We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Justed missed 4 points ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Relais Castrum Boccea
Ranked #427 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Speyer
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Justed missed 4 points ...”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

One of those rustic type places with thick stone walls, wide stairs, medievalish interiors and all the other ingredients needed to make you feel very Italian about a place. So far so good. Maybe a bit over-styled here or there, esp. the overdone attire of the staff, but overall a good ambience.

Now for the problems, which are mostly details, but they add up ... Firstly a lack of attention to detail. No clothes hooks in the bathroom: makes it inconvenient. The showerhead kept slipping down, although it was a very nice shower: annoying. There was a plate with crumbs sitting on a table in the corridor during the entire stay: not making a good impression. The air-con box although brand-new ridiculously noisy, like a tractor or so.

Thankfully the windows in my room were double glazed. Kept the noise of the Saturday night party out relatively well, although sensitive people may not get a good nights sleep while the disco is going.

The breakfast was soso. Again nice ambience, no doubt, but stale bread, a lukewarm cappucino (although asked the waiter to give a hot one: version 2 was also lukewarm), cheese and ham that looked like they came from the supermarket, and so tasted the juices. An ok breakfast, but no reason for joy.

At the checkout they charged for wifi, even though wifi did not work and I told the reception guy so. The "Rome city tax" was also a surprise. Although not substantial, you never like it when there are items on your bill that you did not expect.

Overall the place has potential, but kind of lost the plot a little. Actually, it reminded me a bit of an Indian operation / business model, with the very dressed up staff, 2 restaurants and stuff so that in principle you can just hang around the hotel, get pampered and not go out - at a price.

Talking of price, I got a good rate, and so I do not complain about the deficiencies. This might be quite different if I had paid the full fare.

And last but not least: do not expect any sweet Mediterranean setting in terms of the surrounding landscape. There really is not much of a view to talk about. Unkept scrubs, bushes, trees, the sides of the road going there very littered. Welcome to Italy :-)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mc02282014a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    88
    35
    17
    17
See reviews for
72
175
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
İstanbul
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We absoutely loved the hotel. The design is great, rooms are luxurious and they look lovely. It is an easy ride away to the city yet you feel like you are lost in nature. Good breakfast, helpfull staff. Very clean rooms. We loved everything about this hotel. We will definitely book there again when we go back to Rome.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArzuAkkas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Stayed here for one night en route to central Rome, for August the hotel was surprisingly quiet but we had an excellent stay and for the price we thought this was superb value. We had dinner here and i chose the three course set menu, I was very surprised to have the starter (Macaroni Cheese) and the main course (Veal) served together on the same plate but the quality of the food was good although the service could have been improved a little (there appeared to be a prospective wedding couple who got the lion's share of the attention!) The grounds are beautiful and the addition of a swimming pool would be a real benefit to this hotel - we definately plan to return!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steveyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Relais Castrum Boccea was a beautiful place. It was a little difficult to find and had our taxi driver somewhat frustrated, but it was worth the wait. We chose this place because it was located almost equally from our lodging in Rome and from FCO where our family members were flying in and meeting us. We were impressed with the cleanliness and size of the rooms. The place is very new and modern. As we ate our lunch we observed an event going on with great delectable dishes of food being carried up the hill to a party. It looked like a wonderful place to have a wedding. The grounds are well maintained and the area is peaceful and quiet. It was a perfect stopping place from Rome and on our way to Tuscany.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katlanyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boccea, Responsabile reception at Relais Castrum Boccea, responded to this review, 6 August 2011
Thank you for your feedback, we are waiting you for your next trip.

Sincerely,

Roberto Villani.
Front Offi Manager Relais Castrum Boccea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olive Branch, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

We stayed here with a group of 51 people. The grounds were beautiful! Our rooms were the largest we had while in Italy. The beds were all Tempur-Pedic type beds and very comfortable. The arrangement of the rooms were more like bungalow style in that only a few rooms were near each other. No long hallway with rooms on all sides like most hotels. Each room opened to the outside giving the feel you were the only room there. The staff was exceptionally helpful and courteous. And in a large group, sometimes it is difficult to accommodate everyone. Not one of our group had anything bad to say at all and everyone hoped to one day come back and stay longer. This is a beautiful place to stay for a couple on a romantic get away especially a honeymoon! It is not far from the city for those who wish to sight see. Yet it is far enough away, you feel that you are secluded. Make your reservations today!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roguemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boccea, Responsabile reception at Relais Castrum Boccea, responded to this review, 6 August 2011
Thank you for your feedback, we are waiting you for your next trip.

Sincerely,

Roberto Villani.
Front Offi Manager Relais Castrum Boccea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
23.8 km away
Domidea Hotel
Domidea Hotel
#220 of 1,259 in Rome
629 reviews
6.5 km away
Hotel Selva Candida
Hotel Selva Candida
#403 of 1,259 in Rome
371 reviews
7.8 km away
Resort la Rocchetta
Resort la Rocchetta
#233 of 1,259 in Rome
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.0 km away
Marini Park Hotel
Marini Park Hotel
#413 of 1,259 in Rome
254 reviews
25.3 km away
All Ways Garden Hotel & Leisure
24.5 km away
Hotel Artis
Hotel Artis
#396 of 1,259 in Rome
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Castrum Boccea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Castrum Boccea

Property: Relais Castrum Boccea
Address: Via SS. Mario e Marta 27, 00166 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Gianicolense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#145 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#225 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#243 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Castrum Boccea 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the Roman countryside just 30 minutes from downtown is the "Castrum Boccea" a historic medieval relay turned into a hotel.Thanks to a restoration can have a look at history and relive the glories of bygone days. Surrounded by lush vegetation provides ample space inside and outside, ideal for weddings, business meetings and stay in complete relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relais Castrum Boccea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Castrum Boccea Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing