We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

Vecchia Osteria del Gelsomino
Reserve with
Vecchia Osteria del Gelsomino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,077 of 13,795 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$34
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

We went to this restaurant on a Saturday night about 9 PM and it was about half full. Our waitress was quite busy and spoke almost no English, but she tried her best to communicate with us since we speak no Italian. We waited about 15 minutes to get the menu. We ordered pasta with porcini mushrooms and pasta with broccoli and grilled vegetables. We shared the 3 dishes. To us, the food seemed bland and the broccoli seemed limp and overcooked. The mushroom dish was a little tastier. Since one of us is a vegetarian, we ordered no meat dish. Perhaps this restaurant specializes in meat? We couldn't find the menu online before our visit. When we tried to pay, the credit card machine didn't accept our card, which we have used throughout Italy with no problem, so we paid in Euros.

Thank cynchChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenzo M, Proprietario at Vecchia Osteria del Gelsomino, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018
Google Translation

Grazie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

We booked a table last night and had to come back tonight as it was a fabulous experience. Food amazing, good value for money, great ambiance and lovely staff. Very much recommend this restaurant.

Thank Clareilett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenzo M, Proprietario at Vecchia Osteria del Gelsomino, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Thanks for the Cortese Review, your satisfaction is for us reason for pride, we are waiting for you to taste our other specialties, and maybe even to toast with a good wine. Thanks again, a hug. Lorenzo.
sorry for my english, I use the translator. thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

We went to this restaurant with a group, and all shared a planned, multi-course meal. The atmosphere was definitely old Italian, and all of the food courses were excellent. The house wines, both red and white, were great as well.
When it got a bit warm in the place, the owner was quick to turn on an above-window a/c unit for us - much appreciated!
This restaurant is within a couple of blocks of the Vatican wall, just below the southwest corner of Vatican City.

1  Thank Mink52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenzo M, Proprietario at Vecchia Osteria del Gelsomino, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017
Google Translation

Grazie per la gentile recensione, spero di riavervi quanto prima nel nostro Locale per farvi Gustare altre nostre Specialità e magari brindare insieme con un buon Bicchiere di Vino. Grazie di Nuovo. Un Abbraccio. Lorenzo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

We are staying in a nice little HomeAway apartment Via Gregoiro II. The owner of the apartment had recommended this place as a good, reasonable place to eat. On our first day we tried to eat here, but they did not open up until 7:30, so we had to try someplace else. On our list night in Rome, we came back at 7:30 and had a great experience. The food was great, wine was inexpensive, service top notch. We just enjoyed our last dinner in Rome and relived the the 5 days we spent here. Finished off with some very unique Tiramisu, that we ordered another one. We ended staying until right before they closed at about 10:00 . So glad we were able to eat here

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rick-Rozzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenzo M, Proprietario at Vecchia Osteria del Gelsomino, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017
Google Translation

Grazie per la Gentile recensione, la vostra soddisfazione è Orgoglio per noi, spero che torniate a ritrovarci presto, e brinderemo con un buon bicchiere di Vino. Un abbraccio. Lorenzo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

The food was fantastic. Our table tried several dishes they had to offer and all of them where better than the next. Make sure to save room for the Tiramisu, it was so good we ordered a second.

Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenzo M, Proprietario at Vecchia Osteria del Gelsomino, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017
Google Translation

Grazie per la Gentile recensione, la vostra soddisfazione è Orgoglio per noi, spero che torniate a ritrovarci presto, e brinderemo con un buon bicchiere di Vino. Un abbraccio. Lorenzo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vecchia Osteria del Gelsomino also viewed

Rome, Province of Rome
 
Rome, Province of Rome
Rome, Province of Rome
 
Rome, Province of Rome
Rome, Province of Rome
 

Been to Vecchia Osteria del Gelsomino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing