We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding little place for pork lovers”
Review of La Salumeria

La Salumeria
Ranked #64 of 13,956 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Description: The food is a journey, and this is our's that we decided to share with you. We are traditional, all our products were chosen using judgement of very high quality to guarantee you only original flavours. You will be choosing your favourites meats directly buying them or, trusting us and tasting our products on chopped oak or choose our gourmets sandwiches, assembled witch sauces and excellent products. Enjoy your journey.
Reviewed 8 February 2018

We (a group of four friends) visited this place for a bite to eat after a visit to the Vatican just across the bridge from the castle. It's a small, intimate place however we were able to sit at a large table and share it with another solo traveller.

The food is superb. We initially opted for a medium salami board and a small porchetta board accompanied by a bottle of wine. The food came out on large wooden platters, full of various salami, ham, bresaola, cheese, bread, pickles etc and the porchetta platter came out piled high with thick slices of incredible porchetta, cheese and bread. Three more bottles of wine and another meat platter later we reluctantly dragged ourselves out of there to continue our sightseeing. This was one of the best meals we had in Rome which is pretty good going considering the high quality meals we had at other times.

My only criticism would be the use of plastic cutlery and plates. Whilst most of the food was eaten with our hands I hate using plastic cutlery and plates and in this age where our use of plastic should be curtailed it seems very wasteful and not appealing.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PompeyJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2018 via mobile

Spent 5 days in Rome and this was the best place that we ate in. Selection of hams, cheeses, breads - all delicious. Thank you x

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

Great selection on the menu...
Yes it is small - there is really only room for two larger groups and then there are a few smaller tables (I’m unsure if you are able to book)
The main part of this delightful place is the food and quite rightly so!
Different platters served on planks with additional bread accompaniments.
Paninis are also on the menu.... we opted for the meat platters.
A great selection of varied local meats, self serve drinks and plastic crockery/cutlery (as there are no dishwashing facilities) - it’s still one of the best meals we had whilst in Rome!
Great value, great choice, great find!!
A must if you are heading near the Vatican and need a bite to eat!!

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

We passed this place walking back from the Vatican - not on the doorstep with hiked up prices but still pretty close (just across the river). It basically concentrates on Pig so there was a lovely choice of paninis ( we had one with Cotto and brie) but there was Pork, Parma Ham and other options with interesting additions. There other speciality is "boards" of meat and some with cheese. We had a Panini between two and a small board between us and it was fantastic and plenty. It seems to be run by 2 young men who give you the menu then you order at the bar, collect your own plastic knives, plates and any soft drinks etc, so semi self service.They do serve alchohol as well but you don't help yourself to that!! Absolutely loved it and would definitely go back if we return to ROme.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 580PatM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018 via mobile

The food was lit, would 100% recommend coming here! Friendly staff and nice people there. I would come again

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank felixl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to La Salumeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing