We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,617)
Filter reviews
2,617 results
Traveller rating
1,157
769
431
163
97
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,157
769
431
163
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviews via veneto heavenly bed starwood points spanish steps american embassy beautiful hotel concierge desk classic hotel steam room villa borghese upgraded to a suite trevi fountain marble bathroom an upgrade five star hotel hotel restaurant room was large
Filter
Updating list...
1,516 - 1,521 of 2,617 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2013

The hotel is located well close to some of the most popular attractions like Spanish stairs, Trevi fountain etc. It is decorated like a classical grand hotel as you imagine from old movies. Our room was very spacious and elegant with all comfort. Staff members were professional and helpful. The breakfast room which serves as a restaurant in the evening was also very well decorated. Loved the chandeliers, and its atmosphere with the typical Italian waiters. We can only recommend to try the spa services too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCBart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice review and feedback!
We are very glad that you enjoyed our property and its charming atmosphere!

We look forward to have again the pleasure of your return visit!
Arrivederci a presto,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

The room was very nice. We took pictures of it, which we've only done on our honeymoon and other rooms we were really pleased with. Very typical, over the top, Rome hotel. Lot of gold. Found the lights hard to coordinate, but not a big deal. Very large space with huge windows. We loved the walk in closet and huge bathroom. The front desk service and room were great. Wifi not very fast in the lobby, but that is fairly typical. Very helpful front desk and doorman. Service in the lobby bar was pretty bad, but that was just one night. We loved being able to walk to two metro stops (La Spanga and Barberini) within 5-10 minutes. I was disappointed to be in the "fancy" area not closer to Piazza Navona, but Rome is so walkable and the metro was so close that it was just fine. We walked to the spanish steps several times and all over Rome actually. Believe it or not, we walked from the Westin to Piazza Navona more than once and we walked back to the Westin from Travestere too (past the Vatican) too. It is an expensive area, so did not do a lot of dining nearby. Had drinks at Harry's for the (3 total for the two of us and one of that was a soda) for $40!

We got a deal for 30% off.

Room Tip: The elevators took forever, so happy we were on the second floor and could easily walk up to our room. The lobby is about 1 floor up from the street, so it was easy to walk up to the second floor even when we were tired. I don't think I would have wanted to have been much higher up.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara2613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Westin Excelsior Rome!

We always look forward to guarantee the best to our all guests, so we are delighted that you enjoyed your accommodation, our service and after all the location.

We hope to have you back staying with us on your next visit to the Eternal City.

Sincerely,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

An outstanding stay in this majestic hotel in the city of Rome. From the quality service, fine dining, top notch staff, this is one of the best hotels in the city. Being SPG Gold and booking through Amex included some nice upgrades that both luxurious and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewYorkCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review!

We take great pride in providing high quality service to our valuable guests! Your nice comments represent an accomplishment for us.

Thank you once again for taking the time to post your feedback-

We look forward to welcome you back very soon!

Arrivederci
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

...The hotel is amazing, it combines old style and modern services.
Great location, friendly and professional staff, a warm welcome that made me finish the 2012 in the best way and begin the 2013 even better.
The room was excellent, I kindly recommend to try the Spa services.
The Food at the restaurant is really high quality, and the breakfast provides many choices.
The hotel is just few steps walking from Piazza di Spagna and from the Metro station that gives you access to all the best places in Rome.
...I am already thinking to book my next stay there as soon as possible...
The hotel made me enjoy Rome as I never could before.
Thank you very much expecially to the Front Office Manager and to the Reservation Manager.
Happy New Year 2013.

Room Tip: ...The suites are amazing...I kindly recommend to choose the Veneto Suite...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acirrincione76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you chose our hotel to welcome the New Year and it is great to learn that you had a memorable experience at The Westin Excelsior Rome.

We truly look forward to welcome you back very soon for another unforgettable visit!

Arrivederci!

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

The worst hotel in Rome, possibly all of Europe. The price and location were right, it is a Westin, so we went for it. What a mistake, we could have dealt with the dated decor, tired furnishings and general wear and chalked it up to old world charm, but the service was so offensive I can not imagine how poor the management of this hotel must be. With the exception of a warm and engaging bartender, the staff was surly, nasty, lazy and bordering on corrupt. The concierge sent us to restaurants that had to be paying him, because the only thing worse than the food was the service. It was like he had called ahead and told them the tourists were strolling into the lion's den! The bell desk tried to sell us a limo ride to the airport for 89 euros, when we asked what a cab costs, she said much more, but she did not know how much, which was an outright lie, because it is a flat fee in Rome to the airport of 48 euros. The room cleaning service ranged from decent to non existent, dirty room service plates were left in the hall for 6+ hours and at one point the door to our room was blocked for more than four hours with boxes of toilet paper and supplies. The door men talked on their cell phones and amongst each other, while we walked by entering or exiting the hotel. At one point, the door man entered in front of us and let the door swing into my wife. Avoid this hotel at all costs! Westin, if you are reading this, not only have you lost our return business in Rome, but I will not consider staying in a Westin ever again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CharlieA1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We are extremely sorry to learn that you left Rome disappointed with your experience at our hotel and, in particular, we are concerned that you were inconvenienced by certain staff that conveyed an improper attitude during your visit. We encourage always a positive, helpful and friendly approach and we wish to apologize most sincerely if, on this occasion, we failed to meet your expectations.

We greatly respect your valuable feedback and constructive criticism. Each one of your comments has been discussed with the Executive Team to take corrective action both at a disciplinary and operational level to rectify the situation.

We do hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back for another visit to restore your confidence in our service.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.
Sincerely,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews