We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B ever”
Review of MilleQuattrocento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MilleQuattrocento
Ranked #3 of 55 Gaeta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This was probably the best B&B we've ever stayed in. We initially booked just three nights and wanted Gaeta to be a short, convenient, calm rest after Rome - and before Naples. But our hosts were so charming and helpful, the building and the area were so amazingly atmospheric, that after the very first breakfast (accompanied by lovely music, quite obviously not radio but specifically selected by the hosts) we asked if there were any rooms available for a few more nights. Luckily there were, and we ended up spending five nights. Breakfasts included, among other things to choose from, very good coffee and delicious small babàs.

The old part of Gaeta, where the B&B is located, is absolutely fantastic - lots and lots of half-hidden passages and stairs going in all directions, a generous amount of local color and whimsy (abandoned military zones etc.) - but unless you have a car, you do have to climb a lot of stairs. There are 104 steps to climb from the Duomo square to the door of the B&B (yes, one night we counted :), and this is not for the faint of heart. Also, the restaurants we found to be the best were in another part of the city - closer to Corso Italia and Via Garibaldi. We enjoyed long after-dinner strolls back to the medieval city, but obviously this can be a problem for other people.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jashiin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

we had a superb stay (8-9 may 2014) at this romantic, charming B&B, situated in the ancient part of Gaeta, on the top of the hill. Room with a very nice view on the town and the sea. Very good breakfast outside on the toproof terrace, served by the very sympathic owners, Martha & Pasquale, who gives us also very good tips for visiting Gaeta (the old city, nice little Fontania beach, the parc,, cave Turco) and dinner places. We loved it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We had a wonderful two night stay with Pasquale and Marta (7 & 8th Nov.2013) . It was a perfect stopover between our flight into Rome and our two weeks on the Amalfi Coast. Yes, it was tricky to find as our Tom Tom could only get us so far - but Pasquale came to our rescue and guided us to the private and safe car park where we left our vehicle until we left Gaeta. We are both 60 and love walking and we found Gaeta a lovely town to walk through with lots of excellent places to eat even though we were there in the off season. Our accommodation was very romantic, with a beautiful view of the bay, a comfortable four poster bed and large bathroom. We were made to feel extremely welcome and nothing was a problem for our hosts. We wish we had stayed one more day. We highly recommend MilleQuattrocento which incidentally is the year this amazing house was built!

Room Tip: We had a top floor room - best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamelaBWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed recently at MilleQuattrocento for one night on our way to Sorrento and loved the place. I had chosen this accommodation because it had a lot of character, being a 16th century tower in the old town and we were not disappointed.The view from the breakfast terrace on the 3rd floor was magnificent and the rooms were charming. We stayed in Maestrale on the 2nd floor whereas my mother and aunt stayed in Libeccio on the 1st floor, a smaller room but also decorated with taste. I believe there are only 3 rooms in this B&B so it was very quiet.
But more than anything it was the welcome we received from Pasquale and Marta, their kindness and their willingness to help which made the place memorable. Pasquale even offered to drive our car up the narrow, windy road to their home as my mother could not have managed the steep steps going straight from the old square to the property. We left the car overnight in the small private car park and this was a bit of a relief as parking in Italy can be tricky. However you would probably have to mention that you need parking when booking as space is limited.

As for Gaeta I would recommend eating at the restaurant Masaniello. The place did not look much from outside but it was one of the best seafood/fish meal we had during our stay in Southern Italy. We were not so impressed with Narì, another restaurant nearby where we had dinner, although the setting was much nicer. My mother and aunts raved about their mushroom soup but the seafood risotto and gnocchi Bolognese were disappointing. I would not recommend using what seems the only local taxi either. We waited for more than 30mns for it to pick us up from the restaurant, were quoted 10 euro for a 5mns ride back to the hotel and were finally charged 12 euro ( although it is admittedly a steep road and we were four passengers).

But all in all we enjoyed our brief stay in Gaeta and if we ever come back to this part of Italy will certainly book a room at MilleQuatrocento again.

Room Tip: The room on the 2nd floor is the largest with an extra settee and lovely views toward the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cf070261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

the staff, the city, the place, the rooms - all great!
the location is graet to.
the owners are super-nice.
Gaeta is perfect for a stop of 1-2 days on the drive from Rome to the south.

we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hadar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gaeta hotels
6.4 km away
Grand Hotel Le Rocce
Grand Hotel Le Rocce
#1 of 11 in Gaeta
532 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Gajeta
Hotel Gajeta
#4 of 11 in Gaeta
391 reviews
3 km away
Il Bottone d'Argento B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Il Quartuccio B&B Gaeta
1.9 km away
La Torretta Bed & Breakfast
0.1 km away
il Vecchio e il Mare
il Vecchio e il Mare
#7 of 55 in Gaeta
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MilleQuattrocento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MilleQuattrocento

Address: Via Aragonese, 04024 Gaeta, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Latina > Gaeta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Gaeta
Price Range: €59 - €80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MilleQuattrocento 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated between Rome and Naples and located a few steps to the Castle of Anjou and Aragon and to the Regional Park of Monte Orlando in Gaeta historical centre Bed and Breakfast MilleQuattrocento is housed in a 15th Century palace and offers an enchanting view on the Gulf of Gaeta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your MilleQuattrocento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing