We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hotel, great location, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon
Ranked #238 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
British Virgin Islands
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Small hotel, great location, helpful staff”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I was able to make a last minute reservation at Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon via Expedia,,, at a great price.... January is off season in Rome, a bit chilly but none of the usual crowds.
Hotel is located in one of the great locations in Rome,, i.e steps from the Pantheon and within walking distance of all the main attractions.... Staff was helpful,,, an excellent breakfast ( included) each morning and a full , in room Jacuzzi bath with multiple shower heads was just what the doctor ordered to sooth tired feet after long days of walking around Rome.
There was an internet connection in room,, "free until Jan 31st" , operating through the Flat Screen TV,,, however this service did not work... Wireless was available in the Lobby for 5.00 E per hour... Not sure why hotels cannot provide wireless service, at least in the lobby for free.... it is a given in most hotels these days...
The hotel is advertised as " the first and oldest hotel in Rome"... Some of the decor including tiles in the Breakfast room are said to be original from early times. Wonderful place to stay

Room Tip: There are rooms that actually over look the Pantheon but think that these are premium priced AND mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strato57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    236
    63
    31
    29
See reviews for
189
317
29
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Thanks to a TA user's tip, we booked this hotel for our 'Roman Holiday' ! And what a gem it is !!

Location, location, location !! Centrally located - on the Pantheon square !!

Great staff - friendly check-in lady, bellhop, concierge, breakfast-room staff........

The buffet breakfast was sumptuous and had quite a variety of breads, fruits, juices, etc.

Both check-in and check-out was handled pretty professionally and post check-out our ample luggage was stored securely (we had a late night flight)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wont2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We booked a junior suite for 3 people and pulling in the taxi the location certainly has the "Wow"" factor being based right in Pantheon Square - there is probably no better location in Rome.

The public areas of the hotel have been renovated to a high standard, in keeping with its statement as being the oldest hotel in Rome, however I am not able to comment on the rooms as, on arrival, we were re-located to one of several apartments the hotel owns a few minutes away just off the piazza.

The apartment we stayed in was located on the 5th floor and actually getting into it was our first challenge as the keys to the entrance grille and main door seemed happy to spin around for 5 minutes without opening the door; whilst at the same time the lights kept going off leaving us waving franticly to switch them back on.

The apartment itself was large by city standards. The living room, with sofa bed, acted as the second bedroom for our son during our stay. Off this was a dressing/closet area which led to the main bedroom and en-suite bathroom (which are the only facilities in the room and can only be accessed by walking through the bedroom).

The apartment was very dark and very dated - in terms of facilities offered there were two flat screen TVs in the bedroom and living room, a coffee machine, room safe (with the same challenging key arrangements as the main doors) and a radio. There was no wi-fi (which is becoming increasingly expected) and whilst there was a tired jacuzzi bath the only shower arrangements were via a hand held attachment to the taps.

We did have problems during our stay with the bathroom - no hot water one evening (but which was remedied straight away when we pointed it out) but there was an unpleasent smell for the duration of our stay and we needed to keep the window open and door closed.

We found our bed to be very comfortable, mattress a little hard but we prefer it that way.

Based on other places we have stayed the apartment cannot be rated any higher than a 2* and was a real disappointment.

The one plus point, and for us it is a big one, is the view. Off the living room accessed through another grille and window/door is a very small balcony (three people standing front to back) however if faces straight out over the Piazza della Rotonda and the Pantheon itself. We were able to spend evenings people watching as the square is filled with activity and entertainment - just need to move the ariel mast as it prevents that perfect picture!

Breakfast is taken in the main hotel and consists of a cold buffett of meats, cheeses, breads/pastries and fruit juice/coffee. Whilst not extensive it is just right and sets you up for the day.

The hotel itself has no restaurant facilties however you are never short of places to eat in Rome though you certainly have to pay a premium if you choose to eat in one of the main Piazzas.

Service from the staff was excellent at all times.

In summary, as the review title suggests, a 5* location but only 2* accommodation. We would stay here again but only if travelling as a couple and able to stay in the hotel itself.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HollinBank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

This was our second stay at the Sole al Pantheon hotel - and it was at least as good as the first. From the moment we stepped inside we were made to feel very welcome and all staff were helpful at all times - especially so when it came to planning our days and evenings out. The rooms on both occasions were of a good size, comfortable and perfectly well equipped - and considering the location, they were very quiet indeed. As others have mentioned before the location was wonderful - to step outside from the peace and tranquility of the hotel into the buzz and hubub of life in the square to the front of the Pantheon was truly magical. We loved every moment of our stay at the hotel and will certainly return.

Room Tip: Second or third floor prefered
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colchester
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Wonderful location in the corner of the Pantheon Square. Step outside and have a beer in the early evening and you would think that you have died and gone to heaven. Room typical of a city centre hotel built in the 15th century as it was a bit on the small side. I had to get the hotel to quieten the A/C and tidy up the grouting around the bath – which they did the next day. Croissants were always a bit hard but perhaps that is the way the Italians have them. Staff were all excellent.

Room Tip: overlooking the square?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColchesterJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel Pantheon
Hotel Pantheon
#131 of 1,259 in Rome
630 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#55 of 1,259 in Rome
972 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
#113 of 1,259 in Rome
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,259 in Rome
3,525 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#32 of 1,259 in Rome
758 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon

Property: Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon
Address: Piazza della Rotonda 63, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#106 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#134 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#171 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Sole Al Pantheon Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing