We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Dinner for 2 in Sorrento!”
Review of L'Antica Trattoria

L'Antica Trattoria
Ranked #14 of 288 Restaurants in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
San Rafael
1 review
“Romantic Dinner for 2 in Sorrento!”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We had our hotel call over and reserve a table for 2 the second night in Sorrento. I didn't have my expectations too high because this restaurant is located in the center of the touristy area, but both my wife and I were blown away by the excellent food and service. We went for the 70 Euro/each surprise dinner which had about 6 courses with wine pairing (two bottle) and each dish was spectacular. There was a very nice mix of both seafood and both pork and beef dishes followed by an assortment of desert. On our way out at around midnight the owner poured us a Fernet Branco digestive on the house and took time for small talk. It was a very memorable night with excellent food and service above and beyond. We would definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Filip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,492
    655
    228
    126
    88
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Found this restaurant in Rick Steeves book. It was surely a good pick. We went for lunch. I had the cheese filled ravioli with a cream sauce. It was yummy. The bread was also very good. All of us received 10% off our food for showing Rick's book. The restaurant is also a museum. Many beautiful pieces of art. A wonderful place to enjoy lunch or dinner.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Freckles2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best setting in Sorrento for special dining”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

L'Antica Trattoria was recommended by experienced travelers, so we reserved a table to celebrate our 43rd anniversary. The three expectations for a great dining experience were exceeded - beautiful setting, cordial wait staff and premier culinary selections presented with flair. We selected a variety of homemade pastas and local seafood and loved everything served. If we return to Sorrento, we will look forward to another memorable dinner.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grandparents2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!!”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We had the most amazing meal here. Its a must on a visit to Sorrento..Staff are so nice and the food was out of this world. Make a reservation - we had a lovely table inside..
We will be back!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Cal2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“A wonderful evening!”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The restaurant was recommended by Rick Steves, and I can see why. The welcome by Aldo, the patrone, was warm and courtly. We dined lightly but very well, and enjoyed an excellent prosecco. The ambience is elegant--the indoor terrace was filled with flowers and beautifully lit. Enzo, the mandolin player, was funny and happy to play requests. It sounds hokey, but it wasn't! Definitely recommended.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Janeite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Antica Trattoria also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to L'Antica Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing