We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Days in Rome”

Vecchia Osteria del Gelsomino
Reserve with
Vecchia Osteria del Gelsomino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,134 of 13,430 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$35
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 6 July 2017

We are staying in a nice little HomeAway apartment Via Gregoiro II. The owner of the apartment had recommended this place as a good, reasonable place to eat. On our first day we tried to eat here, but they did not open up until 7:30, so we had to try someplace else. On our list night in Rome, we came back at 7:30 and had a great experience. The food was great, wine was inexpensive, service top notch. We just enjoyed our last dinner in Rome and relived the the 5 days we spent here. Finished off with some very unique Tiramisu, that we ordered another one. We ended staying until right before they closed at about 10:00 . So glad we were able to eat here

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rick-Rozzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenzo M, Proprietario at Vecchia Osteria del Gelsomino, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017
Google Translation

Grazie per la Gentile recensione, la vostra soddisfazione è Orgoglio per noi, spero che torniate a ritrovarci presto, e brinderemo con un buon bicchiere di Vino. Un abbraccio. Lorenzo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2017

The food was fantastic. Our table tried several dishes they had to offer and all of them where better than the next. Make sure to save room for the Tiramisu, it was so good we ordered a second.

Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenzo M, Proprietario at Vecchia Osteria del Gelsomino, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017
Google Translation

Grazie per la Gentile recensione, la vostra soddisfazione è Orgoglio per noi, spero che torniate a ritrovarci presto, e brinderemo con un buon bicchiere di Vino. Un abbraccio. Lorenzo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

Very nice atmosphere, traditional setting (nice bikes). Kind owner and service. Food is just outstanding (try the oxtail), wine perfekt. We shall return.

Thank mereszt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenzo M, Proprietario at Vecchia Osteria del Gelsomino, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017
Google Translation

Grazie per la Gentile Recensione, la Vostra Soddisfazione è per noi Motivo di Orgoglio nel Nostro Lavoro, Spero di riavervi quanto prima nel nostro Locale per farvi Gustare altre Nostre Specialità e magari Brindare insieme con un Buon Bicchiere di Vino. Grazie di Nuovo. Un Abbraccio. Lorenzo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

Very typical italian hosteria, serving good variety Of pasta and meat.
Ingredients are traditional, with taste.
I strongly suggest Abbacchio alla romana, and carciofi as vegetables.
A tasty tiramisù homeMade, to finish.
Price around 30/35 eu X person.

Thank ChrisItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenzo M, Proprietario at Vecchia Osteria del Gelsomino, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017
Google Translation

Grazie per la gentile recensione, spero di riavervi quanto prima nel nostro Locale per farvi Gustare altre nostre Specialità e magari brindare insieme con un buon Bicchiere di Vino. Grazie di Nuovo. Un Abbraccio. Lorenzo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Not even me, a foodie and fun of my italian and roman cuisine, I knew this restaurant. Thanks to friends and family I had a full immersion in a the true Roman cuisine, with the fundamental dishes that must be tried once in a lifetime ( and hopefully more!)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gaia1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenzo M, Proprietario at Vecchia Osteria del Gelsomino, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2017
Google Translation

Grazie per la gentile recensione, spero di riavervi quanto prima nel nostro Locale per farvi Gustare altre nostre Specialità e magari brindare insieme con un buon Bicchiere di Vino. Grazie di Nuovo. Un Abbraccio. Lorenzo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vecchia Osteria del Gelsomino also viewed

 

Been to Vecchia Osteria del Gelsomino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;