We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B in Rome”
Review of B&B Gaius Roma

B&B Gaius Roma
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B&B Gaius Roma
Ranked #1,160 of 3,764 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Gaius B&B was amazing!! Marco and Lina run this small and quaint B&B (4 rooms total) are are absolutely amazing!! They are so welcoming and helpful and really make you feel at home. My fiancee and I stayed for 4 nights and it couldn't have been more wonderful. The rooms are very nice, clean and have plenty of storage space for you to unpack. The location is incredible. About 10m from the Ottaviano metro station and 2 blocks from St.Peter's Basilica and the Vatican Museum. It is the perfect location for a visit to Rome. Even though the location is so bustling, the rooms are very quiet because they open onto an inner courtyard so you don't hear any traffic. Marco and Lina serve you breakfast in your private room (there are dining tables and chairs in every room), yogurt, pastries, meat, cheese, bread, and the most incredible cappuccinos ever!! There is so much food that my fiancée and I would bring a lot of the pastries with us while we were touring so we didn't have to buy snacks around the city. Marco even taught us how to use the cappuccino maker so that we could make our own whenever we wanted. We never spent a cent on coffee during our time in Rome! We stayed in the room with the private ensuite which was lovely, but the B&B is so small, the shared bathroom is very private also. I cannot recommend Gaius enough, Marco and Lina are the most delightful hosts and really made our stay in Rome special.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2013

Gaius is located 5 blocks from Vatican City, 20 meters from the metro station and near several restaurants, food stores and even an outdoor market that sets up tent every day of the week.
The rooms are clean, spacious and breakfast is served in the room by the very friendly hosts Lina and Marco, who were probably the best part of the experience.
Despite the central location, the rooms face an inner courtyard so they are very quiet and you don´t hear a peep.
The room and BR were spotless; simple but with everything we needed and lots of closet space to put your stuff in; a table for two for having breakfast (which included freshly made espresso, toasts, yoghurt, cold cuts, nutella and juice). There are also only 5 rooms so it´s very private and you don´t get woken up by late night parties or laughter (nothing against youth hostels). This is a different kind of place, more for having good quality sleep, solid breakfast and a nice chance to practice you Italian before taking on the city. Totally recommend and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaston3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Very difficult to find, make sure you get exact directions to find exactly where this is!
A simple Roman home and nothing flashy or grand, but this is far made up for by the lovely hosts. More than accommodating, happy to provide us with maps, a friendly smile and made sure we were well catered for with breakfast. A fridge for our use was a highlight - especially after a long holiday of hostel stays and a hot Italian summer. Don't expect a modern apartment, you are simply staying in someones home - the bathroom is rather dilapidated - but because we were staying in summer, a quick shower was no issue for us. Also had use of the washing machine if needed, making it feel like you were staying at a friends house which was lovely.
A good location, walking distance to Vatican City and and enough shopping and food options to keep you satisfied.
If you want to stay somewhere comfortable and cheap and are looking to experience some true Italian hospitality, you will definitely find it at Marco and Lina's. If you desire quality and luxury, and are not willing to go without creature comforts (air conditioning, flat screen TV) this is probably not the place for you.
As we departed, we were told "Our home is your home, whenever you return to Rome!" which was a true sentiment to the lovely hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stace K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

It was the first time for us in Rome and Italy but Marco and Lina just made our stay so wonderful that we are sure it was not the last time visiting this city: exceptional people who were helping us so much giving us advice and recommends about the city, lovely breakfast and extraordinary hospitality.Reasonable price for a more than perfect accommodation!!! (Bogi, Sophia)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bogi_Sophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Having just returned from Rome,I would like to say that ,Marco and Lina ,the owners of this B&B are two of the most gracious, helpful people that you could meet.
The welcoming that they gave us was second to none.
Our flight was delayed but the communication from them was most helpful.
Breakfast was served each morning in our room and it was lovely,certainly didn't need to eat until much later in the day.
They told us the best places to visit and how to get there.
The 81 bus takes you into the heart of the city.
It's a great location,10 mins from the Vatican.
Lots of lovely shops and restaurants close by.
The metro is very close too.
We will return to Rome and will definately use this establishment.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evierey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,273 in Rome
7,023 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#454 of 1,273 in Rome
300 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#106 of 1,273 in Rome
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#221 of 1,273 in Rome
1,083 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#74 of 1,273 in Rome
1,455 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Gaius Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Gaius Roma

Address: Viale Giulio Cesare 78, 00192 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,160 of 3,764 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: €72 - €114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — B&B Gaius Roma 1.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your B&B Gaius Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing