We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but slipping a bit?”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albergo del Senato
Ranked #10 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
127 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Very good but slipping a bit?”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

OK-I'm spoiled. I've been to Rome over30 times in the past 9 years and this has been one of the best hotels. Have stayed here multiple times. The desk staff is great, the location wonderful, etc. This time I noticed that the cleanliness of the rooms was a bit lower. Nothing to turn you off - just not up to previous visits. One night the turndown service was skipped. The brrakfast was definitly "less" than before. Again, nothing that could be called a strike out - just the kind of slips that may indicate a coming, bigger problem.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,837
    464
    75
    33
    10
See reviews for
832
1,818
106
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (886)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
near Geneva
Level Contributor
163 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This fine property is next to the Pantheon in an area closed to traffic - horse drawn carriages and pedestrians. Beautiful and elegant building, an excellent breakfast and helpful and friendly front desk. It's classed as 3 Stars so don't expect the same facilities that you get in a 5 star hotel at double the price. As far as location goes, can't get any better.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the Piazza and the Pantheon
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann_Onimme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
193 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This hotel is a great find. The rooms are small but spotless, the location is perfect and the staff are very helpful. It is right in the center of all the main attractions so you can walk to everything and even come back to the hotel to regroup in the middle of the day. The piazza is charming and there are great restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: We had an room with a courtyard balcony, not a piazza balcony. The room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BERFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

My family spent 3 nights for a long weekend. We had an apartment (room 501) for 2 adults and 2 small children. There was no view of the Pantheon, but a small balcony to the interior (not much of a view). As mentioned, the location is great, very central. It is within walking distance to most major sites, but be sure you have a good map to assist. With small children, we especially liked the taxi stand adjacent to the Pantheon, as well as telling any taxi driver in the city to go to the Pantheon - no confusion or getting lost! I would also recommend taking a taxi from Fumicino airport (40 Euro flat rate) versus the hotel recommended service (90 Euro). The hotel's taxi vendor was very nice and hospitable, but not worth over twice the cost of a taxi for a couple complimentary bottles of water. The desk staff was very helpful with recommendations and advice and other staff was always courteous. The breakfast was standard, but quite suitable. We would recommend the hotel and stay again.

Room Tip: If it is important to you, request a room with a view of the Pantheon. We did not request or have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EUHawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cyberspace
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Ok, so you know it's right beside the Pantheon, yes? That's the best thing about it. To be brief for £600 for 3 nights I would have hoped for a directory or local written guide in the room to peruse. Instructions for heating / aircon, local restaurants etc etc. I also would not have expected the kitchen to run out of pastries during breakfast, the choice was average, self service but nothing extra-ordinary which for the price i suppose i was expecting better. The wifi was poor and kept dropping out and again for the price should have been a better connection and more widely accessible. Also the roof terrace was closed - the main reason we picked the hotel - yet this was not communicated at the time of booking. Sadly a few little dissapointments that made our stay functional and comfortable but not incredible.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rainbowzebra27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,291 in Rome
6,445 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,291 in Rome
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,291 in Rome
2,793 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#11 of 1,291 in Rome
2,820 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,291 in Rome
3,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Property: Albergo del Senato
Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
#7 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing