We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 24 November 2011

I stayed for a week at the Hotel Plaza with my mother in a twin comfort room. Our room was spacious and had a balcony overlooking the street in front of the hotel - when you were on the balcony you could see the square and the bay in the distance. The first night we were there we left the balcony door open but were awakened at about 3am with people shouting from the street - it was a Saturday night - we didn't experience this any other nights, but slept with the door closed.

There are a lot of positive things to say about the Hotel Plaza and I think it is excellent value for the money. The rooms are modern, comfortable and kept spotlessly clean by the friendly staff. The front desk staff make you feel as if nothing is too much trouble and there was always a smile to welcome us back. The location is perfect - it is a minute to walk to the square, a few minutes to the train/bus station and convenient to walk anywhere else in Sorrento. The breakfast is good if a little heavy on the sweet cakes - there could be more variety for people who are staying longer than a couple of days. My mother and I both like beds on the softer side and ours were quite firm - we asked for and received numerous extra duvets to put on top of our mattresses and this helped a lot.

My mother and I went on the open top bus tour which we enjoyed. We also took the train to Pompeii for the day and took the bus to Positano. The absolute highlight for us was having a driver (Raffaele Monetti - monettitaxi17@libero it take us on a tour of the Amalfi Coast. Raffaele was pleasant, knowledgeable and a very good and safe driver. This is an experience we will never forget.

We found plenty to do in Sorrento and surroundings for the week. The weather in October was much cooler than we hoped for, but it didn't rain. On the nicer days I would sit up on the rooftop deck and read - it was quiet and pleasant out of the wind.

I have no hesitation in recommending Hotel Plaza.

Room Tip: Spend the extra to get a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sapphire22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,147
    364
    38
    11
    2
See reviews for
341
885
35
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2011

4 discerning lady travellers had a wonderul stay at the Plaza. It was very clean, nicely decorated and served a good and varied breakfast. The location was idea for the port, restaurants and shopping areas. The hotel staff could not be faulted - nothing was too much trouble. Although the hotel car park was charged daily (10 euro's), staff happily parked and retrieved the car as required.If i'm ever able to return to Sorrento i would head for the Plaza without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Great hotel in convenient location close to the city square. Rooms a bit small but very clean. The people at the desk were very polite and accomodating. The roof deck and pool was a pleasant surprise. The breakfast buffet was very generous with pastries, eggs and meat. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunoplaza, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, 19 November 2011
Dear guest, thank you for taking your time to write such a positive review after your recent visit to the Plaza Hotel. We are pleased to note that, in your appreciative comments, you underlined three elements that we consider extremely important : cleanness, generous quality breakfast, service.
While awaiting your next visit to the "fantastic" Plaza Hotel in the "beautiful" Sorrento, we send our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
augusta, georgia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

What a pleasant surprise this hotel was for me. So often tours book hotels that are uncomfortable but not this time. It was ideally located just steps from the main square in Sorrento adjacent to wonderful shopping.
The hotel was spotless. The employees of the hotel were so accommodating. The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. I cannot recommend this recently renovated hotel more highly. It passed every test for me.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms on the front have balconys but the trade off is street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rudidot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunoplaza, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, 19 November 2011
Dear guest, thank you for your most positive review.
We were very pleased to read that we passed every test for you and that besides the Plaza ideal location, you enjoyed our comfortable beds, spacious rooms and attentive service.
We can't wait to pass another test when you visit us again in the near future.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We stayed here during our honeymoon the week of May 19th 2011. Gorgeous hotel in a gorgeous little city. Loved Sorrento! Hotel Plaza was a short walk from the Circumvesuviana (10 minutes). 5 minute walk from Pizzeria De Franco. Best pizza I've ever had. The hotel is beautifully decorated. Light, white, greens. Fresh and bright. The concierge/front desk was quick and informative. They recommended a private driver to take us down the coast for a couple hundred euros for about 8 or 9 hours. The rooms were small but not tiny. Just enough to come back to after a long day and lay down. The bathrooms were clean and modern. We had breakfast downstairs which was nice. Pastries, tarts, yogurt, fruit, meats, breads, juices. The location is one of the best parts about it. It is right near the main road where you can find bars, nearby gelaterias, restaurants, shopping, and the marina right below. All within walking distance. The only cab we took was when we ate dinner at the Marina Grande which is a little bit further and down the steep cliffside. This hotel will definitely be on our go to list when we go back to the Amalfi Coast.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelLuvsCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunoplaza, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, 19 November 2011
Dear guest, thank you for your lovely review! We are pleased that you liked the Plaza modern decor, its fresh and bright look which really make it stand out in Sorrento.
As you said, our standard rooms are not tiny. However, those who need more space may book a comfort or a superior room.
Glad to be on your "go to list"...we look forward to you next visit to the Plaza.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 km away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,255 reviews
0.5 km away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.9 km away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
1.2 km away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,911 reviews
0.5 km away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Property: Hotel Plaza
Address: Via Fuori Mura 3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Hotel is located in the heart of Sorrento. A Hotel designed in accordance with the eco-philosophy principle: a commitment to responsible management and respect of the environment. Our professional hospitality staff will welcome you to this modern structure, the result of modern design and technology, completely refurbished with Eco-compatible materials.Awake with the aroma of local delicacies offered at the Plaza Restaurant or drop into the Plaza Cafe and taste the snacks prepared for you by our chef .The interiors' warmth and charming atmosphere will embrace you, letting you discover the rooms' vibrant colors, personalized for each level, drawing you to the Sky bar terrace, where you can sip an aperitif at sunset, enjoying the views of Naples’ Bay and the picturesque Valley of the Mills. Infinity pool on the roof top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing