We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Hotel Valadier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Valadier
Ranked #268 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This hotel is decorated with lots of marble and lacquer. One can tell that back in maybe the 80s or 90s this was THE place. Still its a great location from which to explore Rome. The staff is extremely friendly and hardworking. The ladies that run the breakfast buffet in the morning are perfectionist, breakfast is always laid out on time and with great presentation. There is a variety to choose from for breakfast.
The hotel rooms are small but all the rooms in Italy or for that matter European hotels are small. The hotel is located one block from Piazza del Popolo, 8 minute walk to Trevi Fountain, 5 minute walk to the Spanish Steps, 15 minute walk to Victor Emmanuelle monument and a leisurely 25 minute stroll to the Colosseum. To head to the Vatican I would recommend crossing over Via del Corso over to Via di Ripetta, take that down to Ara Pacis (10minute walk), cross the bridge (Ponte Cavour), 10 minutes to Castel St. Angelo and 15 more minutes walk from Castel up to St. Peter's Basilica.
You could access all of the major sites on foot from this base. If you choose to take a cab, its about 8-10euro to the Vatican just as a guideline leaving from the hotel about 8am on a weekday. We had a corner room on the fourth floor which was bright, airy and clean.
There is piano bar downstairs where you can lounge after a day of walking and enjoy a glass of wine. During the weekends the bar does get busy.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trvl_Prncss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (991)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

393 - 397 of 991 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2011

We went for this hotel because of the reviews, big tip, stay away at all costs. There is a scammer on every Rome corner. This hotel is no different. You are greeted by a very unfriendly ironlady who doesnt really want to be there. After a mazy hike you find your room. The real issue we had with this hotel is the dishonest staff, including the night bar prices, US $15 for a beer, and US $25 for a very ordinary tasting champagne. Day prices vary considerably. Don't leave anything behind in this hotel, consider it gone!! We will never go back to this place.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TassieTravellers2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

My travel agent had suggested this hotel. It is one block from the Piazza del Popolo and in the center of everything. Metro and bus are nearby and you can walk everywhere. The rooms were beautiful. I had a corner room on the fifth floor. It was bright and airy with two balconies and a view of the Villa Borghese. The rooftop bar and restaurant were great and the lobby bar was wonderful. The staff was extremely helpful. This is a real keeper.

Room Tip: Top floor corner room (511). Great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oenophile1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We found the hotel to very clean and friendly. As everyone has said the location is excellent and this is what you are paying for. We stayed on the 5th floor and had no problems with the sound from the piano bar. The room (standard double) was possibly the smallest room we have ever stayed in europe. Just a word of warning, even if the hotel call you a taxi to the airport and say it will be fixed EUR40 reconfirm this price with the taxi driver before you get in. Our driver took us on an' extended route' to the airport and charged by the meter even though we were told it would be a fixed EUR40 after a heated discussion we paid 50. Always double check prices in Rome, we found extras 'errors' added onto most of our bills in restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

This hotel garnered top marks based on several criteria. First location. The hotel is perfectly located close to all the "sites" but more importantly near fantastic restaurants and cafes. There is always something to eat or drink nearby. Second, the decor and hotel itself. The room are exactly what you'd expect for a major European city. The classic decor and real wood shutters that open up onto the street offer old world charm. Oh and did I mention that the double/queen beds are exactly that not two beds pushed together. Finally, the hotel staff. They are friendly and helpful in every way. We had a slight problem with a colicky baby next door and the moved us immediate to a new room without any difficulty. They go out of their way to help and wont laugh at your poor attempts at Italian. LOL.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Residenza Canova Tadolini
Residenza Canova Tadolini
#329 of 1,269 in Rome
491 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#162 of 1,269 in Rome
1,593 reviews
Campo Marzio
Piranesi Palazzo Nainer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel Anahi
Hotel Anahi
#112 of 1,269 in Rome
474 reviews
Campo Marzio
Residenza di Ripetta
Residenza di Ripetta
#369 of 1,269 in Rome
642 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valadier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valadier

Address: Via della Fontanella 15, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in Rome
#149 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#207 Family Hotel in Rome
#228 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: €134 - €295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valadier 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the historic heart of Rome, behind Piazza del Popolo and at a stone's throw from Piazza di Spagna, the Hotel Valadier is a charming intimate and refined 4-star hotel. The Hotel occupies an ancient Roman palazzo and has undergone recent major refurbishment to provide all the facilities you would expect to find in a modern hotel, albeit not at the expense of its character and period features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Valadier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valadier Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing