We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Metropole
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel Capodimonte(Sorrento)
US$512
US$388
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$435/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento(Sorrento)
US$467
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$333
US$317
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
US$564
US$542
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$391
US$362
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 42% below average rates

The price you found is 42% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$626/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$725
US$598
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$158
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$237/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$332
US$254
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cesare Augusto(Sorrento)
US$228
US$205
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori(Sorrento)
US$978
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (419)
Filter reviews
420 results
Traveller rating
83
188
94
32
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
188
94
32
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusy roadhalf boardthe busgala nightair conhot dog sausagesevening mealbay of naplesthree choicesthomas cookcrossing the roadclean towelsfabulous holidaytowels changed dailytraditional hotelsunbathing areasea view
Filter
Updating list...
236 - 241 of 420 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We visited this hotel as part of a Riviera Travel package. The hotel was situated on a noisy chaotic road junction but with good bus links to the town of Sorrento. However, the hotel was very old fashioned with an almost retro feel. It was badly in need of modernisation and internal redecoration and although clean (inside the hotel), the facilities generally were limited. The bedroom was the worst with a lumpy bed and pillows, miserable storage and surfaces for our items, broken shower doors, missing door handle and with grubby balcony furniture and no fridge or safe deposit box. Breakfast was unimaginative and the evening meals very variable. We were given a menu at breakfast to select our evening meal! The hotel offered a 'Gala dinner' and this proved to be the best dinner all week with some atmosphere. It was well attended, although a rather strange march about with the food by the waiters accompanied by music was part of the theme! We suggest the little resturant next door for a meal, very local Italian food and well cooked and a reasonable price. The excellent Riviera tour itself went some way to make up for the shortcomings of the hotel but we would not return to the Metropole as independent travellers. The Foreigners Club in Sorrento is worth a visit, nice coffee and lunch and with wonderful views over the harbour.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank elizabeth32p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metropol-Sorento, Responsabile reception at Hotel Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear guest, thank you for your kind comments.
We apologise for troubles you had when visited our hotel and we want ensure we take note of every details you reported, expecially all materasses have been changed and, regarding the noise, all rooms have double glazed windows. We renoved the kitchen staff and the new chef will improve breakfast and dinner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

All of the hotel was a little dated but all was extreamly clean. Reception staff very helpful and spoke good english. Rooms were at the back were quite with a large balony. Jimmy Edwards was very entertertaining through out our stay. Would reccomend lunch at the restrant next door very good pizza.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Not recommended to any couple or family who want to enjoy a quiet relaxing holiday. The main road directly locates in front of the hotel. Even worse that there is a crossing of two roads there, so the buses are honking when passing by. Sorrento is in ca. 20 min walking distance, but part of the way is without pedestrian peavement, directly on the narrow road with heavy traffic. If someone likes breathing the exhaust of the traffic and being stressed by all vehicle to avoid accidents, then feel free to come.
Rooms located at one side of the hotel have see view, but because of the heavy traffic it is not enjoyable at all. Headache comes in ten minutes when sitting on the balcony or leaving the window open for the night.
In our view, no money has been invested into this hotel in the last 20-30 years. The sound isolation of the rooms is poor, hearing all neighbours just like in campings. The furniture is old, the beds are unconfortable, no fridge or mini bars, but with a musty smell.
The same applies to the swimming pool, where you can hear the same traffic noise all the day.
The service of the hotel is also poor, the breakfast has no varaiaty, the breakfast items are not refilled continuosly, if so, only upon request; the tables are unclean, waiters are not helpful but try to hide from requests of guests.
Changing a bulb in the room took three days despite the repeated requests.
On the top of all, our own clean beach towel was mistakenly taken away by the cleaning staff together with the used towels of the hotel; after one day, we got it back unlceaned...
We cannot understand how this hotel is advertised as a three star hotel. We will never go back and would not recommend to any friends.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zoltaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed here at the end of July/start of August. It is located about 1 and a half km from the centre of Sorrento. The staff are extremely friendly and will go out of their way to help you. The pool area is quite clean and very relaxing. The hotel also gives you access to a provate beach located 300 yards away and is very quiet.

Only complaint is that it wouldn't be a hotel primarily for younger couples but is still a great relaxation location.

You are able to walk to Sorrento but the first 300 yards of road has no walkway which is no fault of the hotel. There is however buses which stop outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a week in July, half board, with Riviera. The rooms are basic - small tv, no drinks making or fridge - but comfortable. Front of hotel likely to provide view across Bay of Naples to Vesuvius (depends on vegetation - 211 was perfect). Small pool but adequate for gentle swimming and cooling off (no diving). Breakfast was same choice daily. Evening meals were fine to excellent, plenty to eat. Bonus is free Internet/WiFi. Staff are very helpful and attentive. 20 minute walk to Sorrento town, along busy road. Would stay here again. Restaurant next door was good value and good food for our last day's lunch.

Room Tip: front of hotel for best views (but may be noisy from road
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KeithLDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews