We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,159)
Filter reviews
2,159 results
Traveller rating
1,557
497
85
15
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,557
497
85
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews floor terrace rick steves each evening yogurt metro stop within easy walking distance visit rome colosseum neighborhood sites bus meats europe
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 2,159 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2022

Spotless rooms in a cozy hotel very near the Colosseum. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome and at home. While the hotel is lovely, it is truly the staff that make the place exceptional. Faris offered several tips for great walks and places to visit and helped us find our way around. We felt very safe walking in the neighborhood and had no concerns with COVID while staying. It felt like we were staying with family who would ask about our day each morning and evening.

Instead of the usual breakfast buffet, we filled out a small form each evening and our breakfast order was provided on a tray. Two mornings we had a very early start and the offered to provide breakfast before hours which was appreciated. The breakfast was traditional Italian (meats, pastries, toast, yogurt) but filling. Tables were separated to allow spacing for COVID.

We decided to stay here based on the recommendation of Rick Steves and it was the best decision we made. We would definitely stay here again. The staff helped us book our return COVID test and arranged private airport pickups for about the same price as the train/taxi. The coliseum metro stop was about an 8 - 10 minute easy walk.

Room tip: Some rooms have small balconies with views of the coliseum.
Date of stay: December 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T3422ZKandrewb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 20 February 2022

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. Having satisfied and happy guests motivates us and makes our work worthwhile.
We are glad that you felt that you decision to stay at the Lancelot based on the Rick Steves Guide book, was the right choice.

Kind Regards,

Mrs. Khan & The Lancelot Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2021

We always stay at the Lancelot when returning to visit Rome.

The rooms are spotless and comfortable making you feel at ease with the comforts of home. The staff are all friendly and helpful in whatever you need, whether that be advice on what's happening in Rome, sights to see, that bus ticket you need or just a cup of tea to warm you up.
Lancelot is located a short distance from many important sights in Rome.

We highly recommend a stay at Lancelot, whether for your business or pleasure.

Room tip: All the rooms are great.
Date of stay: November 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 20 February 2022

Dear Todd & Carmen,

Thank you for thinking of us and for writing such a nice review.
We are always happy to see you walking through the door.
We cannot count your visits over the years, there is just so much to discover in this city and we are very grateful that you always return to your home in Rome, the Lancelot !

Arrivederci, a presto !

Mrs. Khan & Lancelot Staff


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2021 via mobile

This is not the first time I stay at Lancelot hotel and I can’t think of a better choice. The hotel is almost close to everything. The staff are so kind, helpful and professional, always trying to accommodate guests requests. Rooms are always clean and well lit, the bed is very comfy. I never had an issue or a complaint. Many languages are spoken to perfection (English, French and Arabic and maybe more, in addition of course to Italian). Strict rules are applied to ensure everybody’s safety during these challenging times of the pandemic.
Looking forward to my next stay!

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank MMahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 20 February 2022

Dear Maha,

We really appreciate you lovely review and we are glad that you appreciate our efforts to ensure guest's and staff's safety .

Hopefully we are pulling through the tunnel soon, many people and begining to feel confident to travel again.
It ios always a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to your next visit.

Fond regards,

Lubna, Faris and everyone at the Lancelot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2021

Lancelot hotel is one of the best hotel that I have stayed at in all Europe.
The staff are super friendly.
The hotel is super clean
The staff speaks English snd French.
The location is amazing. It is a few meters from the coloseo.
The rooftop view is breathtaking

Room tip: All rooms are very cozy and super clean
Date of stay: November 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amalsradwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 20 February 2022

Dear Amal,

Thank you so much for your SUPER review !
What can we say except a HUGE TANK YOU !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2021

We just returned to the USA after a week at the lovely Hotel Lancelot and are so grateful we stayed there. The location and views from the 6th floor terrace open to all guests were incredible but it was the staff that won us over. We've traveled for decades all over the world and the Hotel Lancelot is from a bygone era where everyone seems to know you, care about your stay, helps you with tickets (including selling subway tickets at the front desk), arrange tour guides etc. We felt so at home. It was my husband's birthday and they arranged for our breakfast on the 6th floor terrace and dinner reservations. My only regret is that I didn't get everyone's names to list here! But I can call out Michael who made the best Aperol Spritzes ever and even took us on a day-trip that was incredible. Kudos to all and we will recommend!

Room tip: If you can't afford a 6th floor terrace, the 6th floor regular room with bathroom en-suite has a partial Colosseum view from the window
Date of stay: October 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank IntrepidLiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews