We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Clarean
Nearby Hotels
US$264
US$231
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$263
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Europeo & Flowers(Naples)(Great Value!)
US$581
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$163
US$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$213
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$210
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grand Hotel Europa(Naples)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Nuvo(Naples)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$260
US$215
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$219
US$205
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
12
39
26
21
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
39
26
21
23
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2017

Its a cheap room so you get what you pay for, the plus is the location - its fab and is only a 3 min walk away to the Napoli Centrale Train station which is why i booked this hotel to use as a base travelling to Rome / Pompeii / Sorrento.

HOWEVER, be prepared to get little sleep, the air con is noisy, the area is scruffy and there are street traders directly outside the hotel, its not a nice area but i never felt unsafe.

My advise is to book somewhere outside of Naples as i wasnt impressed, i walked to the National Geographic Museum to see the Pompeii stuff (amazing) and Napoli isnt a very pretty place. Lack of sleep, noise inside the hotel (small hotel so you hear every conversation) together with the noise outside the hotel means I wont be coming back to Naples again - Italy Yes but not Naples.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retroboy-1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 4nights and used it as a base for sleeping only whilst travelling around Vesuvius/Ercolano and Sorrento. The location is a 5 minute walk from the train/tram station.
The hotel is exactly what you want- friendly staff, decent continental pastries and a safe hotel.
I would go again if I was using this as a base ton travel from but not necessarily to enjoy the luxuries of hotel life.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Solotravellgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016

We arrived in the morning so we asked if we could leave our luggage at the front desk. They accepted but we later realized that they just left it between the elevator and the front desk, where everyone could see it and steal it especially as there is not always staff around. Next we asked if we could use the bathroom before checking in so they let us use the bathroom in the lobby. We saw a HUGE COACKROACH of 3 inches in there so we complained and they took us to an other bathroom downstairs that was dirty and spider nets all around. Since we didn't want to waste time finding another hotel, we decided to stay. The hallway has been remodelled and the doors have an electronic lock system (that is the only good thing about the hotel). Our bathroom was dirty and old, we saw hair on the toilet, and there was dust everywhere in the room, although the had told us our room had been cleaned by the staff. The neighborhood is creepy and the receptionist is rude. Breakfast is free but disgusting

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Worst hotel I've ever been.
The staff is terrible.
The area is like the third world.
The wifi doesn't work.
We ask them to find a solution they never did.
The food is disgusting.
The cleaning lady is nice at least.
The young guy at the desk is the worst: no smile, nothing at all...
Never go there

Stayed: August 2016
Thank doodtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

If you arrive at the Central train station in Naples (Napoli Centrale), on Piazza Garibaldi, Hotel Clarean is close enough to drag your luggage about three blocks to a hotel with a lift, and is convenient to the trains to other parts of Italy, including the Circumvesuviana trains to Pompeii and Herculaneum, and to the Metro station inside the train station. It is a quick cab ride from the airport. Don't forget, though, that like many hotels in Europe, it is not air conditioned, so you are getting what you pay for plus very loud street noise throughout the night if it is too hot to close the windows. The final straw for us was that both evenings we were there, we had no hot water.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews