We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect relaxing spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
Ranked #36 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The perfect relaxing spot!”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Great hotel within walking distance to the town centre (10 mins fast walk). Hotel room was small (typical European) but was clean with a comfy bed and great shower. We had a great room with a balcony overlooking the pool and out to Mt Vesuvius. The staff were friendly and efficient, recommending two authentic restaurants - one in town and another up in the hills which we would have never found if not for the helpful staff. The breakfast offered a sumptuous selection of cereals, breads and beautiful Italian cakes which would have been great for later in the day! All in all a fantastic hotel to base yourself in. We took day trips from here to Amalfi and Positano, the Isle of Capri and then one to Pompeii.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiaOra08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Thank you so much for this wonderful review!
Your satisfaction is our satisfaction!
We wish to you and your family an happy new year 2012,full of joy,great moments, beautiful journeys and,why not,another stay at the Gardenia!
Best Regards
Magali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    241
    71
    26
    3
See reviews for
196
336
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2011

This was our fist trip to Italy. Gaetano and Antonio made us feel welcomed and took very good care of us. The entire staff was very accommodating and pleasant. The hotel was immaculately maintained and gorgeously decorated throughout. The breakfasts were excellent and the coffee bar was first rate. The rooms were small, but they had everything you needed and were surprisingly modern. The hotel was situated on the main street into Sorrento, so it was very noisy during the day; however, the road noise diminished significantly in the evening (our room was located on the side of the hotel and from our balcony we could see the main street as well as the coast). The walk into town was only 10-15 minutes along the busy main street, but it was very easy to manage. Frankly, Hotel Gardenia with its wonderful staff felt more like a 4-star hotel...it was well worth the walk into town!

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are quieter, but if you don't go to bed until late evening, the side rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

The Gardenia was very clean and the breakfasts first rate. I don't know why people moan about the location, creepy indeed, nothing of the kind - get a map!! The 'old city' is just as noisy. We asked for a room at the back of the hotel having been given one at the front and we moved after one night but our first night's sleep was fine. Yes the beds are a little hard but nothing to complain about and the staff were pleasant and friendly, fixing a heating problem for us extremely quickly. The centre of the town is about 15 to 20 minutes walk away but there are plenty of taxis if you want a ride back. We preferred a hotel with a walk rather than an out of town hotel which always needed taxis to and from the centre of Sorrento, and it is near the railway station for trips to Herculaneum, Naples etc. The Gardenia delivered exactly what one would expect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, higher floors will have a good view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PollyEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

The good stuff: Hotel is very clean and breakfast is quite good, particularly the coffee. The bad stuff: location. The hotel is located NOT in the old city of Sorrento. Street is very noisy and the neighborhood a little creepy. The overnight man at the hotel and the woman atthe desk were fine but otherwise the hotel staff is not at all accomodating. They advertise a bar but have no ice! We kept asking for ice, and got 3 cubes at a time. And they were mad that we kept asking for more ice. The balcony is roomy and has a coastal view, but you need to ignore the barking dogs next door and the dirty pool filled with fallen leaves. Free wireless is available in the lobby but it keeps disconnecting after 3 minutes. Frustrating! Not exactly what we were expecting from a Sorrento hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back. Front is very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EP1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Warm welcome, that started with the transfer organised by the hotel...initially room was at the front but next day we were moved to one on the side with less hustle and bustle as we do like to use the balcony. Rooms are clean and have what you would expect with nice balcony. Beds are a little hard, but must have actually suited me because slept well and did not wake up with achy back!
We used the pool area, again nice rather than stunning and can't understand why hot countries dont use solar heating for their pools more often... It was very refreshing! Walk into town did become a bit of a pain after a few days, but no doubt helped me from putting on even more weight! Breakfast was great, hot and cold and yummy pastries. All the staff were friendly and helpful and happy hour nibbles were nice. Internet was free for me, think it is if you use your own device... Shame it only works in the entrance area

Sorrento was lovely but mad traffic and the moped driving is nuts! We wandered around exploring, found the lift to the shore area and just enjoyed the hustle and bustle and sites.

The hotel recommended a lovely restaurant about 10 minute walk away, but the other recommendation which included a transfer as it was at the port area was overpriced and not nearly as good.

All in all a friendly little hotel, good food and great staff and comfortable provided you are not being overly picky or expecting 5 star luxury...

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loopyloooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
2.1 km away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#47 of 100 in Sorrento
455 reviews
0.4 km away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
1,065 reviews
2.3 km away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
469 reviews
1.6 km away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
3,163 reviews
1.8 km away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast

Property: Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
Address: Corso Italia 258, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast is a smart 3-star hotel located in the heart of the beautiful town of Sorrento. The hotel is situated in Corso Italia, Sorrento's main street, only 500 metres from the old town. Our hotel has 22 rooms and was completely renovated* in 2007 using soundproofing and eco-friendly materials in line with our commitment to safeguarding the local landscape and environment. With its new functional layout, elegant interior and exterior finishes, the hotel in Sorrento is a typical example of modern Mediterranean architecture. Our wonderful panoramic terrace complete with deckchairs and pergola is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the stunning views of the Bay of Naples. The hotel has also been awarded the EcoWorldHotel quality trademark and is ISO 14001 certified. Guests can rest assured that they are staying in a hotel with a reduced environmental impact. We offer our guests a friendly yet refined atmosphere with a tastefully furnished interior and decorated in soft colour schemes. The hotel has a swimming pool, private car park (on charge), fitness center, garden with piano bar during the summer season, indoor bar, and TV lounge, nearby tennis court, free internt wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing