We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take Pasquale's advice.”
Review of Villa Monica B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Monica B&B
Ranked #3 of 130 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Take Pasquale's advice.”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

My son and I stayed at Villa Monica for three nights. In this review I will cover the location, the room, the breakfast, the hospitality and our overall impression.
However before I go on I really feel that everyone should go to Sorrento and stay at Villa Monica as it’s a destination worthy in its own right. I have travelled a lot, on this trip alone we covered Rome, down to Sicily and then up through Umbria, Emilia-Romagna and into the Tyrol (for skiing). Villa Monica was a high point for many reasons, explained below. However the most significant are almost intangible. The wonderful humour that Pasquale infused, the welcome that we received, the attention to detail that we appreciated, the advice that was personalised for us and the care he took to ensure that we were happy, safe and cared for while at Villa Monica. Villa Monica and Pasquale is what a superb Bed and Breakfast should be.
Location is everything and Villa Monica has it. You just have to reach it. My advice is, when you get to Sorrento, call Pasquale to pick you up or give you further advice. However when you get to the villa the view is amazing you can see the entire bay from your room and all the way to Vesuvius (on a clear day).
Our room was wonderful with far more than we expected. Complete with slippers, bath robes, comfortable beds and balcony with the most amazing view.
Pasquale is up early ready to welcome you for breakfast. The breakfast table is complete with fresh local produce including buns, cheeses, hams, fruits and cakes. There is far more then you could eat, but that won’t stop you from trying everything. Pasquale is there to make sure you have a good day planned and that you have the best coffee to compliment your breakfast and start your day.
Of all the Bed and Breakfasts we stayed in during our holiday Villa Monica stands out because of the personal attention to detail. This extended down to the smallest details. An example is, I left my diamond earrings on the dresser when we left (they were small and we were travelling). Pasquale reassured me that they would be safe and ensured they were safely packed and posted home to me. I was happy to welcome them home on my arrival back.
In summary Villa Monica is a treasure and worth the climb up the mountain.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabbi_from_OZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    800
    45
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
114
570
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Over the years, we have traveled to France, Spain, Greece, and other parts of Italy and frequently to South America and differents states here in America, but we have fallen in love with Sorrento and in Sorrento, with Villa Monica.
Each detail was taken care of in Villa Monica. The bedrooms were always clean, the bathroom complete of things for the guest's confort and we don't want to forget the confort of the living room area and the service of the morning breakfast.
Two things we are never going to forget are the magnificent view of the ocean, (Sorrento and other beautiful places that our eyes where able to reach from our bedroom balcony, due to the extraordinary high location of Villa Monica) and the personal atention provided by Pasquale, the owner and manager of Villa Monica. His cordiality, his sense of humor, his well programmed schedule to bring the guests back and forth to sorrento, ( approximately every two hours), made the difference to our pleasant stay at Villa Monica, in relation to other hotel and B&B that we have been in our travels.
Pasquale, what a great guy !, We always remember when He used to asked to his guests: "are you happy ? ". Our answer is, yes, we are happy to have had the opportunity to meet him and enjoy our stay at Sorrento and in particular at Villa Monica.
We wish him and his family the best.

Juan & Dora Elissetche
Worcester, MA
USA

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dora E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Sorrento is amazing!!.. The view from Villa Monica, is breathtaking..Pasquale, (owner/manager) is a fantastic host, nothing is to much trouble. he drives you to and from the villa, any time of the day..I Stayed at Villa Monica for my birthday, and on arrival Pasquale had a lovely bottle of chilled wine for me...so thoughtful!!......The room was beautiful, and the bed was so comfortable....The breakfast was very healthy and plentiful..I cant thank Pasquale enough for a very memorable holiday..i shall never forget my stay at Villa Monica.....Many Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianeshawcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

My Fiance and I had a great time in Sorrento, Pasquale (the owner/manager) is such a great host. As mentioned in other posts the Villa's are located above the town in the hills (about a 7 minute drive from the city). However Pasquale has a very impressive time table. He drives at least 5 trips a day to the city and back which works out very well when you want to either spend a couple of hours in the main shopping district or if you want to go away for the day.

Pros
The hotel as mentioned is about a 5-7 minute drive from the centre, Pasquale drives to and from Sorrento all day.

The views are amazing which overlook Sorrento

The price, lets be honest it's very responable.

The breakfast is great especially outside over looking Sorrento (the croissant's are freshly made)

The rooms are very clean and comfortable

The downstairs communal area is very relaxing, there is a guitar, piano, lounge and internet etc if you want to chill for half an hour...It certainly keeps the B&B feeling which relflects on the great vibe and service from Pasquale

A great central area that enables you to visit the main tourist areas including, Mt Vesuvius, Pompeii, Amalfi coast and Isle of Capri.

Make sure you go to the restaurants Pasquale recommends, he doesnt get a commision, it's just good local advice.

Cons
I honestly can't think of any

Overall - The Villa Monica B&B is a really great place to stay in Sorrento, if you have any questions send me any quesitons

Sorry Pasquale for our poor Italian ;)

Chris

Room Tip: Pretty sure they are all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brisban3Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, HI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Really, there is not much to be said that hasn't been already stated, Villa Monica is a cute B&B, away from the city, with a breathtaking view, clean rooms, reasonable price, and out of this world service. I can't thank Pasquale enough for all of his help. We stayed at Villa Monica for 2 nights, and decided for our very last night on our honeymoon (3rd night in Sorrento), to stay in a fancy suite near the harbor. When checking out of Villa Monica, Pasquale was gracious enough to transfer our luggage to the next hotel, as we were scheduled to take a Pompeii tour at 8:30 AM that morning. Shuttle service is more than convenient, as it is offered every hour, and Pasquale is NEVER late! If you are seeking a peaceful, quaint, away from the hustle and bustle B&B, Villa Monica is the definitely the place.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerbear11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
3.0 km away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,908 reviews
2.5 km away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
2.2 km away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
1.9 km away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
2.1 km away
Palazzo Montefusco Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Monica B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Monica B&B

Property: Villa Monica B&B
Address: Via Campitiello 14 | Casarlano, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Monica B&B is a charming Bed and Breakfast on the hills of Sorrento. With a beatiful view !! For our guests a convenient free shuttle service. Breakfast and wifi free..!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Monica B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Monica Bed And Breakfast
Villa Monica Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing