was given no container to put them in. I like a firm bed but this bed was like a concrete slab with some padding on top. Plus, I woke covered in bites of some kind all over my arms. I requested a wake-up call one morning to go on a tour and never received it (luckily I woke up in time).

Room Tip: There are many other hotels in the area to choose from far better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lex1517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M R, Proprietario at Lirico Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Dear Customer
We regret also because of its negative comment we care that our guests will find in our hotel as well at home.
Our reception is located on the 1st floor but this is reported on all websites and we still have a porter service to carry your luggage up to the customers of their room from morning till evening
80% of our rooms overlook the square of the Theater of Opera and consider a prison seems excessive, but we can think of to boost the 'lighting in some rooms.
The key cards are better than iron keys and you can have two copies if customers request it.
The key safe is a little extra but we can not lose the keys that customers often forget to return when they leave.
With regard to the mattresses were changed recently with the top models of MyForm Dorelan just to meet the needs of customers, but it is clear that we can not satisfy all
Our wake-up is automatic, but may have happened is that the goalkeeper did forget to put your request and we apologize.
We hope to have another opportunity to host it and give a better service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    579
    162
    35
    18
See reviews for
241
565
50
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

The hotel is located near the train station however it is on the second floor. the hotel is very modern and very clean. the staff at the front desk are friendly and very helpful. The rooms are not large but very confortable. The breakfast is very good and the coffe is great, any choice you want. A word of caution ,Lots of pick pockets in the area , two where robbed when we were near the hotel. they work in teams of 2 or more. Be careful on the metro and crowded buses.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We had a wonderful stay in September 2011. The staff, and Tony at the front desk are very informative and welcoming. Although, the rooms are small, understanding also this is Rome, our room was very comfortable, cozy and quiet. The breakfast room has much to offer, and open to cater to us before its operation hours, since we needed to departure early.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Montazzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Just come back from a long weekend in Rome staying at The Lirico Hotel. Very nice Hotel, clean and comfortable. Had everything we needed, good location and good price. Breakfast was nice and enough to see you through a day of tours and exploring. Would stay here again and recommend to anyone. Organised private transfers to and from the Airport in advance which I would highly recommend. It's 50 euro each way but well worth it and saves being faced with trying to master the buses and metro as soon as you step off the plane. An over all pleasant experience with this Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loll_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Fantastic stay at the Lirico, just accross the Opera is a great hotel, the staff is great, the rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable, Tony at the front desk is wonderful. Breakfast is nice and plentiful to get you started.

Room Tip: The Termini area is convenient to visit Rome and connect to all the others city by train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreyes1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#102 of 1,257 in Rome
808 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Sonya
Hotel Sonya
#238 of 1,257 in Rome
1,476 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Sweet Home
Hotel Sweet Home
#180 of 1,257 in Rome
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#123 of 1,257 in Rome
1,285 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#139 of 1,257 in Rome
1,272 reviews
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lirico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lirico Hotel

Property: Lirico Hotel
Address: Via del Viminale, 31 | Next to the Opera House, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#204 Business Hotel in Rome
#206 Family Hotel in Rome
#213 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Lirico Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lirico is located close to Termini Railways Station, next to the Opera House - on the square overlook some our rooms. These are all air conditioned and furnished with wall fabrics, private bathroom, hairdryer, direct dial telephone, satellite TV Sky, safe and free WiFi access. Reception and Bar are open 24 hours. Is possible to organize guided tours, transfers fron/to Airport or Port, museums or restaurants reservations, rent a car/scooter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lirico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lirico Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing