We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,063)
Filter reviews
1,063 results
Traveller rating
501
339
127
57
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
501
339
127
57
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews converted monastery bay of naples pool area roof garden restaurant terrace pool closes unique hotel funicular railway spanish quarter seventh floor overlooking the bay small pool jacuzzi bath mini fridge mount vesuvius superior room loved this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 1,063 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Beautiful room in this converted monastery. Plenty of historical features to explore within the hotel. Roof terrace with small pool and hidden pool in the rock. Polite staff and good food.
Downside - there are weddings almost daily. Marriages tend to be late in the day at the church next door. Meal in the large hall on the 3rd floor followed by reception which can be very noisy. In good weather this all takes place on the roof terrace so no disturbance for guests. If the weather is poor have earplugs to hand.
Location- very central to explore the bay below or the town up on the hill.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the Bay of Naples
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pevbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianna S, Director of Sales at Hotel San Francesco al Monte, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Dear Pevbay,

thank you for your review. We are pleased that you have appreciated the special atmosphere of our Hotel. Exactly, it is a converted monastery full of history. Thank you also on behalf of our staff.

Regarding the weddings, you have reason. Unfortunately, the unfavorable weather conditions didn't allow us to make all the marriages occur on the roof terrace. We are so sorry for this inconvenience but we hope that you would come back soon to our Hotel.

I wish you a good day.

Best Regards,

Marianna Sarno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

Breakfast is good with a gorgeous view. The roof terrace and pool are also stunning (but they shut for private functions from 5 so kiss goodbye to the view / sunset as summer is wedding season) The room was on the small side and quite dark. The area is edgy and fun to explore. The staff were pleasant but not as helpful and informative as we would have liked (luckily we have lonely planet). FYI they cater to gluten free at breakfast (as do most places in Naples)

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Leo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianna S, Director of Sales at Hotel San Francesco al Monte, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Dear Leo G,

thank you for your review. We are happy that you have appreciated our roof terrace and our pool. We want to say you that these ones function until 5 pm for two important reasons.

Firstly, because of the maintenance. We have to proceed to the change of chlorine in the pool and this takes a long time. Secondly, because our lifeguard attendant at that time finishes his shift and the pool can't be remain opened without the presence of the responsible.

We are sorry that you have not appreciated your room. Why don't you have said that to us, while your staying? If it had been possible, maybe we could have changed the room. We are so sorry also about what you have said about the staff. They are very pleasant but also helpful and informative. But we will take into consideration your highlighting.

Yes, we cater to gluten free at breakfast and also at lunch or dinner.

Hope to see you soon in our Hotel, I wish you a good day.

Best Regards,
Marianna Sarno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Really enjoyed our stay here in August. Staff were very friendly and helpful and made our stay so personal. the view from the bedrooms is sensational...the whole gulf of Naples and Island of Capri. the rooftop pool is really special, an idea place for relaxation. We didn't really enjoy Naples as a city (very dirty) however this hotel was literally our haven and made our holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianna S, Director of Sales at Hotel San Francesco al Monte, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Dear Aine T,

we want to thank you for your review about our Hotel. The aim of an holiday is that to have some relax, so we are really pleased that you have had a great time in our Hotel.

We are so sorry that you have not appreciated our City. Naples is a beautiful city, of course with its problems as all the other big cities in the world. But it is also rich of arts, history and wonderful places. We hope to see you soon in our Hotel, therefore you would have the chance to enjoy also our beautiful city.

Best Regards,

Marianna Sarno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

great place if you want to atone for your sins, should had kept as a convent. as it is they didnt make any big effort to improve. well... yes , the view is beautiful, but so it is at the Parkers , that is much less expensive and a real hotel. this place is a project abandoned mid way.... and dont be fooled by the pool,its more like a basin coming from a grotty grottto ....attendend by a grumpy attendant .....never again.

Room Tip: another hotel
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParisBrunetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianna S, Owner at Hotel San Francesco al Monte, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Dear Mr. Brunetti,

I have read with a lot of attention your review and after a careful survey, we are sure that you have never been to our Hotel. We suppose that you want to use only our pool, as a lot of guests of other Hotels do, and you have been stopped by our "grump" attendant because the use of the pool and of the roof garden is not allowed for people who don't lodge in our Hotel. This denial has provoked your "vindictive" reaction, writing on Trip Advisor, trying to damage the image of our Hotel. The reviewers of Trip Advisor surely will understand which are the reviews to take into consideration.

Dear Mr. Brunetti, although your unfounded offenses, I want to give you a friendly advice: keep attention to these "suffering monks", because if they feel offended, they could react and trouble your sleep.

I wish you a good day Mr. Brunetti.

Best Regards

Mario Pagliari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. The room was nice. We had a superior room. It had a seating area and stairs up to the bathroom. We loved this quirkiness. Breakfast was lovely. The views were gorgeous of the bay and mount Vesuvius. We had drinks on the rooftop after our dinner out and it was beautiful. There is a lovely pool area although we did not use it.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
We loved Naples. We loved the edgy feel. We never felt unsafe but again it's about taking the right precautions, which we did. If you are off to Amalfi, spend a day or two here first and walk the city. Visit the monastery at the top and walk the old town and find the Banksy. We loved it.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank murphyph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianna S, Director of Sales at Hotel San Francesco al Monte, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Dear murphyph,

Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay here at the San Francesco al Monte. It is always a pleasure seeing that our guest can appreciate the special atmosphere of our Hotel, which was an old monastery.
Thank you also on behalf of our staff. We are pleased that you have appreciated our city. Naples is so beautiful, with its places full of history and arts.

We hope to see you soon in Naples.

Best Regards
Marianna Sarno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews