We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic time”
Review of Grand Hotel Aminta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Aminta
Ranked #23 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Service was great at the Aminta, staff were very friendly and you could not fault any of the people working there. The was very good (but probably a bit too pricy for us. Enjoyed the free bus into the centre (music on board was fantastic).

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni A, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your great review and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our pleasure to hear that you were satisfied by our staff and facilities, such as our free shuttle service.
Thank you for choosing the Aminta, we hope to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 62 of 3,317 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2017

Beautiful position with outstanding views. Public areas very nice. Comfortable seating with lovely bar areas and pool. Concur with David’s comments. We were on the second floor. Very noisy with tiled floors and wooden furniture ie wardrobe and drawers which one could not close quietly. Pull open doors and shelving much quieter. Bed extremely comfortable. Sadly the room was very dated and in need of refurbishment. Housekeeping definitely needs to be upgraded. Bath had not been cleaned properly for ages and had to complain twice. Don’t like to find hairs in it with scum lines on arrival. Coffee/tea making facilities would be a bonus. Whilst a full menu for dinner, very lacking in taste and actually bland. Options for breakfast but hot dishes always tepid as was the coffee. Overall rating from our table on food and rooms was ‘adequate’. Very sad as so much potential to be first rate. Excellent shuttle service - always be early as prompt.

Room Tip: Get a room at the top so no overhead noise. Sunset balcony excellent
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank caproco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Other than the flimsy plastic glasses and the lack of a kettle in the rooms, the hotel was excellent. The staff and service were perfect. Would have given 5 stars if there were tea making facilities in the rooms and actual glasses..

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank elmago2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni A, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your review and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will definitely take your feedback into consideration.
We hope to welcome you again soon here at the Aminta!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Super hotel, with a terrific restaurant on the premises. The hotel is located in the hills overlooking Sorrento but there is a very convenient free shuttle to the center of town that runs on the hour. We had a car but we really did not need one.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Emil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni A, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Guest,
We appreciate the excellent review and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied by our facilities, such as our free shuttle service.
Thank you for choosing the Aminta, we hope to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

A Grand-looking hotel, set in a wonderful location overlooking the sea. The immediate impression upon entering was clearly that of a 4 star establishment. Reception, elegant staircase to the first floor where the bar and the dining room maintained the 4 star rating. Outside, the pool and bar area were also of an excellent standard (although the loungers looked better than they functioned). A small but efficient lift took us to our room on the 3rd floor. At this point we started to become disenchanted as the room (307) was somewhat dated and lacked several modern features (full length mirror, larger size TV with a bigger range of satellite or Sky TV programs, The window curtain was too long and dragged on the floor and was quite dirty at the bottom. Albeit subjective, we found the bed quite hard and uncomfortable, and the pillows flat and tired. Have you thought about using continental quilts (duvets) instead of sheets and blankets? So we felt scraped a 3 Star rating - but only just. Sadly, the bathroom was unacceptably dated and poorly planned. The very large basin had a small chip in it and the taps were not very clean. The cheap plastic panel on the side of the bath was loose, and rattled even when lightly touched and the gap between basin and bath was quite small. The shower was over the bath - how about a redesign of the bathroom with a glass shower enclosure? The bath was narrow, which meant that the cold and wet shower curtain clinged to one's back which was quite uncomfortable. Only a 2 Star rating for the bathroom. However, for our guide Adrian, a full 6 Stars for his caring manner, his excellent knowledge and for his humor.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank David21133937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.8 km away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
1 km away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
617 reviews
1.7 km away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
1,046 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,526 reviews
1.1 km away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Aminta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Aminta

Address: Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: €73 - €269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Aminta 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminta occupies a commanding position overlooking the Gulf of Naples with breathtaking views, just 3.5 Km from the centre of Sorrento to which it offers a courtesy bus service. Complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Aminta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Aminta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing