We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, nice rooms, lousy Wi-Fi policy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Ranked #206 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, nice rooms, lousy Wi-Fi policy”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

The only thing I hate worse than paying extra for Wi-Fi on a business trip is to pay extra for Wi-Fi on a family vacation. Unfortunately, this hotel, and perhaps all Starwood hotels, charge $25 per day per device for Wi-Fi. This is quite a bummer when you're traveling with the family, laptops and iPads in tow. And I'm a Starwood's gold member! Otherwise, the rooms are nice the breakfast was good and the staff generally helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gcaug2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
Allow us to extend our sincere apologize if, on this occasion, we failed to entirely meet your expectations about our internet policy. We hope that it did not impact your stay and the possibility of returning back to Westin Excelsior.
We are glad to inform you that from the 1st March we have launched our new amenities program dedicated to Gold members which will provide a choice of a free in-room internet access or a local gift or a welcome drink. Please visit our website for detailed information.
We do hope to welcome you again in the very near future.
Best regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    969
    668
    368
    135
    69
See reviews for
555
841
62
333
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

The hotel is in a great, central location, and the property itself is gorgeous. However our room was quite outdated. The tv didn't always work properly, it took forever for someone to answer the service express line, and the staff was hit or miss. Some were nice and friendly, others were quite cold. Very disappointed in the overall experience with this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jasmine198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing with us your experience.
We are very pleased to know that your appreciated our historical property and sincerely regret to learn that we were unable to entirely meet your expectations.
Please rest assured that these comments have already been discussed with the entire team and has been taken the corrective action.
We hope that you will allow us another opportunity to improve your impression of us on your next trip to Rome. Please feel free to contact the executive office directly to handle your reservation.
Best regards,
Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This hotel is centrally located for walking the entire city and seeing all of the attractions. I found this one of the finest old world hotels I've ever stayed in on a trip.
From the moment we checked in, the staff was attentive, interested and extremely polite.
We checked our rooms before accepting them. Mine was perfect and my friend found his was a little smaller than he expected and didn't have as nice a view as mine-- he asked for a change of room -they upgraded him to a suite- no charge. My room overlooked the US Embassy and the city-- wondrful view. Breakfast in the hotel was supurb. I know you'll love this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigFoodFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the positive review!
We are pleased to know that you appreciated our location, rooms and services and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Westin Excelsior in the future.
Best regards,
Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
185 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon and it was a huge disappointment and a waste of money. The staff looked us up and down, ignored us, and made us feel unwelcome at nearly every interaction we had with them. I'm not sure what we did to make the staff treat us so poorly- we are friendly and we frequently travel, and we have never experienced treatment like this before.
Of the staff, the people at the front desk and concierge were hit or miss- sometimes they would help us, and sometimes they would look us up and down, or see us coming and walk away. The woman at the business center was the same- she looked up and saw my wife coming and walked away and kept her back turned. When she realized we hadn't left after a couple of minutes, she acted inconvenienced at having to explain how to use the computers and internet. The bellhops were the worst. They watched us carrying our bags while they glanced over, talked to each other and laughed. We used several taxi's while we were there, and they never offered to hail a cab for us, even though we saw them do so for other guests. I've never been treated so rudely in all of my life.
The rooms were nice, but needed to be updated. The location was good, but was overshadowed by the how the staff made us feel unwelcome.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Christian377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all feedback we can get.
We always take great pride in providing our guests highest standards of accommodation and service and we are disappointed that on this occasion we failed to meet your expectations, particularly since you and your wife were celebrating such a special occasion.
Please accept our sincere apologies for wrong attitude of the certain staff which surely do not represent of level of our hospitality. We would have appreciated very much the opportunity to meet you during your stay in order to address the situation immediately and take corrective action.
We do hope that we may have the pleasure to your company again in the future in order to restore your confidence in the Westin Excelsior and ensure that you enjoy a truly memorable experience.
Sincerely,
Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We arrived early; room not available, so we're advised to return at 14:30, which we did. Room still not ready. Escorted to lounge, where we were offered drinks on the house. Ordered three diet Cokes. Got charged 8 Euro each for the Cokes at checkout. Had difficulty getting concierge or front desk response during stay. On the plus a star points stay got us a nice upgraded suite at no charge.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are glad to know that our star-point program gave you the opportunity to enjoy one of our Suites.

We sincerely regret not being able to accommodate you upon your arrival due to the high occupancy the hotel experienced the night before. Also let us apologize for the improper attitude of our concierge. Please rest assured that the issues raised have been addressed and appropriate action taken to prevent any guest being similarly inconvenienced in the future.

We are grateful for your support and do hope that we may have the pleasure to welcome you again at The Westin Excelsior Rome and have the opportunity to regain your confidence in our services.

Best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#86 of 1,256 in Rome
1,941 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#123 of 1,256 in Rome
915 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#111 of 1,256 in Rome
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Excelsior, Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior, Rome

Property: The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Address: 125, Via Vittorio Veneto, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Rome
#120 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#131 Business Hotel in Rome
#180 Family Hotel in Rome
#211 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior, Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restful and invigorating stay awaits you in one of our 281 rooms and 35 suites, few steps from Rome center and facing Via Veneto, hearth of DolceVita.Our rooms will welcome you with maximum comfort and technology and are equipped with the revitalizing Westin Heavenly Bed ®, high-speed Internet connection (surcharge), LCD flat screen televisions, pay-per-view movies and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Westin Excelsior, Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior, Rome Hotel Rome
Westin Rome
Westin Excelsior Hotel
Rome Westin
Excelsior Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing