We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable villa in a lovely area”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of villa fontania

Villa Fontania
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Fontania
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Villa Fontania
during the day
in the night
first room
second room
third room with two single bed
the swimming pool
to go to the first floor
one of the two bathroom
one terrace
the second terrace
kitchen
your relax
the pool from the saloon
the gazebo from the terrace
relax.....
the pool
pool and house
the house
the entrance
the view
the view
the pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Gaeta, Province of Latina, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Vicky L
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable villa in a lovely area”
Reviewed 3 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We visited for a week as a family of 6 (grandparents, parents & children) and found Villa Fontania to be a perfect size for our needs. There was plenty of space and we didn't find ourselves living in each others' pockets, thanks to the upstairs bedroom, bathroom and terrace.

The pool was a hit with the children and was used every day during our stay. There was a well-equipped kitchen downstairs and a barbecue on the upstairs terrace which we made use of on several evenings whilst we watched the sun set over Gaeta.

Dario was at the villa when we arrived and showed us around and also advising us how to resolve any potential problems should they occur during our stay. He even pointed out landmarks we could see from the upper terraces as well as advising us of places to eat in the local area and of the festival which began the day before we had to leave. On the day of departure he arrived to see us out at 7am as we had to catch our flight from Rome.

Gaeta is an Italian tourist area and we enjoyed seeing Italy in a different light, where we had to attempt to speak a little of the language. If this is the type of holiday you're after, then I'd recommend you stay at Villa Fontania.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare B
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent. Loved the villa and the area.”
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed at this villa unsure of what to think after reading other reviews. It was lovely and Dario and his wife were so friendly also professional with the dealings of the paperwork. The villa has character being a bit old, but it's all so nicely decorated and well cared for, so much thought has gone into this villa, inside and outside, it's off road parking and has gates for extra security, it was so nice having a lovely garden to enjoy or sit on the balconies enjoying the views which were gorgeous. It is close to the main town which was also a really nice place and the beach but also for travelling around it's in the middle of a lot of places. We will visit again for definite.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The villa was lovely and having different areas to sit outside made the holiday complete
Liked least: No clothes airer for washed clothes.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maarten K
Overijse, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful views outside, redecoration needed on the inside”
Reviewed 23 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We really liked the terraces, overlooking Gaeta and the sea. Also, Dario is very friendly, reliable, precise and has a Swiss feel for punctuality.

On the improvement side: the house was ok-clean. Yet at a cleaning cost of €135 for the house (the highest I ever paid) I would have expected it to be impeccable. The style is a mix between nautical and Bali, well represented in the pictures. The current quality of the property is so-so. Items like the windows that close difficultly, we felt the bedsprings in the mattress, a very basic bathroom with weather stained wallpaper that need a fresh approach, indicate some effort is needed.

Internet will be added in 2015 Dario said. It would be good to review a few of the basics of his property too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views
Liked least: quality inside
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123124124...
UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful views make up for the dated decor”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The best thing about this villa is its hillside location. The views just kept getting better as owner Dario showed us around the property. There are plenty of options for sitting outside, chilling, drinking or dining. The pool was clean and big enough for our needs.
The villa has a really personal feel with plenty of space and decent furniture. Some of the rooms feel a little bit dated but the views more than make up for that.
It's location could problematic if you do not have transport and do not enjoy walking. The walk down the hill to the main beach and the nearest shop took about 15-20 minutes depending on the heat, longer to walk back up! We eventually figured out that there is an hourly circular tourist bus during August, with a stop about 5 minutes away outside the nearest bar. The walk to the old town takes over an hour but is pleasant if it is not too hot.
The owner, Dario, is a real gentleman. He was extremely helpful and provided plenty of information and local recommendations before and during our arrival. Dario was at the house a few times throughout the week for various reasons but never imposed himself on us. Dario also arranged for a taxi to pick us up and drop us at Formia railway station.
Gaeta itself is a beautiful hidden gem to the foreign traveller. Little English is spoken here -a plus in our eyes. The old town is definitely recommended and the beaches are busy but not overcrowded. Take a stroll down the lane of independent shops and we would recommend hiring a boat from the moorings opposite Villa Delle Sirene behind the Tide Bar.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 25 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Dario was very helpfull. The different places you could sit in the garden and upstairs - very nice.
Liked least: It looked a bit different inside, compared to the photos - not a big problem but one of the rooms were smaller than expected.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 May 2014
thanks for your opinion and kisses from Gaeta
Dario
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing