We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little disappointed”
Review of Babuino 181

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Babuino 181
Ranked #27 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2017

having fought a late flight and a train break down at the airport which made the taxi queue huge we got to Babuino late on Friday night, I knew that the amenities were limited and didnt expect a large reception, big bar etc that goes with a 5* hotel , all I wanted was a clean,comfortable & well located location for our 1st Anniversary.

All of the above were satisfied, unfortunately on arrival we were tramped across the street to a door beside a shop and told this was the annex where we would be located, I did say this had not been outlined previously however, I was advised this was where our type of room was situated.

Now, it might seem petty but this is not what I either wanted or payed for, if I wanted a room above a shop I would have gone to airbnb or a similar. Whilst I appreciate the facilities across the road were available it just is not the same as walking out of your room to a lift and going up a couple of floors, especially as the rain was particularly bad on two days.

And we did visit the roof terrace and bar, and it was lovely but there were no staff !

So, yes, lovely 'hotel' but our room was not in it !

Room Tip: make sure you are not in the annex across the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richard10000001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeLuxurySuites, Front Office Manager at Babuino 181, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Dear richard10000001,

We’re happy to hear that you were satisfied with the clean and comfortable room at Babuino 181. Our hotel property encompasses two buildings across the street from each other which allows us to increase the variety and quantity of rooms available. We are very sorry that the location of your room did not meet your expectations. On your next visit to Rome, please contact us directly so we can make sure you get the room category best suited to your needs.

Best regards,
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,050)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2017

May 2017 we spent 3 days at Marguttha 54. Every morning we had breakfast at the sister hotel Babuino 181 at the roof terrace. Antonio the head waiter was an absolute star, looking after us in every possible way which made the experience even better. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank InigoLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

Stayed for 10 nights in the deluxe suite. Perfect location for all of the exciting sights to see in Rome. Loved the morning breakfast on the rooftop terrace. Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Rome.

Room Tip: Location, Size of room and air conditioning are important then good place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kzdavis2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile

LOVE LOVE LOVED the hotel! Great location just down from Piazza del Popolo (with a taxi queue). Wifi was fast & free & always worked. Rooftop bar & lounging area was nice & quiet & spacious. Staff friendly (I should have gotten names but didn't so put them all down as 'excellent' please). Clean! Adorable flowery view out shuttered windows you could open for fresh air. Our windows opened to the back side of hotel so quiet (room 103). Great shower/bathroom, bed, everything you could ask for. Grazie Mille, Rome Luxury Suites! I will recommend your hotel to anyone I know traveling to Rome.
Note to guests: the entry to reception is subtle. It's right in front of you, but you can miss it. It is on the right hand side if you are walking down Via Babuino from the Piazza del Popolo.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank birdontrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeLuxurySuites, Front Office Manager at Babuino 181, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear birdontrip,

We’re delighted you had a perfect stay at Babuino 181. Thank you for acknowledging our staff as they go our of their way to make sure our guests have a memorable stay. We appreciate you recommending our property and we’d love for you to connect with us on Facebook for weekly updates.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,
The Management Team



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

The service at this hotel is excellent. We had breakfast every morning and pre-dinner drinks every night on the rooftop deck. The service was excellent. Antonio made great capuccinos and Pietro served excellent drinks. The hotel is just blocks away from Spanish Steps.

Room Tip: there are only a handful of rooms in hotel, you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Angelisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Mario de' Fiori 37
Mario de' Fiori 37
#23 of 1,273 in Rome
535 reviews
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,273 in Rome
260 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#33 of 1,273 in Rome
854 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Degli Artisti
Hotel Degli Artisti
#30 of 1,273 in Rome
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babuino 181? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babuino 181

Address: Via del Babuino 181, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#14 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#26 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: €144 - €472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Babuino 181 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome’s most exclusive boutique hotel, on Rome’s most exclusive street. Babuino 181 is located in the best location in Rome, in the heart of the upscale Spanish Steps quarter. And every bit of it is as chic as its neighboring boutiques. Step between Rome’s top fashion designers, disappear through discreet glass doors… and enter another dimension of Italian boutique luxury. After a day of inspiration touring Rome’s sites, come back to your home in Rome. Sip a cocktail on the brand-new, rooftop terrace overlooking Rome’s beautiful streets. Soak in a spacious marble bath. Slide between Frette sheets. Rest in comfort—and with the confidence that, no matter what you need or what personalized service you require, Babuino 181’s professional staff can make it happen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Babuino 181 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babuino 181 Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing