We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it if you have a few days”

Basilica di San Clemente al Laterano
Book In Advance
More Info
US$82.68*
and up
Small-Group Tour Crypts the Bone Chapel and Catacombs
More Info
US$111.44*
and up
Private Underground Rome Catacombs Tour for Kids and Families
More Info
US$82.68*
and up
Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small-Group Walking Tour
Ranked #23 of 1,536 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Constructed between 1110 and 1130, this church of San Clemente is not one, but three churches built one above the other, with ruins dating from the earliest Christian times.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth it if you have a few days”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We didnt manage to get a tour but this looked interesting, maybe next time.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Celined126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,836 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,845
    829
    132
    20
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Our first stop.”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

This was our first stop on our tourist trail of Rome. It had been recommended to us by the lady running our B&B & it did not disappoint. Great place to wander around in a group or on your own like we did. Definitely recommend doing this before you go to the Colusseum as it's literally a bus stop away so you can walk there after.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank kitty81cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Amazing architecture”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Fantastic to see the various levels from the 1st century on.
Extremely interesting.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank HandC66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogden, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great visit but I wish I could have take pictures”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The history contained at Chiesa Basilica di San Clemente is some of the most interesting I have sifted through in Europe. The layout is friendly and is low cost for the amount to see. Really enjoyed hearing the water of the underground lake and envisioning how it could have been over 1500 years ago. I only wish I could have taken pictures.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank MTRaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peize
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A 'must see' when visiting Rome!”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

If you visit Rome for the antiquities (Colosseum, Forum Romanum), San Clemente must definitely be part of your stay as well. It's a 5-10 minute walk from the Colosseum and gives you the opportunity to literally go back (down in this case) in history. The current church (top layer, 12th century) is built on top of older constructions and is worth a visit in itself. Entrance to this part is free, but the really interesting parts are below the floor: the first level down brings you back into (early) medieval times with a couple of great and well preserved fresco's, and the lowest layer dates back to the first century, showing a Roman house with a still active spring

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JosvanDongen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Basilica di San Clemente al Laterano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing