We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,106)
Filter reviews
1,106 results
Traveller rating
854
201
38
11
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
854
201
38
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spanish steps classic suite boutique hotel great location nespresso machine rooftop terrace piazza del popolo de russie deluxe room heart of rome within walking distance street noise rooms are large villa borghese sister hotel restaurant recommendations small hotel
Filter
Updating list...
344 - 349 of 1,106 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2015

Stayed here 1 night in May with my husband . Beautiful new upscale hotel, within walking distance of Spanish steps . The main building has a street level reception area several floors and a rooftop bar/ breakfast area. The second building ( we were in) is across the street the rooms are all newly refurbished and absolutely gorgeous , pristine marble bathrooms with full tub and separate shower . Our room on the second floor was small but lovely -no real view and a bit dark (view may be better on a higher floor). Hotel includes free unlimited bottled water , they also supplied a bowl of fresh fruit in the room , and two welcome cocktails on the rooftop bar. In addition to the standard fare street map they supply a "Roman Journal "with favorite place to eat and visit while you are in Rome. We booked through Mr & Mrs Smith website and they included for us a bottle of Prosecco which was on ice when we arrived. The front desk arranged a driver for us and cost was 60 euro to the airport , this was slightly higher than the taxi rate ( 48 euro) but we were picked up on time and driven in a beautiful new Mercedes to the airport. We also took a taxi from the train terminal and that was about 20 euro ( tip included). There are some high end shops nearby along with several good resteraunts .

Room tip: Higher may be better if you want a brighter room, though I believe there are only four or five floors in each building.
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank golizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeLuxurySuites, Direttore at Babuino 181, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a thorough review of your experience at Babuino 181.

I’m pleased to hear that you appreciated the details of the rooms as they were designed to the highest standards. I hope you found the journal helpful as I share my favorite places with guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Alberto Moncada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2015

Babuino 181 provided everything we wanted for a short break in Rome. Our room was comfortable, spacious (especially the walk-in wardrobe), and had a welcome style about it. The location was perfect - close to the hustle bustle of Rome's sights and shopping, but a little more peaceful. We loved walking in the Villa Borghese park, just a few minutes away.

There is no restaurant, but there are plenty of good places to eat close by. A good continental breakfast is served on the roof terrace, and drinks are also available there in the evening.

If we go back to Rome, this is definitely the place we will stay in again.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pit53_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeLuxurySuites, Direttore at Babuino 181, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of Babuino 181.

We agree with you that our location is ideal for exploring Rome and I’m happy to hear that you found the room spacious, welcoming and comfortable.

Please let us know when you plan your next trip - we love welcoming back our return customers

Best regards,
Alberto Moncada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2015

The location speaks for itself and, given the draw of the surrounding area, our room was surprisingly quiet -- no traffic noise at all, and the shutter system allows for total darkness, if that's what you want.

The room was spacious, fresh, clean and equipped with everything* we expected, and somethings we didn't expect -- for example, an extremely helpful guide to Rome which appears to have been written by the owner, whose family has lived in the area for centuries. Nice touch indeed.

We only encountered the staff at check-in/out, but they were cheerful and helpful....esp. in arranging a private car (Mercedes S no less) to and from airport.

We read a recent post complaining about the beds. Our mattress was certainly firm, but in no way lumpy or old. Obviously beds come in a range of firmness and no hotel can please everyone. We slept wonderfully.

No doubt Babuino 181 is where we would stay next time in Rome. It was like having our own perfectly-appointed studio apartment.

*A tiny suggestion: I suspect many international travelers would greatly appreciate an iron in the room. One might have been available if we had asked, which we didn't bother to do

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank digiboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeLuxurySuites, Direttore at Babuino 181, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review on Babuino 181.

We take great care in creating a special environment for our guests, and I am so pleased that you enjoyed the comfort of your room and a good night’s sleep. It is also wonderful that you appreciated my personal recommendations in the Roman Notebook. Regarding the iron, thank you for the feedback and I can assure you, and all guests, that we are happy to provide an iron when requested.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Alberto Moncada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2015

When hotels.com "lost" our reservation just two days before arriving in Rome, we had to scramble to find a replacement hotel. Lucky for us we found this spectacular gem! Service was incredible. Anything we requested was promptly provided. The property is so close to so many of the great sites of the city. We highly recommend Hotel Babuino and hope to return again soon. A++. A true 5-star experience. Thank you!

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mark Joseph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeLuxurySuites, Direttore at Babuino 181, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2015

Dear Mark,

We appreciate the time you have taken to review your stay at Babuino 181.

I’m thrilled you found everything was great. We pride ourselves on attentive service and staff, always seeking to offer a luxurious “haven” for all of our guests to feel comfortable and relaxed.

Thank you for your recommendation, and on your next visit, I hope you will ask for me as I’d love to thank you personally for your patronage.


Best regards,
Alberto Moncada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2015

As soon as you enter through the sliding glass doors the tumult of the city vanishes and you are able to enjoy the serenity of Babuino. It allows one to rejuvenate before the next adventure in Rome. The rooftop terrace in particular is a treasure. The hotel location is outstanding in walking distance of so many sites of interest.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Aamir F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeLuxurySuites, Direttore at Babuino 181, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of Babuino 181.

We are always striving to create a luxurious “haven” for all of our guests to feel comfortable and relaxed after a day of sightseeing.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Alberto Moncada
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews