We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“It worked for our one night stay.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Metropole
Ranked #80 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“It worked for our one night stay.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

PROS: The young woman at the desk when we checked in was VERY helpful. Other staff that we encountered at the desk were friendly, but not overly. The rooms were clean, and for the price we were happy. It had free parking, and free wifi(although we couldn't get the signal on our first floor room) There was a swimming pool but we didn't take advantage of it. The bus down into Sorrento stopped just outside the hotel and the hotel sold tickets for it which made it very easy for us to go down into the town for dinner. Breakfast was your standard continental breakfast, no hot food. The crib that we had ordered for our daughter was in the room and ready to go when we checked in(not so in a lot of other hotels we've stayed in!!)

CONS:The hotel is a bit dated, but its clean and to me that's all that really matters. There is no beach near it, but there is a swimming pool. Its a 15 minute walk/5 min bus ride down into Sorrento so if you were looking to stay right in the middle of Sorrento, this hotel is a bit up the hill.

Room Tip: we had one on the first floor, which was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank REBurwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    153
    77
    30
    15
See reviews for
63
168
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

We visited this hotel as part of a Riviera Travel package. The hotel was situated on a noisy chaotic road junction but with good bus links to the town of Sorrento. However, the hotel was very old fashioned with an almost retro feel. It was badly in need of modernisation and internal redecoration and although clean (inside the hotel), the facilities generally were limited. The bedroom was the worst with a lumpy bed and pillows, miserable storage and surfaces for our items, broken shower doors, missing door handle and with grubby balcony furniture and no fridge or safe deposit box. Breakfast was unimaginative and the evening meals very variable. We were given a menu at breakfast to select our evening meal! The hotel offered a 'Gala dinner' and this proved to be the best dinner all week with some atmosphere. It was well attended, although a rather strange march about with the food by the waiters accompanied by music was part of the theme! We suggest the little resturant next door for a meal, very local Italian food and well cooked and a reasonable price. The excellent Riviera tour itself went some way to make up for the shortcomings of the hotel but we would not return to the Metropole as independent travellers. The Foreigners Club in Sorrento is worth a visit, nice coffee and lunch and with wonderful views over the harbour.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank elizabeth32p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metropol-Sorento, Responsabile reception at Hotel Metropole, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear guest, thank you for your kind comments.
We apologise for troubles you had when visited our hotel and we want ensure we take note of every details you reported, expecially all materasses have been changed and, regarding the noise, all rooms have double glazed windows. We renoved the kitchen staff and the new chef will improve breakfast and dinner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sorrento hotels

Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

All of the hotel was a little dated but all was extreamly clean. Reception staff very helpful and spoke good english. Rooms were at the back were quite with a large balony. Jimmy Edwards was very entertertaining through out our stay. Would reccomend lunch at the restrant next door very good pizza.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

Not recommended to any couple or family who want to enjoy a quiet relaxing holiday. The main road directly locates in front of the hotel. Even worse that there is a crossing of two roads there, so the buses are honking when passing by. Sorrento is in ca. 20 min walking distance, but part of the way is without pedestrian peavement, directly on the narrow road with heavy traffic. If someone likes breathing the exhaust of the traffic and being stressed by all vehicle to avoid accidents, then feel free to come.
Rooms located at one side of the hotel have see view, but because of the heavy traffic it is not enjoyable at all. Headache comes in ten minutes when sitting on the balcony or leaving the window open for the night.
In our view, no money has been invested into this hotel in the last 20-30 years. The sound isolation of the rooms is poor, hearing all neighbours just like in campings. The furniture is old, the beds are unconfortable, no fridge or mini bars, but with a musty smell.
The same applies to the swimming pool, where you can hear the same traffic noise all the day.
The service of the hotel is also poor, the breakfast has no varaiaty, the breakfast items are not refilled continuosly, if so, only upon request; the tables are unclean, waiters are not helpful but try to hide from requests of guests.
Changing a bulb in the room took three days despite the repeated requests.
On the top of all, our own clean beach towel was mistakenly taken away by the cleaning staff together with the used towels of the hotel; after one day, we got it back unlceaned...
We cannot understand how this hotel is advertised as a three star hotel. We will never go back and would not recommend to any friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoltaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed here at the end of July/start of August. It is located about 1 and a half km from the centre of Sorrento. The staff are extremely friendly and will go out of their way to help you. The pool area is quite clean and very relaxing. The hotel also gives you access to a provate beach located 300 yards away and is very quiet.

Only complaint is that it wouldn't be a hotel primarily for younger couples but is still a great relaxation location.

You are able to walk to Sorrento but the first 300 yards of road has no walkway which is no fault of the hotel. There is however buses which stop outside the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorrento
1.5 km away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#53 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Londra
Hotel Londra
#18 of 18 in Sant'Agnello
3.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Zi Teresa
Hotel Zi Teresa
#65 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hotel Girasole
Hotel Girasole
#60 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Property: Hotel Metropole
Address: Via Nastro Verde 2, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Metropole Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing