We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rooms but lack of breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alle Porte del Vaticano B&B
Ranked #3,256 of 3,765 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 May 2015

Rooms
This BnB has 4 rooms. 3 rooms are excellent (for the price range) and has a nice shared balcony to the backyard. The forth room has a shared bathroom and if you are a guest in that room you don´t have access to the shared balcony unless the other guest let you go thru their rooms.

Breakfast
The breakfast is basically tee and coffee with a croissant. They also have bread baked in the oven but, after 1 day and the same bread is served the next day you don´t want it. The third day no one served any breakfast (labour day). The forth day we where offered the same bread. In order to eat you have to stand by a bar arrangement in the mixed kitchen/reception. If you like to sit while eating your breakfast you have to have one of the rooms with the shared balcony or have permission from the other guests.

Info and management
The owner presented her self and gave us her number if we needed anything. But she vas very hard to get a hold on by phone. She also had some work arranged on the balcony and these men had to walk thru one of the guests room. This without consulting the guest.

Overall
Very disappointing.

Room Tip: No rooms with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2015

My wife says I should be more positive, so we'll start with that first:

- close to the Vatican
- close to transit
- rooms were clean
- continental breakfast was decent quality
- Dora, who took us from the airport, was very friendly

The negative:

- walls are paper thin and other guests inconsiderate of others
- complaints to the management about the noise were [ironically] met with silence
- check-in time window is not flexible: they charge you 15 Euros if you check in after 6pm

You could probably shop around and do better.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2015 via mobile

Beautiful and close to Rome Centro without being right in the tourist zone. Grab a €1 coffee on the way downtown. Visit in winter when it is quiet. Staff are excellent, professional and easy to communicate with. Breakfast provided is not a hot breakfast but is quite generous. Close to the Basilica and to Doria Pamphili which is beautiful for walking or running. Would stay here again.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephany Lisbet... M, Owner at Alle Porte del Vaticano B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2015

Thank you so much for your review, it was a pleasure having you, you was an excelent client, you are wellcome for the next time of course...
I'll take in consideration regarding the breakfast, thank you so much aganin!
My best Regards and goo thinks for you!!
Stephany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2014

When we arrived, Stephany was waiting for us and helped us to get settled in. The place had just been through serious renovation and she was adding a few finishing touches. She was really friendly and gave us a map and highlighted places for us to explore other than the obvious (Vatican city). Our room was the only en-suite and it was very comfortable and always clean with a/c, tv and a small dining table. (Channels that show programmes/movies in English are 6, 8, and 35 =D). There was also a terrace outside our room where we could eat or just relax but this was still being renovated at the time. We did have some issues with WiFi and a leaking boiler in our bathroom, but the moment we reported these, she made every effort to fix and sort them out immediately. When she was around she always checked to see if we were alright. Breakfast was a nice and simple assortment of things to chose from so you could eat on the go or sit down with a cup of tea.
Overall, the B&B was lovely and comfortable (especially considering the price and location), next door to banks, restaurants and a 15min walk to the Vatican.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed at the hotel for two nights. That was very comfortable place for a walk tour in Rome heart. Close to Vatican city, with some much cheaper restaurants, even Chinese one and some mini and even supermarket (4 minutes to drive). And the price for two nights was only 127 euro. Room was tidy with comfortable bed, TV, air conditioning and WiFi. Breakfast comparable with the hotels, quite the same one - very sweet for those who are used to English breakfast. As the last morning we had to leave early, we asked to leave everything for breakfast so we could make them ourselves. The owner was very pleasant and showed where everything is, so we didn't have problems with that everything at all.
Very comfortable that there is a fully equipped kitchen, so we were able to prepare the food instead of having that only at the restaurants.
Before coming be sure you agreed about exact timings of arrival, or if coming not according agreed time you have the phone number of the owner. The owner is not living at the apartment. And there is no sign on the house informing about the B&B, it is only written on a small name tag in between of the rest apartments owners tags on the wall next to the doors.
Advise for those who are travelling from the B&B with public transportation - DO NOT USE BUSES, they are quite often late, even though that it is a few euro, or 50 cents (if traveling to Fiumicino airport), better use Metro. Starting from S.Pietro stop with FL3 or FL5, changing at the Trastevere (second stop) to FL1 going directly to the Fiumicino airport. Totally that costs 8 Euro for one person (ticket is valid for both trains), trip takes about 50 minutes. For a way back to Fiumicino we tried to take buses - first No 64 going to train station (Termini) (took about 40 minutes), then from the station taking a Shuttle bus (took about the 1 hour). Public buses has awful ticket machines which do not give the change back. Totally 7,50 Euro (1,5 euro public bus and 6 euro Shuttle bus) if you put to the ticket machine exactly 1,5 euro, nearly 2 hours of trip.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Virginija G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Il Cantico
#198 of 1,273 in Rome
461 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,273 in Rome
7,021 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#453 of 1,273 in Rome
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#105 of 1,273 in Rome
1,243 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#219 of 1,273 in Rome
1,083 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#74 of 1,273 in Rome
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alle Porte del Vaticano B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alle Porte del Vaticano B&B

Address: Via Gregorio VII 80 | Prati Citta Del Vaticano, 00165 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,256 of 3,765 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: €38 - €82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alle Porte del Vaticano B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B & B Alle Porte del Vaticano is located in a building of the early 900 in the Prati / Vatican City, in Via Gregorio Vii, one of the streets that lead to the beautiful St. Peter's Basilica in which they take the Masses of the Pope. Property is located a short walk from Castel Sant'Angelo, Corso Vittorio Emanuele II and the Trastevere district and is located in a strategic position that will allow you to easily reach the city's historic center, Piazza Navona, Campo de Fiori, Pizza del Popolo , Piazza Venezia etc. Etc. The area offers a wide choice of restaurants, bars, pharmacies, supermarkets, tobacconists, shops and proximity to public transportation make it easy to get around in the Eternal City. The metro line A Ottaviano is 10 minutes walk away, and right at the exit of our Bed and Breakfast will find links to the bus No. 916 And No. 881 For Piazza Venezia crossing Corso Vittorio Emanuele II, connecting the cities of ancient Rome and modern Rome, To reach us we have about 100 meters away the San Pietro station connected to the main railway stations in the capital and also a possible direct connection with the Bus No. 64 From Termini Station. B & B At the gates of the Vatican offers modern and comfortable rooms with an original design and modern thought to create a pleasant and induce relaxation. Our rooms are spacious and comfortable, equipped with wooden floors, private bathrooms and shared, air conditioning, Wi-Fi, satellite TV, safes, courtesy kit and hairdryer. B & B At the gates of the Vatican is the perfect solution for both business and bussines ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alle Porte del Vaticano B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing