We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“save money not worth the savings”
Review of Hotel de Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de Rome
Ranked #551 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 6 June 2016

My son and I made reservations for Mothers Day weekend. My reservation was unchangeable so when we had an extra person join us we had to ask for roll bed or a different room, paying the difference of course! They had no roll away bed at the facility (that tells you something) advised a bigger room to accommodate 3 people would be available tomorrow (sat). Friday night at 3am someone tried to get into our room....NOT GOOD ... Upon waking up I called the front desk they advised no room available to accommodate us and then told me they could place our 3rd party quest at different location!! Not happening, so they told us WE HAD TO LEAVE, AS WE WERE IN A 2 PERSON ROOM- So, of course we are trying to find a hotel that can accommodate us. In the process the staff is banging on door telling us to get out, NOT ONCE, NOT TWICE BUT THREE TIMES! Very rude. MIND YOU I ALREADY PAID FOR ENTIRE WEEKEND. So by American law they couldn't make us leave, maybe our third party, Regardless, found a great place went downstairs and checked out. Would not recommend this place for my animals, the only picture that is accurate if the front desk...air condition did not work, bed was hard, water pressure was not good and the lights in our hallway were RED----- Another indicator....

Room Tip: Not any at this location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Teresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2016 via mobile

This was mine and my partners first visit to Rome and we both thought it was amazing. The hotel is smack in the middle of everything. Yes the main entrance to the hotel is up a side street but didn't have a problem finding it. We stayed in the part of the hotel near the restaurants and have to say it was really quite the view out of our window was lovely (of the forum).

The room was small but more than adequate for what we wanted and was modern. The shower was a little problem as it flooded the bathroom floor but sorted it after the first day by moving the shower head and putting one of the thin towels under the shower screen so wasn't a problem. In the room was an hair dryer, a safe that you can use for free, a fridge and a TV (with no English channels). The wifi proved a problem as the reception gave us the wrong password even when we checked with them still the wrong password so we read the info booklet and found the correct password and it worked fine for both our phones.

Breakfast is in a little restaurant next to the hotel and we found it quite adequate. You can have toast and ham, toast and butter or toast and jam/marmalade, croissants, muffins with a selection of drinks.

The hotel is situated right in the middle of everything with the forum across the road and the colosseum just a 2 min walk round the corner. Everything else is within walking distance. You can get a free paper map from the hotel. To visit the colosseum cost €12 pp and this is valid for 24hrs and you get the forum included in this.

We flew to ciampino and a taxi from there to the hotel cost €35 and took about 30mins. There are cheaper options but we wanted to just get there.

All the restaurants outside the hotel are lovely and are really good priced. We had a 3 course meal including soft drinks and cost around €50, or for a starter and main with soft drinks around €32.

A couple of little tips.......

There are lost of men (Africans) that will say they will give you a gift under no circumstances let them put anything in your hands as they then expect money they tried this a few times with us. Also lots of men selling selfi sticks and scarfs and you have to be really stern when sayin NO and shake your head can get quite annoying.

Pick pocketers....

We took a horse and cart ride and the man pointed out a couple of pick pocketers and I was really shocked at witnessing this at first hand. I would have expected men and women but these we girls they looked like tourists with bags and maps but was watching everyone so just be carefull.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank cll02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016

For the price I wasn't expecting a 5star hotel however I was expecting it to look vaguely like the pictures. Upon arrival no-one told us that the entrance is no longer where the address on the website shows, instead you have to go round the corner for the entrance. We were in a separate part of the hotel on the main road, instead of feeling like you are in a hotel the red mood lighting in this area makes it seem more like a brothel. The room itself was very small but had enough space for everything. What was disappointing was the two holes in the bathroom door that looked as though someone had punched the door but this matched well with the large patch of damp above the bed. WIFI seemed to be limited to one device per room and was so slow as to be un-useable. The shower consistently flooded the bathroom floor making it a slipping hazard and the napkin given to you as a second towel did little to help mop this up. Breakfast was not as described with no buffet breakfast, instead it is hosted in the chain tapas restaurant next door and consists of a choice of croissant/muffin/toast/doughnut which all seem to take c30mins to make (I can confirm this is not because they are being cooked from scratch.)

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank youngseasondtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2016

Me and a friend booked this hotel through last minute.com and were disappointed when we arrived to find that the hotel looked nothing like the pictures. We were shown to our room which we simply thought would be inside the hotel building, however we were taken outside and told our room was outside up a steep staircase which looked like a chalet. Also the minute we arrived in our room and shut the door the door handle fell off in my friends hand and the staff basically told her she had been to rough and didnt fix the door handle but simply slammed it back on.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank celiawillz97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

Very good hotel and the breakfast was really good too! In such a good spot for the colloseum and other places! The receptionist was very helpful and pleasant.
Only downside was the damp smell in the room.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank slfp92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Romano
Hotel Romano
#261 of 1,271 in Rome
225 reviews
Monti
Hotel Solis
Hotel Solis
#225 of 1,271 in Rome
595 reviews
Monti
Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Relais No9 Colosseo
Relais No9 Colosseo
#645 of 1,271 in Rome
63 reviews
Monti
Anfiteatro Flavio
Anfiteatro Flavio
#617 of 1,271 in Rome
497 reviews
Monti
Hotel Royal House
Hotel Royal House
#776 of 1,271 in Rome
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Rome

Address: Largo Corrado Ricci 37a | Via del Colosseo, 72, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #551 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: €54 - €167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Rome 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel in Rome that can lead you to the heart of HistoryHotel de Rome is the perfect accommodation for whoever wishes to spend their holidays in Rome. Within a stone’s throw from the Coliseum, this hotel allows you to visit the places that made History.Only Hotel de Rome is able to offer its guests the wonderful and striking view of the Imperial Fora, along with our comfortable rooms. This incredible experience will make your stay in Rome unforgettable.Your journey at the heart of Rome should begin form Hotel de Rome, where the tradition of the Eternal City’s tourist attractions meets the elegance and modernity of our interiors, as well as our staff’s impeccable conduct.During your stay in Rome you cannot miss a visit to this city’s famous places: the Coliseum, the Imperial Fora, the Altar of the Fatherland, the Palatine Hill, the Circus Maximus. With your accommodation at Hotel de Rome, you’ll be swallowed up by the beauties of Rome, unbelievably close to its monuments and some of the most famous tourist attractions in the world. The view from Hotel de Rome’s windows embrace most of these beauties, making its guests feeling like they’re part of the Imperial Rome’s grandeur.Hotel de Rome is close to the Imperial Fora, an important road conceived in the Twenties to connect symbolically the Coliseum to Piazza Venezia. Every year this street hosts the Armed Forces parade on the occasion of the Italian National Day (Festa della Repubblica Italiana) on the 2nd of June. The position of Hotel the Rome represents one of the main junction for the local public transport network. Underground line, buses, taxi, as well as the typical coach and pair: Hotel de Rome is in the perfect position to move easily and quickly in the city, so that you can fully enjoy your stay in the Capital.Your Roman Holiday between comfort and designHotel de Rome’s rooms are conceived to offer the comfort and elegance we expect from a four-star hotel in Rome. At the same time they are characterized by design and practicality, features that the modern traveller appreciates.Our offering includes single, double, triple and quadruple rooms, from 11 to 24 mq: you can choose among the suites with a striking view on the Ancient Rome, the suites with the mansard, or our superior, whose bathtub and flat-screen TV – on a mezzanine – will make your vacation in Rome unforgettable. If you are looking for a single room, our accommodation with French bed is certainly what you need.All our rooms are equipped with free-of-charge safes, air conditioning and heating, moquette, minibar, satellite TV, bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel de Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing