We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,023)
Filter reviews
1,023 results
Traveller rating
317
365
207
91
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
317
365
207
91
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvia venetothe hard rock cafespanish stepstrevi fountainamerican embassybit datedthe hotel staffpiazza barberinibreakfast was includedlocation is greatpastriesbreakfast roomvilla borgheseby footmain attractionsheart of romeconcierge
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 1,023 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2018 via mobile

Really lovely hotel. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Spotlessly clean in room and dinning area. Lovely breakfast offered.
Very central and in walking distance of all the attractions. We went to watch 6 Nations and walked to and from the stadium. Fantastic bars and restaurants all be it a little pricey but you are in Rome! Wear comfy shoes tho....
My one and only criticism is there was no complimentary drinking water in the rooms. Being a 5* hotel this should be offered.
We booked through booking.com but apparently if you book direct with the hotel via their website they offer a free mini bar for the duration of your stay. Booking.com didn’t tell us that! No diet drinks in the fridge either.
Apart from that fab hotel, fab location and right next door to the Hard Rock Cafe, that was a bonus!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management_RG, Responsabile reception at Ambasciatori Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Looking forward to seeing you at your next staying in Rome
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed in the Ambasciatori for 5 nights and really enjoyed it.

The suite was hot, and even switching the temperature down in the room didn’t help, we just cracked the windows for a few hours at night to get rid of the stuffiness.

When travelling Europe I always have to remind myself to not judge the standards in comparison to Asia standards. For example, a 5 star in Europe is no comparison to a 5 Star in Bali or Thailand. The decor could be classed as ‘tired’ or ‘classic’ depending on which way you want to look at it. It was clean and that’s the main thing (apart from the staining on the sofa...).

The breakfast at the Anbasciatori is basic, but enough to start the day off well (if you love coffee opt for a cappuccino rather than the normal coffee that is served).

We had room service once, substantial hearty food.

The staff were friendly enough and the hotel is in a great location for sightseeing. I’d stay here again

Tip - no corkscrew in the room, or fridge (the fridge is a weighted room service one so you can’t put your own stuff in there). A bucket of ice costs you €8 if you order from room service without food. You can go and collect from the restaurant with no charge.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management_RG, other at Ambasciatori Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Ambasciatori Palace.
Sincerely Yours - The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

We are quite disappointed in this hotel. After reading the reviews before the trip we more or less expected the hotel to be a bit dated, but we really didn’t expect it to be shabby.
The check in was quick and pleasant, but the disappointment began once we entered the room. The room is huge compared to other bedrooms around Europe, yet all that space is wasted on nothing. A small tv (say 28 inch) that is around 4 metres form the bed, making sure one can’t see anything. A comfortable bed is the highlight of this hotel. The geating is loud and clicking, but no heating in the bathroom. The cold bathroom is unacceptable for a 2 star, let alone a luxury hotel. Let’s just sat our showers during the 4 days were unpleasant as it’s January. The water pressure was also awful and we were on the 1st floor. So cold water in a cold bathroom. Oh, and should I mention cracked tiles throughout. Dated decor and bare walls of the room added to the overall very bad impression.
We should mention the free breakfast and a very friendly receptionist (a man with a beard, a real asset to the hotel) as pluses, but can’t help but feel disappointment, especially given the price.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ivana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management_RG, Hotel Management at Ambasciatori Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

Spent 6 nights at this hotel. Great location. Can walk to Trevi fountain area. 5 min walk from Villa Borghese. Lots of restaurants near this hotel.

Although the hotel is graded at 5 star, it is old and needs to be refurbished. The first room I was given had an old bathroom with a chipped toilet seat and there was a damp smell. I asked for the room to be changed which was done with no hassle. Staff are very accommodating. Furniture in the room is old as are the built in cupboards and bathroom. The rooms and bathrooms are however clean.

Very limited breakfast options. Very far from the buffet breakfast expected at a 5 star hotel. Scrambled eggs and boiled eggs available with the buffet. If you want fried eggs, omelette or any other type of eggs, you have to pay. Breakfast items get finished and if you get there a bit late, there is none left. The quality of the breakfast items also not good. Pancakes were hard. Pastries were sub standard. No hot waffles, fresh pancakes etc. Labelling of nearly all the food items was wrong.

Croissants cannot be warmed by the toaster available. Coffee is good.

Menu for lunch and dinner very limited. I ordered the Caesar salad once for a light supper and it was not good.

Staff were always friendly which was a positive at the hotel.

This is a 4 star hotel and should be marketed as such or you land up being disappointed. For the price I was paying, I would have been happier staying at a modern 4 star hotel rather than an older style hotel like this one.

The fitness centre is a few exercise machines put into a hotel room. This was a hotel room which is now just housing some equipment. Spa services are available if you request it but it is very expensive.

Overall an ok stay but I think the price and grading does not match the service and standards expected.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
7  Thank sandrikac2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management_RG, Hotel Management at Ambasciatori Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write you review.
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

We stayed there for 3 nights in a standard bedroom with a huge bathroom .with very firm beds
The hotel ,you could imagine Ambassadors staying there, the whole hotel is full of classic Charm and traditional décor in really good taste.
Staff in particular the Concierges were so helpful & friendly.
This is a great place to stay for sightseeing as the hop on hop off bus is only down the road and some of the top 10 sights are near.
Would definitely stay there again..

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LordsofYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management_RG, Hotel Management at Ambasciatori Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

We are very pleased that you enjoyed the facilities of our hotel and we will share your compliments with all the staff.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews