We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
19
20
7
9
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
20
7
9
15
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2015

My wife says I should be more positive, so we'll start with that first:

- close to the Vatican
- close to transit
- rooms were clean
- continental breakfast was decent quality
- Dora, who took us from the airport, was very friendly

The negative:

- walls are paper thin and other guests inconsiderate of others
- complaints to the management about the noise were [ironically] met with silence
- check-in time window is not flexible: they charge you 15 Euros if you check in after 6pm

You could probably shop around and do better.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2015 via mobile

Beautiful and close to Rome Centro without being right in the tourist zone. Grab a €1 coffee on the way downtown. Visit in winter when it is quiet. Staff are excellent, professional and easy to communicate with. Breakfast provided is not a hot breakfast but is quite generous. Close to the Basilica and to Doria Pamphili which is beautiful for walking or running. Would stay here again.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephany Lisbet... M, Owner at Alle Porte del Vaticano B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2015

Thank you so much for your review, it was a pleasure having you, you was an excelent client, you are wellcome for the next time of course...
I'll take in consideration regarding the breakfast, thank you so much aganin!
My best Regards and goo thinks for you!!
Stephany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2014

When we arrived, Stephany was waiting for us and helped us to get settled in. The place had just been through serious renovation and she was adding a few finishing touches. She was really friendly and gave us a map and highlighted places for us to explore other than the obvious (Vatican city). Our room was the only en-suite and it was very comfortable and always clean with a/c, tv and a small dining table. (Channels that show programmes/movies in English are 6, 8, and 35 =D). There was also a terrace outside our room where we could eat or just relax but this was still being renovated at the time. We did have some issues with WiFi and a leaking boiler in our bathroom, but the moment we reported these, she made every effort to fix and sort them out immediately. When she was around she always checked to see if we were alright. Breakfast was a nice and simple assortment of things to chose from so you could eat on the go or sit down with a cup of tea.
Overall, the B&B was lovely and comfortable (especially considering the price and location), next door to banks, restaurants and a 15min walk to the Vatican.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed at the hotel for two nights. That was very comfortable place for a walk tour in Rome heart. Close to Vatican city, with some much cheaper restaurants, even Chinese one and some mini and even supermarket (4 minutes to drive). And the price for two nights was only 127 euro. Room was tidy with comfortable bed, TV, air conditioning and WiFi. Breakfast comparable with the hotels, quite the same one - very sweet for those who are used to English breakfast. As the last morning we had to leave early, we asked to leave everything for breakfast so we could make them ourselves. The owner was very pleasant and showed where everything is, so we didn't have problems with that everything at all.
Very comfortable that there is a fully equipped kitchen, so we were able to prepare the food instead of having that only at the restaurants.
Before coming be sure you agreed about exact timings of arrival, or if coming not according agreed time you have the phone number of the owner. The owner is not living at the apartment. And there is no sign on the house informing about the B&B, it is only written on a small name tag in between of the rest apartments owners tags on the wall next to the doors.
Advise for those who are travelling from the B&B with public transportation - DO NOT USE BUSES, they are quite often late, even though that it is a few euro, or 50 cents (if traveling to Fiumicino airport), better use Metro. Starting from S.Pietro stop with FL3 or FL5, changing at the Trastevere (second stop) to FL1 going directly to the Fiumicino airport. Totally that costs 8 Euro for one person (ticket is valid for both trains), trip takes about 50 minutes. For a way back to Fiumicino we tried to take buses - first No 64 going to train station (Termini) (took about 40 minutes), then from the station taking a Shuttle bus (took about the 1 hour). Public buses has awful ticket machines which do not give the change back. Totally 7,50 Euro (1,5 euro public bus and 6 euro Shuttle bus) if you put to the ticket machine exactly 1,5 euro, nearly 2 hours of trip.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Virginija G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Booked here specifically requesting private ensuite and paid extra. When I arrived they only had shared bathroom room available. They blamed booking.com but upon further investigations they admitted the ensuite had been booked. Had to taxi AGAIN to another hotel. Stayed at grand hotel palatino and for the extra 40 per night the room was 10 times better

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mish1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews